Customer Reviews for

The Prodigal God

Average Rating 4
( 101 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(59)

4 Star

(19)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 103 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2009

    It's worth of buying

    This book is easy to read and understand. It provides you with a new perspective about one of the most read parables (the parable of the prodigal son).

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Misleading title

    "Prodigal" nowadays is taken to mean one who ran off and wasted his resources doing stupid, self-indulgent things, as in the Prodigal Son parable. But Keller uses another legitimate definition, "extravagant", as he writes of God's amazing love for us, deep, strong, and enduring.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    New twist on an old story.

    Looks at the parable The Prodigal Son as revealing not only the hearts and character of both the younger and elder sons, but most importantly what this reveals about the father... a father of extravagant love and generousity for both of his sons. A different point of view for a familiar story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2009

    Wonderful Work

    I am an avid reader of various religious traditions and fiction and non-fiction works. I found that the time invested in this book is well worth the effort and the reward of satisfication is high. I recommend this book highly to anyone who is looking for an uplifting and thought provoking read. It is worth the short period of time it takes to read this one. As a result of this one, I ordered The Reason For God by Keller, which just came in yesterday. I look forward to seeing if his style is consistent or not.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2014

    Paradigm shifting, life changing, Good News!

    In this book Timothy Keller challenges all of us to consider how we seek to find meaningful, fulfilling lives. By careful, inspired study of the parable of the lost sons, Keller has recovered the messages that Jesus was sending to "sinners", but more importantly, to the religious leaders that came to violently oppose him.

    This book can revolutionize your life whether you are pursuing your own pleasure or living a very moral life. Keller uses the powerful images of the parable to show us the incredible love of God for all types of people and the way He has provided for us to find ultimate acceptance and satisfaction.

    Keller communicates in a gracious, carefully reasoned manner that God sacrificially loves all people, sending his Son Jesus to bring all of us back to Himself. While reading this book I was shocked to realize that I was living like a Pharisee, a religious bigot, thinking that I could somehow earn the love and blessings of God. So, by the grace of God, I am changing, being more convinced than ever how much God loves me, whether or not I try to follow rules. Because I know how much God loves me it is a blast to follow Him and serve people.

    Buy this book for yourself and for those you care about. That's what I'm doing!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2013

    Thought Provoking!!

    Awesome! Recommend this book about unconditional Love and Forgiveness. Good examination of the older brother.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 103 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 6