Customer Reviews for

Prize of My Heart

Average Rating 4.5
( 42 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(28)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted May 8, 2012

    I absolutely loved "Prize of my Heart", it's a wonderf

    I absolutely loved "Prize of my Heart", it's a wonderful book that you'll have a hard time putting down! There is something for everyone in this book, romance, mystery, suspense, secrets & faith. You're left asking yourself how much faith do you have that things will turn out all right, do you trust God enough to realize that His plans always better than ours? In the face of deceit & lies, can you find forgiveness within your soul? You'll have to grab this book to find out more... ;)

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 4, 2012

    Prize of My Heart - A Thrilling Love Story!

    Captain Brogan Talvis searches for his son that has been abandoned by his late wife. He feels hurt and betrayed that she has done this to him. His burning desire is to find his son and reunite with him. Finally after years of searching Captain Talvis has found a lead to where his son is living. He is living with Nathaniel Huntley, one of New England’s most notable shipbuilders. It is a mystery to Captain Talvis as to what plan Huntley played in his son’s disappearance. When Captain Talvis learns of the whereabouts of his son he devises a plan to be reunited with his son and steal away into the night with him. Upon arriving at the Huntley estate Captain Talvis watches a girl sitting on a flat rock. He wonders why a kitchen maid would be out so early in the morn. She immediately intrigues him. What Captain Talvis doesn’t know is the kitchen maid is none other than Huntley’s daughter Lorena. Thus the story begins. There is so much action and suspense in this book. The characters come alive and pull you into this thrilling adventure. There are many twists and turns throughout this great read. This story is a real page turner. I was on the edge of my seat many times worrying over what would happen next! I loved this book. I loved how the author Lisa Norato brings God into the picture. In her telling of this story she makes sure we are aware that Faith in God, Trust in God, and family is the most important things in life. This is the first book that I have read of this author. It won’t be the last! I wish to thank Bethany House Publishers for sending me this book to read and review. The opinions expressed are mine alone.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 21, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Captain Brogan Talvis has one goal: reclaim his young son, lost

    Captain Brogan Talvis has one goal: reclaim his young son, lost to him through the trickery of his (now-deceased) wife while he was at sea. This mission leads him to Duxboro, Massachusetts, where he has commissioned a ship from the man who adopted Brogan's son and is raising little Drew as his own, with an older daughter stands in for the boy as both sister and mother. Eventually, the daughter, Lorena, is tricked upon a vessel headed to England and it is Brogan's commission to save her. Romance and secrets are present throughout this exciting story of love and family in the early 19th century.

    I thoroughly enjoyed this book! The presence of scripture and faith elements were authentically portrayed and appropriate for the moments in which they occurred. The story itself was fast-moving, and at times very sad and others very funny. The characters were well drawn and charming, while retaining some mystery. I found myself wanting to know more about them, and rooting for the romance that was budding.

    The perspective of the author allowed for us to hear the thoughts of the two main characters, which made the book move faster. Additionally, although I normally hate how much characters just don't "talk to each other" about their real issues, in this story by and large there was much less passivity than is common in Christian fiction. In fact, the times when I felt like "just tell her!" were times when it was appropriate for the character to be worried about speaking (related to the mystery elements of the story). After reading this story, I will look out for more by Lisa Norato. I highly recommend this book - 5 out of 5 stars.

    (full disclosure: I received a complimentary copy of this book from Bethany House, in exchange for my unbiased review. I am not affiliated with Bethany House or the author in any way.)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 4, 2012

    Sometimes your greatest treasure can lead you to something even

    Sometimes your greatest treasure can lead you to something even greater!

