Customer Reviews for

Prodigy (Marie Lu's Legend Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 334 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(241)

4 Star

(58)

3 Star

(16)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

31 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

Prodigy exceeded my expectations by a mile. We all know the midd

Prodigy exceeded my expectations by a mile. We all know the middle book syndrome but Marie Lu managed to avoid that pit. Prodigy wasn't just good, it was spectacularly written, the plot was crafty, and so much better than Legend. Prodigy had its own main plot and it did...
Prodigy exceeded my expectations by a mile. We all know the middle book syndrome but Marie Lu managed to avoid that pit. Prodigy wasn't just good, it was spectacularly written, the plot was crafty, and so much better than Legend. Prodigy had its own main plot and it didn't aimlessly go on like some middle books. The stakes are so much higher here; we have an assassination plot, finding people, trying to start a revolution against the Republics, and a lot of backstabbing. What is surprising was alliances were formed that we wouldn't have expected, not in a million years.Prodigy is also told from both Day and June's POV. Don't go thinking there is much romance and a love triangle or square, because throughout the book, the romance was insignificant to me in comparison to the big plans going on. Yes, there is progression in the romance, some heartbreaks and a horrible cliffhanger, but for the most part Marie Lu stuck to the true meaning of the dystopian genre. I loved that Day and June spent a big portion of the novel apart because this way Lu was able to cover a big portion of the plot and more action.The direction of the plot that Lu took hooked me. The assassination plot allowed the whole book to progress in a way that kept the readers excited as well as allowed her to give us hints and here and there and create a few subplots, such as the relationship between Day and Tess. I also loved how Day and June have become "celebrities" in the eyes of the population and how Marie Lu used the whole revolutionary theme to free America in Prodigy.In terms of the characters, I found Day to be a tiny bit to be easily mistrustful of June and easily persuaded by the people around him. As for June, I think she out shined everyone in Prodigy. I have to admit that I wasn't the biggest fan of her in Legend but she stole my heart in Prodigy. She was kick butt, rational, logical, never lost sight of the plan and faithful. Tess, for me, was very annoying and a jealous kid throughout the whole novel and I just couldn't stand her. We also have the new Elector who I surprisingly warmed up to.All in all, I would highly recommend fans of Legend to pick up Prodigy as soon as possible, and for fans of dystopian novels who haven't picked up Legend, to do so as soon as possible! This series is one of the best dystopian novels I have read! 

posted by majibookshelf on February 4, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

A disappointing sequel that just didn¿t work. Most of the review

A disappointing sequel that just didn’t work. Most of the reviews seem to be extremely positive or stupid comments by people whining about the ending. Therefore, I thought it might be helpful for anyone out there thinking about reading Lu’s follow up attempt to Legend t...
A disappointing sequel that just didn’t work. Most of the reviews seem to be extremely positive or stupid comments by people whining about the ending. Therefore, I thought it might be helpful for anyone out there thinking about reading Lu’s follow up attempt to Legend to have an honest review. I think attempt is probably the most apt way to describe this book. Lu tries hard, but at the end of the day, it just does not add up to a good story. I read Legend and enjoyed it immensely. My favorite part of the first book is the characters and the strong connection between Day and June. While the idea of a dystopian future is not original by any means, the execution of the plot and likeable characters works well to make an enjoyable story…the first time around. However, that magic is entirely missing in Prodigy. I have to admit I was excited that the sequel was finally out, but I could tell from the first few pages that this book is a major letdown. I did not feel connected with the characters from the very beginning. I loved Day and June so much in Legend, but in Prodigy they both seemed to fall flat. The story is definitely subpar, and there really is not much character development which is essential in any sequel. A major flaw is that Day and June are apart for so long, and the only time the book is even remotely tolerable is when they are together. In Prodigy, Day and June are mere shadows of their former selves. I was so disinterested that I had to force myself to keep reading. This book was not well written, and Lu’s attempt at dialect was absolutely horrible. It instantly got on my nerves. Writing dialect is extremely difficult, and unfortunately, Lu is just not good at it. I understand her desire to give some characters a distinctive manner of speaking, but to Lu, this meant having “yeah” as every other word they say. It was incredibly irritating. The biggest flaw in Prodigy is that there is hardly any action as the flimsy plot took majority of the book to finally get things moving. I was bored reading it, and I would say Prodigy got interesting for about twenty pages near the end before it died. There were so many things about Prodigy that didn’t work it. I do not want to give away any spoilers, but the characters motivation and thinking changes so drastically at the end that it is no wonder this book does not seem to have any real relation to the first one. I do not hold out much hope for the next one being any better.

posted by 7279865 on March 9, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 334 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 17
  • Posted February 4, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Prodigy exceeded my expectations by a mile. We all know the midd

