Customer Reviews for

The Prodigal God

Average Rating 4
( 101 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(59)

4 Star

(19)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 59 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted March 9, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A lifechanging book for anyone

    The Prodigal God finds you where you are and tugs you gently back to where you need to be. For anyone who finds relief in the wrong things -- be it compulsive shopping, workaholism, alcohol or other drugs, worrying, preocuppation with self or family, etc. etc. -- this book is a must read. Not preachy, but written with a warmth and conviction that draws you further through the book. I have given copies to friends and recommended it to acquaintances.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2010

    Insightful and convicting

    In a world full of mixed messages and conflicting narrative, Tim Keller boils down one of the most well known Bible stories, the Prodigal Son, in a practical and insightful manner. Sermons and stories about this beloved parable often spend the majority of their time focusing on the plight and peril of the younger, wayward son. This is not the case in this book. As with most of His parables, Jesus was targeting the selfishness and elitist mentality of the Pharisees. The older brother sat in judgment and allowed his perception of justice to leave no room for grace, resulting in jealousy and bitterness. This book will take you on a journey to better understand yourself and those around you. It will challenge you to open your mind a little wider to the true meaning of Scripture and Jesus' message to love one another as we love ourselves. This is a great read for anyone struggling as wither the older or younger brother in the parable. And it will ultimately lead you to a better understanding of the Father. Enjoy and may your heart be challenged!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 19, 2009

    eXcellent

    I have searched for information related to knowing when the end is approaching to no avail until this book. I truly want to know what to expect as I find that takes some of the fear and anxiety away. It was what I wanted, frank and straightforward.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 17, 2012

    This is a refreshing discussion about Jesus's teaching about a m

    This is a refreshing discussion about Jesus's teaching about a man who had TWO sons. The meaning of the word prodigal takes on a new perspective with this book. I had always thought "prodigal" meant wasteful and particularly wayward. Keller explans that the only prodigal is not the younger son, who squandered his inheritance, but the father as well who gave all he had pointing to our Heaveny Father who gave his most beloved son. The author points out that the more well-known, younger son, who wastes his inheritance and comes home to his loving father is not the main character. Keller looks in depth to him, of course, but also at his older brother, who has many self-centered perspectives. Finally Keller examins the father in the parable, who lovingly extends love to both his sons,despite their rejection. We are challenged to see how much of both sons are in ourselves. What we find can be particularly disturbing to the faithful church-goer, who lives a sacrificial life serving God and others in the church. I highly recommend this book to those who think they have mastered the meaning of Jesus' parable. There is always more to learn.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 29, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great book!

    Definitely a book that all Christians should read, whether you are a new Christian, or have been in the church your entire life.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    well done

    This is not a book that looks in depth at the story of the prodigal son. It offers what might be a totally different perspective on the parable but is very much consistent with the gospel message.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    One I will keep and buy for others!

    The Prodigal God is one of the best books I have ever read. I am buying it for others.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2008

    highly recommended for thought provoking read

    comfort for the soul

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    The book is very well written and not what I expected. I saw some of the older and younger brother in myself and found many parts that touched my heart and gave me a greater realization of God's love for me.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2012

    A Very Helpful and Insightful Book

    Keller captures the essence of the parable of the Prodigal Son, as well as much of what it means to let God transform our lives. This book is an easy short read, and yet well worth taking the time to contemplate what is being said.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2012

    Highly recommend this short read

    Timothy Keller's book, The Prodigal God, is a well written explanation of a very old story. Many of us know the story of the prodigal son, but the author provides the reader with a different perspective. He thoroughly analyzes the behaviors of both brothers and offers us a thoughtful lesson on self-righteousness.
    The Prodigal God is short in length and long in its content. The book is appropriate for use in a Bible study group.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 3, 2012

    Excellent read.

    The author really uses his knowledge of ancient culture to explain a parable that I had read and never truly understood until reading this book. This book has enhanced my jouney in this life.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2012

    GREAT READ!

    Refreshing and great wisdom!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 4, 2010

    Refreshing view of Christianity

    An Amazing and refreshing view on Christianity and it's principles. I have never been exposed to this angle of Christianity in church settings, even thou in my heart I always felt that too much "religion" is not healthy for anyone. I was raised in chuch of too many "big brothers" and not enough grace. This book has opened my eyes to a different perspective that is based on true love and grace instead of fear and obligation based faith. THank you Timothy Keller for writing openly of new revelations of God's true character!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2010

    For The Faithful and The Doubtful

    This book is a powerful reminder of God's love for us all. If you ever questioned God's will or struggled to understand it, this book puts that understanding in your grasp. I'd also recommend that you buy "When God Stopped Keeping Score," which takes an intimate look at the power of God and forgiveness. This book too will change your life.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Cuts To The Heart Of Things

    Using the biblical account that we call "The Prodigal Son", Timothy Keller once again does a wonderful job of clearly and easily cutting to the heart of an issue in revealing sin in the heart of the believer. His writing style is easy to understand, but by no means shallow. His theological depth and the scope of application is very well done and will find a point of application with every reader. Read with an open heart and an open mind, and God can use this book greatly in your life.

    For anyone who feels bound by their anger, guilt, hurt or pain, I also recommend "When God Stopped Keeping Score." I thought that the book was just about forgiveness, I soon learned, it was about so much more than that. I was about how you should deal with friends, family and yourself and more importantly, how to keep these relationships strong when things go wrong.

    Having read it, I feel like a better person. Maybe because this book spoke to me and not down to me. I have read a lot of books that was written like I didn't know anything. What the author of "When God Stopped Keeping Score" does is talk to you like a friend. I needed that. You will understand why when you read it. Buy it here on BN.com

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2009

    Great insights

    I enjoyed this book, it looks at the other son not just the prodigal son not the one that most people centered on. I found myself in that son. It is an eye opening read that really makes you think about life as a christian, are we just going through the motions for all the wrong reasons? I would highly recommend this book to anyone willing to see themselves in a different light. The way this book puts it you can actually see yourself in each son, however the insights to the other son (the son that stayed) are very valuable for us as "good" christians. I loved it and will read it over again, something I don't do too often.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2009

    It's worth of buying

    This book is easy to read and understand. It provides you with a new perspective about one of the most read parables (the parable of the prodigal son).

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Misleading title

    "Prodigal" nowadays is taken to mean one who ran off and wasted his resources doing stupid, self-indulgent things, as in the Prodigal Son parable. But Keller uses another legitimate definition, "extravagant", as he writes of God's amazing love for us, deep, strong, and enduring.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    New twist on an old story.

    Looks at the parable The Prodigal Son as revealing not only the hearts and character of both the younger and elder sons, but most importantly what this reveals about the father... a father of extravagant love and generousity for both of his sons. A different point of view for a familiar story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 59 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3