    For full review including excerpt and dialogue highlight, please visit Reader's Edyn at:
    readersedyn (dot) blogspot (dot) com

    Review:

    ...So Brogan is a former privateer – not pirate. Although the distinction between the two for many was a thin line barely there. For me, hey ~ I love me a pirate! Brogan always wanted to captain his own ship. A difficult dream to obtain considering his harsh beginning in life. But he worked extremely hard and it finally happened. Prior to his captain position beginning, he married and had a son. But his wife was rather … ambitious ~ I guess is a good word for it. Though she had some other things going on as well. So while Brogan was away on his ship, she got rid of their son and told Brogan he would never find him. Soon after she perished in a fire and he never found out his son’s whereabouts. His purpose in life then became a focus of locating his son.

    Enter Lorena. Brogan has found his son and he is living in the home of the Huntley’s as Drew. Lorena is Drew’s sister and has charge of him much of the time. Her meeting with the Captain does not begin on the right foot, but eventually the two become friends and Brogan’s world is knocked upside-down. He struggles with carrying out his plan to take his son back and the strong connection he feels with Lorena. Lorena too shares strong feelings towards Brogan. Eventually the catalyst occurs when Brogan admits who he truly is and not only one secret is revealed, an entire web of lies and deceit is unraveled. But will Brogan and Lorena be able to more forward from the devastating truth or will it destroy their delicate new-found affection?

    What I really enjoyed in this story was the growth of all characters involved. Brogan starts out as a father desperate to get his son back. He hatches a plan to essentially kidnap his son away from the Huntley’s, but soon discovers a fondness for all of the Huntley’s. And when Brogan has to rescue Lorena, he realizes that fondness may be a bit more which pretty much throws a hitch in his plan. But this is not the only challenge Brogan will have to overcome, though I don’t feel I should reveal any more than I have. Lorena, too, has an epiphany of sorts when she realizes that someone she trusted was not as honorable as she had believed. She sort of blindly trust everyone and has a very good heart. But she also realizes that she should have understood signs that had always been present. But because of her nature to see the best in people, she denied existence of the negative qualities. The reader even sees growth in Drew and Mr. Huntley. Growth of character is one component I look for in a well written book.

    The story was enjoyable and a pleasure to read. While lacking the physical intimacy that I generally read, I found that this story did not need such an enhancement. Prize of My Heart is beautifully written as it is and is easily a story of faith, perseverance, and inspiration. What one man holds as his greatest treasure ultimately leads him to the greatest treasure of all … the prize of his heart. I very much enjoy how Ms. Norato wraps the book up wonderfully with a sweet epilogue. I look forward to reading more of her stories in the future.

    (ARC paperback won from LibraryThing; provided by author)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2012

    Highly entertaining!

    Highly entertaining!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2012

    Amazing!

    I am finding it hard to find just a few good things to say about this book,lol. Cause there wasnt one thing that WASNT good.A lovely story about love lost then found in more than one way.I loved how "gentle" the Lord moved in each characters life.And you get to go on a journey of friendship, family, and forgivness.I cried in more than one part~

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 1, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    The Prize of My Heart by Lisa Norato Captain Brogan Talvis has b

    The Prize of My Heart by Lisa Norato
    Captain Brogan Talvis has been searching for his son. Three years ago his late wife had taken their two year old boy and brought him away. Brogan has been searching for the boy he loves and has finally found a small lead...one that pans out. A rich shipbuilder has his son. So he has Nathaniel Huntley build him a ship, the very man who has Ben, and when it's finished he will take Ben and sail away. Although plans of man and plans of God are often very different. Brogan was told he was too bad for God to care for him, a base-born orphan, but he was told wrong and perhaps a beautiful woman and his son can show him God's love.

    Lorena Huntley will only marry for love and her childhood friend, George Louder, just don't want understand that she won't marry for less. He has turned into a man who just wants money and power...he wants to possess Lorena but he don't love her or she him. Now the new Captain in town catches her eye and perhaps her heart. A giant of a man who has a gentle heart when it comes to young Drew.