    Prodigy exceeded my expectations by a mile. We all know the middle book syndrome but Marie Lu managed to avoid that pit. Prodigy wasn't just good, it was spectacularly written, the plot was crafty, and so much better than Legend. Prodigy had its own main plot and it didn't aimlessly go on like some middle books. The stakes are so much higher here; we have an assassination plot, finding people, trying to start a revolution against the Republics, and a lot of backstabbing. What is surprising was alliances were formed that we wouldn't have expected, not in a million years.Prodigy is also told from both Day and June's POV. Don't go thinking there is much romance and a love triangle or square, because throughout the book, the romance was insignificant to me in comparison to the big plans going on. Yes, there is progression in the romance, some heartbreaks and a horrible cliffhanger, but for the most part Marie Lu stuck to the true meaning of the dystopian genre. I loved that Day and June spent a big portion of the novel apart because this way Lu was able to cover a big portion of the plot and more action.The direction of the plot that Lu took hooked me. The assassination plot allowed the whole book to progress in a way that kept the readers excited as well as allowed her to give us hints and here and there and create a few subplots, such as the relationship between Day and Tess. I also loved how Day and June have become "celebrities" in the eyes of the population and how Marie Lu used the whole revolutionary theme to free America in Prodigy.In terms of the characters, I found Day to be a tiny bit to be easily mistrustful of June and easily persuaded by the people around him. As for June, I think she out shined everyone in Prodigy. I have to admit that I wasn't the biggest fan of her in Legend but she stole my heart in Prodigy. She was kick butt, rational, logical, never lost sight of the plan and faithful. Tess, for me, was very annoying and a jealous kid throughout the whole novel and I just couldn't stand her. We also have the new Elector who I surprisingly warmed up to.All in all, I would highly recommend fans of Legend to pick up Prodigy as soon as possible, and for fans of dystopian novels who haven't picked up Legend, to do so as soon as possible! This series is one of the best dystopian novels I have read! 

    31 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2013

    Asdfhhjkl

    That ending.
    No
    Just no.
    My feels!
    Asdfghjkl
    I can't stop crying.
    AUTHORS, WHY YOU DO THIS TO US? Asdfghjkl

    17 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2013

    Hungry for more

    Love love love it!!!!! When is the next book coming out? Lu has the right balance between romance and adventure. You learn a lot about June and Day. There're some very intersting twists and turns to the plot.

    15 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2013

    NONONONO!!!!

    Day and june and the ending.....
    I cant even....
    I dont....
    Just no.
    I cant even believe.......
    Why do authors do this to us?

    13 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2013

    CAN'T WAIT FOR NEXT ONE!!!

    I just finnished the book. HOW COULD SHE DO THIS TO ME!!!!!????!!! I LOVE DAY

    10 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2013

    Great read, frustrating ending

    Ok i loved this book and could not put it down!!! But are you kidding me? I hate the ending soooo much!!! It pisses me off and i cant even calm down im so upset. The next book better fix what happened in the end. I understand its a twist and leaves the readers wanting more, but that is just a cruel thing.other than the ending it was very exciting and enjoyable except for a few parts where i wanted to punch tess. Go and read it, you will understd what im talking about.

    9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2013

    I have officially finished this entire book in less the 24 hours

    I have officially finished this entire book in less the 24 hours, it was so good. Day and June leap off of the page, just like they did in Legend, and I can't give enough praise to Marie Lu. All I can really say without giving away anything crucial, is that, just like in Legend, she delivers twists I never saw coming. I literally set the book down, almost unwillingly, to announce that my mind was just blown. I'm buckling down for the wait of book three, just wondering where Marie Lu can go from here, but having full confidence that she's going to thoroughly impress me. If there is anything to take from this comment it is to pick up Legend and Prodigy, and see if it's something you might enjoy as much as I know I have.

    9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2013

    This book is amazing...just as good as the Catching Fire series.

    This book is amazing...just as good as the Catching Fire series. the characters are so full and in depth and the story plot is sick!! lots of twists and turns, which makes you question who your loyalties are in. one thing I noticed, I wished the characters were moreso like...18 because 15 is too young to be as mature as these characters are. that's neither here nor there though, because the book is amazing. There were some military desciptions I skipped over because I had no idea what it even was lol. But her descriptions and writing style are sooo darn good. Where is book three???? I need it.

    Also, for those who read that the ending is heartbreaking...don't worry. It had to end with a cliff hanger. But I have nothing but complete and utter faith in these two characters and their survival. Day and June forever!

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2013

    So sad D:

    That was a good book, ill admit... but did it HAVE to end like that???!!! F you, liu dude this shoulve ended happily and now im sad and crying and im ramblinng on in this one sentence WAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAH!!!!!!

