Customer Reviews for

Procrastinator's Handbook: Mastering the Art of Doing It Now

Average Rating 4
( 20 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 12 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2006

    DON'T PUT OFF UNTIL TOMORROW......

    Who would put off writing a review of this book? Not me - I don't procrastinate. If you believe that, there's a bridge I can let you have for next to nothing. Truth is, I'm the world's worst at putting things off, especially what I don't want to do. But, I'm getting better, much, much better. All thanks to the good natured, pragmatic advice from Rita Emmett. A recovered procrastinator she knows of what she writes and speaks. She delves into the reasons why we procrastinate, and helps us change that behavior. We learn how to establish goals and more importantly how to attain them. All of this is delivered with humor and understanding. We hear such nuggets as 'God created company so that the hou se gets cleaned.' and 'If certain things in your life are always hard to find, it's probably because they don't have their own special place to be put.' Which naturally leads to a discussion of our spaces, both at work and at home. How can we arrange that space so it is most helpful to us? Emmett doesn't claim to be clairvoyant but when she discussed a procrastinator's behavioral patterns it felt as if she had a direct line to me. There's a lot of good information in this three hour audio, so don't put off listening. - Gail Cooke

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2003

    How did she know I do that?

    This is not what I expected. When I picked up this book, I was prepared for some generic time management principles surrounded by some motivational hype that would pump me up and then leave me flat a short while later. I'm not quite sure why...I suppose I just thought that procrastination was more of a built-in character flaw than a lifestyle choice. Am I glad that I was wrong! In the introduction, Rita Emmett explains that procrastination is not part of your character. Rather, it is a habit that can be changed. Using plenty of real-life examples, Emmett helps us identify areas of procrastination in our lives, discover their source, and apply proven strategies to overcome them. This book helps you get right down to business. The format is very friendly, with quick tips, top ten lists, quotes and illustrations scattered throughout. It even has a few 'extra credit' questions and activities to help you start applying what you have learned right away. I opened this book as a skeptic. After reading it cover to cover, I'm a believer! My basement is the cleanest it has been in over ten years, my kitchen sink has a new fixture, and today I'm going to fix that annoying drip in the upstairs bathroom. What have you been putting off? Follow this handbook and get it done! Larry Hehn, author of Get the Prize: Nine Keys for a Life of Victory

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 23, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Not bad.

    I don't have an issue with procrastination (I'm an anticrastinator, as she put it), but I found this book in my sister's library and decided to give it a look out of curiosity. It really gets to the source of procrastination and gave valuable examples which would save many people headaches and stress. If you want to take control over your life and begin accomplishing your dreams and becoming a better you, this is the first step. The book is small, if you have read a novel in the past then you have no excuse. She was rather humorous at times, I laughed out loud twice, although her constant "Let me tell you about this one person I met/knew from [insert place here] who [insert problem here] and then [insert solution here] and later [insert their results here]" can get quite exhaustive. None the less, just pick up the book and read it. It's worth it.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2000

    Want to be an effective time manager? You've got a Team MEMBER!

    This is what impressed me in my first encounter with Rita's book. She is on board with the procrastinator to get the job done, not 'fix' the procrastinator! Rita Emmett is part of the solution, not another aspect of the problem.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2000

    You know someone who needs this book!

    Rita Emmett's first offering is a wonderful collection of simple wisdom, logic and helpful tips that can make a huge difference in the life of any kind of procrastinator. The reader can find out which type of procrastinator he or she is, forgive him/herself for being one, and then learn how to overcome this habit. The book is laced with suggestions and ideas, of course. What really makes it succeed, however, are the real-life stories of procrastinators Rita has met in her life, and the wisdom that helped them climb their own mountainous To-Do lists. Rita's style is very natural and friendly. Procrastinators never feel talked down to or criticized for even their most irrational choices. Instead, Rita speaks frankly and clearly about where our thinking gets in our way, and how we can change the rules of the game by changing our view of what we face. The Procrastinator's Handbook is a very easy read, and a very apt, astute and succinct way to address some of the multitude of frustrations that we all encounter in our busy world. Buy a small stack of these little gems as holiday gifts. Don't 'put it off!'

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2001

    Easy to Read, Educational. Don't put it off!

    Everyone procrastinates. Some of us are more prone to putting things off than others, but procrastination is a common human behavior. So, why a book for procrastinators? Who will read it? The people who really need such a handbook will put off reading it anyway, so what's the point? I began this book with a skeptical attitude. I read introductions. I often find some interesting gems in those opening pages. It happened with The Procrastinator's Handbook. Did you know that procrastination is a habit? And habits can be broken, changed? Hmmm. Procrastination thinking can significantly alter my performance and get in the way of my success without my even realizing it. I had never thought about procrastination that deeply. Part One was fascinating. The author explores a variety of types of procrastination. On almost every page I found myself nodding with an attitude of 'yes, I can see that.' And I'm starting to collect some tips about how to conquer the tendency to put things off. The vignettes are supporting my learning. This book is comfortable, easy to read. It's sort of like a friend telling you things you sort of know, but never really examined. New, acceptable information and insight. Learning. That's what this book is about. Yeah. And that sense is reinforced by the 'extra credit' assignments at the close of each chapter. I remember extra credit work from school; most of the time the tasks were fun and more educational than I would want to admit. Same thing here. I like the quotes at the end of each chapter, too. They sort of underline the message of the chapter. Author Rita Emmett gives seminars on procrastination and the productive use of time. I felt like I was sitting in one of her seminars-gaining knowledge, insight, and inspiration in every chapter. She was talking to me. The tone of the writing gave me the warm, included feeling of sitting in a small seminar with Rita (see, I'm already talking as if the author is a personal friend who cares about me and my procrastination problem. Uh, oh. Folding down pages. And I feel myself making commitments to complete some of those unfinished tasks that I conveniently add to my to-do list so I can get them out of my face. Oops. She caught me. How does Rita know so much about what I do? Gotta keep this book at arm's length or this stuff will affect my thinking and even behavior. Too late. I'm into Part Two: Why We Procrastinate. Boy, does this sound familiar! By the time I get to the chapter entitled, 'Help! I'm overwhelmed!', I'm eager for answers. I feel like I've joined Procrastinators Anonymous. I need answers. Solutions. Ideas for changing my behavior. Part Three: Proven Strategies for Conquering Procrastination. Hungrily, I move through 75 pages of techniques, highlighting, turning pages, making a few notes. Some of this material is not new, though maybe packaged differently. Most of what I'm reading, though, is fresh, focused ideas. This information and advice will help improve my life. I can feel it. The last paragraph of text in the book tells the story. 'You can change your old procrastinating ways. Don't forget Emmett's Law: The dread of doing a task uses up more time and energy than doing the task itself. So go ahead and get started creating the life you want. You deserve a great one!' Works for me! It's time to make a difference in my life.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 12 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1