    Adventure on land and the high seas are in this story of two people with dark secrets. Secrets that will have them holding back on love until they are revealed, and once revealed...will they still be able to hang on to their love? When a perfect chance comes for Brogan to take his son, who they call Drew rather than Ben, can he take his new ship and head home...or will he rescue the woman who has a piece of his heart as well and give up his son?

    An enjoyable book set in 1815. There are secrets being kept, kidnappings being planned, a young boy who's hero is David the King and he has learned to wield a sling shot just as well! We have our devious villain and more. I really enjoyed this book and the author kept you wondering and wanting to almost the very end. Which made it a book that I couldn't put down until the last page was read.
    **Book received through Bethany House for review.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2014

    Great Read!! Very nice christian book. Dont have to worry about

    Great Read!! Very nice christian book. Dont have to worry about corupting my
    granddauthers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2014

    Wonderful book

    I enjoyed this book. I cried, I cheered. What a wonderful Christian Historical novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2014

    A Christian Adventure novel

    This was a so-so book, with characters that seemed to old for their years. How could each have accomplished what they had in such shirt lifespans?

    It's a very clean, moral book. And not a bad history lesson on how New England ports were run in the early 19th century

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2014

    I agree with the reviewer who said this book has it all!  It has

    I agree with the reviewer who said this book has it all!  It has faith (not preachy, but genuine lived out faith), suspense, romance, mystery, and sweetness.  I really couldn't put it down.  It was the best book I've read for a while

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 20, 2014

    Captain Brogan Talvis is on a quest to reunite with his son who

    Captain Brogan Talvis is on a quest to reunite with his son who was secreted away by his unfaithful, late wife. His discovery of the boy's location leads him to the home of Lorena Huntley who cares for the child as her own. In lieu of an immediate kidnapping, Brogan meets with the family under other pretenses and finds himself drawn to Lorena, who has plenty of secrets of her own. As the time to take his son nears, Lorena is suddenly in danger and Brogan must decide whether to rescue Lorena or take his son. 

    I liked – but didn't love – reading Prize of My Heart by Lisa Norato. I thought the beginning was exceptionally good and liked that the story delivered both adventure and romance. Throughout the story, there was a strong emphasis placed on speaking the truth and knowing a person's background. Unfortunately, I felt that a certain twist later in the story undermined this theme as a prominent character was left not knowing the truth.  I can't say more without spoiling things, but it did not sit well with the rest of the story or with me as a reader. Aside from that, Prize of My Heart is an enjoyable read. I recommend it to fans of historical romance who are looking for a little adventure in the story, but I do encourage renting it from the library before buying.

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this free advanced reader copy from the publisher via LibraryThing . I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2012

    Heart-warming

    I had such a hard time putting this down, i actually read the last 3/4 in four hours. It is definitely big on the religion part in the last half, but not so heavy that the plot is lost. Very uplifting and inspiring story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2012

    Loved it

    Wonderful read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 14, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Prize of My Heart - Intriguing and Heartwarming!

    Captain Brogan Talvis was orphaned as a child. When his son was born he felt blessed at not only the birth of his child but of having his own family. While Brogan was out at sea as a privateer he missed his son dreadfully.

    He will never forget the day he came home from a long tour at sea and his wife informed him that his son was not there. She had abandoned her son because she no longer wanted to be tied down to a baby. He begged her to tell him where his son was and all she would say was he was not there and that Brogan would never find him.

    It has been four long years that Brogan has spent trying to find his son. Then there came a lead and he knew where his son was. He had been adopted by a wealthy shipbuilder and his daughter Lorena Huntley was guardian of the boy. It was very apparent how deeply the boy was loved and also extremely spoiled.

    Brogan plans and goes to great extremes to get his son back. He purchases a very special ship from the shipbuilder one that would be so fast that no other ship would be able to keep up with it once he stole his son away to be with his natural father. He realizes the boy sees Lorena as a mother figure and decides to court her in order to get closer to his son. Brogan has been attacked twice by this little rascal of a son by being the target of the boys sling shot and a very large rock. The boy does not trust Captain Brogan around Lorena. He sees himself as David and the Captain as Goliath and he must slay Goliath. Brogan must win him over!