    7 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2013

    A disappointing sequel that just didn¿t work. Most of the review

    A disappointing sequel that just didn’t work. Most of the reviews seem to be extremely positive or stupid comments by people whining about the ending. Therefore, I thought it might be helpful for anyone out there thinking about reading Lu’s follow up attempt to Legend to have an honest review. I think attempt is probably the most apt way to describe this book. Lu tries hard, but at the end of the day, it just does not add up to a good story. I read Legend and enjoyed it immensely. My favorite part of the first book is the characters and the strong connection between Day and June. While the idea of a dystopian future is not original by any means, the execution of the plot and likeable characters works well to make an enjoyable story…the first time around. However, that magic is entirely missing in Prodigy. I have to admit I was excited that the sequel was finally out, but I could tell from the first few pages that this book is a major letdown. I did not feel connected with the characters from the very beginning. I loved Day and June so much in Legend, but in Prodigy they both seemed to fall flat. The story is definitely subpar, and there really is not much character development which is essential in any sequel. A major flaw is that Day and June are apart for so long, and the only time the book is even remotely tolerable is when they are together. In Prodigy, Day and June are mere shadows of their former selves. I was so disinterested that I had to force myself to keep reading. This book was not well written, and Lu’s attempt at dialect was absolutely horrible. It instantly got on my nerves. Writing dialect is extremely difficult, and unfortunately, Lu is just not good at it. I understand her desire to give some characters a distinctive manner of speaking, but to Lu, this meant having “yeah” as every other word they say. It was incredibly irritating. The biggest flaw in Prodigy is that there is hardly any action as the flimsy plot took majority of the book to finally get things moving. I was bored reading it, and I would say Prodigy got interesting for about twenty pages near the end before it died. There were so many things about Prodigy that didn’t work it. I do not want to give away any spoilers, but the characters motivation and thinking changes so drastically at the end that it is no wonder this book does not seem to have any real relation to the first one. I do not hold out much hope for the next one being any better.

    6 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2013

    Ouch. Right in the feels. ASDFGHJKL. I can't even¿ I'm in a glas

    Ouch. Right in the feels. ASDFGHJKL. I can't even… I'm in a glass case of emotion! Why does everyone act so normal when I just experienced being emotionally overwhelmed by reading this story. What sucks though is that since there's gonna be a movie, the people who haven't even read the book would claim that they're the biggest fans off the series. BUT NO. They didn't have to wait for the any of the books to be published after reading the first book! I'm sorry guys… This is what finishing an amazing book does to me…

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2013

    5 hours and 17 minutes ....... just saying

    5 hours and 17 minutes ....... just saying

    6 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2013

    Marie Lu...thank you!!!! What an exceptional series. Finished th

    Marie Lu...thank you!!!! What an exceptional series. Finished the book in 24 hours as well; couldn't put it down. But, really...we need the next book ASAP!!!

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    NOOOOOOOOOOO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! NONON

    NOOOOOOOOOOO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! NONONONONONONONONONONONONONONONONONONONOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Give me the next book now!!!!!!

    6 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2013

    The Best Book

    This book is amazing and has something to offer for everyone. I couldnt believe the ending I was in shock and like wanted to sart crying. I cant wait for champion. I didnt think that the author could add anymore plot twists but she did and it was just amazing! Highly recomend this book :)

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2013

    Marie Lu has done it again!! After impatiently waiting for a seq

    Marie Lu has done it again!! After impatiently waiting for a sequel to the dystopian, thrilling story of two heroes,
     each from their own world, I have finally been rewarded with a gripping, equally thrilling, sequel completely
     worth the grueling year and a half long wait. In Legend Day and June where separated by their two different
     worlds, but now they are pulled apart by the deceptions and misconceptions of trying to bring peace to the
     Republic. Marie Lu did a great job with Prodigy, as she created almost a new mood to her series. In Legend 
     you could feel the suspense as you learned of the Republic's darkest and most convoluted secrets, but in
     Prodigy there was this darker feel as Day and June's loyalties are tested as they decide do they assassinate 
     the Elector.
    The ending kept me on the edge of my seat and left me on a cliffhanger, which has me dying in
     anticipation for the next installment to the Legend series.

    Great job Marie Lu!!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2013

    Amazing!

    Read this book in less than 24 hrs and i loved it. I wasnt expecting any of the twist and turns that happened. It kept me on the edg of my seat the whole time.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2013

    First reveiw

    Cant wait to read it! (\(^_^)/)

    5 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2013

    Could not put this book down. Loved the characters; loved the st

    Could not put this book down. Loved the characters; loved the story. I cannot wait for the next book. 

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2013

    Love this

    This is a amazing

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 334 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 17