Customer Reviews for

The Prodigal Daughter

Average Rating 4
( 62 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(30)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Enjoyable Reading

Although fictional, Archer has injected enough historical facts into his yarns that they almost mirror reality, this one was no exception. The Prodigal Daughter is the story of the rise of a first generation Polish American woman into the American educational, business ...
Although fictional, Archer has injected enough historical facts into his yarns that they almost mirror reality, this one was no exception. The Prodigal Daughter is the story of the rise of a first generation Polish American woman into the American educational, business and political systems. She aspires to become the first female President of the United States. The story gives the reader a small glimpse of the behind the scenes deals and deception rampant in American Politics. Easy and understandable but not a page turner; it is simply put, a good story.

posted by 8981032 on April 24, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Awful...

Looked foward to reading after finishing Kane & Abel and was so disappiinted I didn't even finish it!

posted by 4639295 on August 10, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 62 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2012

    Enjoyable Reading

    Although fictional, Archer has injected enough historical facts into his yarns that they almost mirror reality, this one was no exception. The Prodigal Daughter is the story of the rise of a first generation Polish American woman into the American educational, business and political systems. She aspires to become the first female President of the United States. The story gives the reader a small glimpse of the behind the scenes deals and deception rampant in American Politics. Easy and understandable but not a page turner; it is simply put, a good story.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2012

    Anonymous

    I noticed that this book was written a few years back. I hope it was in the best sellers list or even on Oprah's must read list.
    This is one of the most entertaining and compelling book I have had the pleasure of reading for quite some time. I love that the author introduced you to the main character from the time she was born to her presidency. I felt that I was there every step of the way. I think that Florentyne's success in her life was all due to the wonderful nanny who raised her, guided her, nutured her and devoted most of her life to make sure she stayed on course. The mother, Zaphia left all of the care of her child to the nanny. Which was a good thing. I admired Florentyne and Richard because they were both raised in a life of wealth and privelege and they used it and not abused it. Florentyne seemed to have the "Midas Touch" She was the definition of success. She was able to juggle family, husband, and a demanding career, and still come out on top. In reality, this is not possible. Something has to give.
    I felt she deserved to be elected president by the people's vote instead of being plucked off a golf course and being whisked off to the white house. She finally achieved her dream but under the circumstances she could not have forseen.
    Wonderful book, five star rating, highly recommended, Jeffrey Archer at his best!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2012

    Sequel to Kane and Abel. Two great books.

    I LOVE MY NOOK!!!!!!!! I recommend it to any reader.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A most captivating continuing story of life in America.

    Another great novel by Jeffrey Archer. He is a mastermind in producing wonderful sagas in his captivation of great characters and plots. The "Prodigal Daughter" is a continuation of "Kane and Abel", and tells of how both the family's next generation comes alive in this tale.
    The history of America comes alive as the plot brings the families of two different families together to continue in their quest to live in America.
    The historical political background this author shows is mesmerizing to the readers. One feels they are truly in the political arena of this great nation.
    The heart warming character, Florentyna Kane, will become beloved by all who read about her honest and difficult travels to achieve her childhood goals. Florentyna's struggles, achievements, sadness, and happiness will keep you enthralled to the end.
    This book is so thrilling, dramatic, and romantic it was impossible to put the book down for even a minute. Many days passed as I had to put my life on hold as I finished reading this wonderful book with such a great plot.
    I recommend everyone to read this book and all previous and future books about the continuing story of this great American family from such different backgrounds. It was my pleasure to have read this book from cover to cover. It shows how anyone can make their place if they work hard enough into the annals of American history.

    Cherry Blossom

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2012

    Good

    Good

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2012

    Love this author!

    Glad that I was able to get this on my Nook tablet. Bought the actual book at an airport book store many years ago, and then proceeded to forget it on the plane when I landed. This is a must read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2012

    Good story well told

    Jeffery Archer tells stories that span generations and in which the good wins but at a cost. This story is a fun read. There are some good insights into the immigrant experience of adjusting to America. I would recommend this to anyone who wanted to spend a day, sitting by a fire, reading an uplifting and interesting story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 10, 2011

    Awful...

    Looked foward to reading after finishing Kane & Abel and was so disappiinted I didn't even finish it!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    AWESOME,STUNNING,UNFORGETTABLE,THE BEST NOVEL EVER!

    I have read it last week and have already begun reading it again this morning,it seems as if am a part of the story(Edward Winchester).

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2002

    Couldn't wait for this one

    This is the sequal to Archer's most acclaimed book Kane and Abel and it does not disappoint the reader. It is the story Kane's daughter Florentyna. When she inherited her father's hotel chain there didn't seem much to strive for. But being rich is not the only important thing in life. There is power and there is obligation. Florentyna is striving to succeed at both. There are however enemies who could destroy her dream. Once again Archer intrigues the reader to the last page.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2001

    A great sequel

    Excellent!! I want to keep reading about the characters from the original Kane & Abel forever! I feel like I know them personally!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2000

    Excellent Book

    I have already read it three times...it says everything!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2015

    Very good novel but not quite as good as Kane and Abel. I got a

    Very good novel but not quite as good as Kane and Abel. I got a little hung up with all the paranoia about the Russians though. Really? Still? But all in all an enjoyable story by a gifted author. And I will read #3 of the trilogy. "Shall we tell the President". Be sure to read the books in this order 1 - Kane & Abel 2 - prodigal daughter and 3 -Shall we tell.... Happy reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 14, 2014

    Very, Very Good

    I discovered Jeffrey Archer by accident and he is now one of my favorite authors. Looking forward to his next book.
    He spins the story in such a way it keeps you guessing without extra dialogue and scenery. Couldn't hardly put the book down. The end was exciting and unpredictable. The good guys (women) do win sometimes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2014

    Nmk.jm.mjmi h h.hbkmkmmm.mk.mikkm.mimm,..iikmmimu,mohbmki.mhiijm.i.y. jm.nmu jkmu m uiynmki

    I.u.ii..mmk..,lmkjinkji..inimomim..jn ..i kj.k..iuimmn
    J
    U
    im.mj.nmmmii.,kmbbj.. mk.,miiy.ikm.uoi b ,imkjui ujmymi
    ,mmmkmoommi.mijkkkmnmkmu,mm. I.m.I.h.kh m.bhoji.mjh.mgjnm .mkmkm.I.ikk...k.nj iyimiy,kjnukm I mu.ih
    Kmm.n. ohio.k...ninmin.k.k
    Mkjn hmiykm.,
    Kimik..uikgjnm.ikimkkhm mikhm jinkini ..,oik.j j
    .u.mmk

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2014

    Prodigal Daughter

    Love Archer books, but Prodigal Daughter added more political pages than necessary to read. Should have gone right to the ending
    source. Not being a very political person myself, book became quite boring during the "political" pages. Just scanned and kept going. I have order "shall we tell the president" and hope I have not paid $9.99 just to read more politics....hope this is the end of this trilogy, which was great in the beginning...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2013

    Highly recommend

    I love Jeffrey Archer books. He keeps you interested from the begnning of his books. Great writer. good story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2013

    Good but not as good as Kane and Abel

    Too much from Kane and Abel and way too political for me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2013

    Recommended

    Quality sequel to Kane and able with a strong woman main character Ending could have been extended- unless another sequel is planned...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2013

    .....RADAR.....FEBUARY 25TH, 2013.....

    I can't see where anyone could give this book ONE STAR, while claiming to have read "KANE & ABEL" and liking it. The "PRODICAL DAUGHTER" is also another Jeffery Archer 5 STAR novel...RADAR...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 62 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4