    Brogan had no idea he would grow to care deeply for Lorena and develop a friendship with her father. He felt guilty about deceiving them. Will he be able to break their hearts in order to get his son back?

    This was a beautiful story about family ties. The author expresses through her writing how God can make all things better if you just let go and let God. The story falls into place because the characters learned to trust in Gods's plan for themselves and the child.

    There was intrigue, lies, deceit, betrayal,forgiveness and redemption which made for a very enjoyable read. Oh, lets not forget about love and romance. Most of all love for God, a child, woman, man, and ties that bind a family together.

    I highly recommend this book.

    Disclosure
    I was provided a copy of this book by Bethany House Publisher for review. I was in no way compensated for this review. It is my own opinion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 13, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Add this book to your TBR (To Be Read) List. I took this with m

    Add this book to your TBR (To Be Read) List.

    I took this with me to my daughter's softball tournament. I tend to have 2-3 hours of downtime during each day, so I figured I could start on reading this. Ummmm, Wrongo Ringo! I couldn't put this down. I even was sneaking reads when the innings changed during her games, sometimes going a little too long and getting caught by my husband when my daughter was up to bat or made a play that I missed. :-)

    This was an excellent read, a captivating story, and I highly recommend this book. The characters were vividly developed, and you found yourself going back and forth sympathizing with first one side, then the other. The conclusion was just as it should be.

    This book was provided to me by Bethany House Book Reviewers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2012

    Enjoyable, light read

    As a fan of nautical and historical fiction with a light romance, this book filled the bill. However, some of the clothing descriptions were excessive and distracting. The ending also seemed, strangly, both too long and too abrupt. Too long in coming to its climax and once there too neatly resolved. But this was still a great story of redemption and leaving the past behind.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2012

    I love to read all types of genres, but could not get into this

    I love to read all types of genres, but could not get into this book. I made it to page 30 and put it down. I tried to read it again, but just couldn't. I did not like the characters and or the storyline. Will not read anyother book written by this author.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 11, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Prize of My Heart is A Delightful Week-end Read! Prize of My He

    Prize of My Heart is A Delightful Week-end Read!

    Prize of My Heart
    By Lisa Norato

    Three years ago Captain Brogan Talvis was betrayed by his late wife Abigail. Unhappy with her status as wife and mother Abigail abandoned their son Benjamin. Shortly thereafter she died in a house fire taking her secret to the grave with her.

    But Brogan was not about to abandon his son to the care of strangers and thus embarked on an impossible search for his young son. By sheer chance he catches a glimpse of Ben's face in the window of Nathaniel Huntley's home. Having discovered the whereabouts of his son, Brogan commissions the building of a merchantman on which he plans to steal his son away on.

    But Benjamin doesn't remember his long lost father whom he believes died years ago. Not only does Ben not recognize Brogan he is now called Drew by the Huntleys. Further complicating Brogan's mission is Lorena Huntley to whom Drew is very attached. Determined to win over his son's affections Brogan soon realizes he must gain the respect and trust of Lorena if he is to have any chance with Drew.

    But as Brogan spends time with Lorena he is drawn to her for herself. But just as his happiness and greatest desire seems within his grasp Lorena is spirited away by a former employee of her father's. With Lorena being forced to England against her will, Brogan is left with a choice. Does he give up his plan to spirit his son away and save Lorena or does he steal another child Nathaniel Huntley? Brogan decides that he has no choice but to follow his heart.

    I found Prize of My Heart to be a delightful read, perfect for a lazy week-end or a summer afternoon.

    I received a copy of this book from Bethany House for the purpose of this review, a favorable review was not required.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 10, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    I really enjoyed this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3