Customer Reviews for

Prodigy (Marie Lu's Legend Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 367 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(268)

4 Star

(60)

3 Star

(17)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

33 out of 34 people found this review helpful.

Prodigy exceeded my expectations by a mile. We all know the midd

Prodigy exceeded my expectations by a mile. We all know the middle book syndrome but Marie Lu managed to avoid that pit. Prodigy wasn't just good, it was spectacularly written, the plot was crafty, and so much better than Legend. Prodigy had its own main plot and it did...
Prodigy exceeded my expectations by a mile. We all know the middle book syndrome but Marie Lu managed to avoid that pit. Prodigy wasn't just good, it was spectacularly written, the plot was crafty, and so much better than Legend. Prodigy had its own main plot and it didn't aimlessly go on like some middle books. The stakes are so much higher here; we have an assassination plot, finding people, trying to start a revolution against the Republics, and a lot of backstabbing. What is surprising was alliances were formed that we wouldn't have expected, not in a million years.Prodigy is also told from both Day and June's POV. Don't go thinking there is much romance and a love triangle or square, because throughout the book, the romance was insignificant to me in comparison to the big plans going on. Yes, there is progression in the romance, some heartbreaks and a horrible cliffhanger, but for the most part Marie Lu stuck to the true meaning of the dystopian genre. I loved that Day and June spent a big portion of the novel apart because this way Lu was able to cover a big portion of the plot and more action.The direction of the plot that Lu took hooked me. The assassination plot allowed the whole book to progress in a way that kept the readers excited as well as allowed her to give us hints and here and there and create a few subplots, such as the relationship between Day and Tess. I also loved how Day and June have become "celebrities" in the eyes of the population and how Marie Lu used the whole revolutionary theme to free America in Prodigy.In terms of the characters, I found Day to be a tiny bit to be easily mistrustful of June and easily persuaded by the people around him. As for June, I think she out shined everyone in Prodigy. I have to admit that I wasn't the biggest fan of her in Legend but she stole my heart in Prodigy. She was kick butt, rational, logical, never lost sight of the plan and faithful. Tess, for me, was very annoying and a jealous kid throughout the whole novel and I just couldn't stand her. We also have the new Elector who I surprisingly warmed up to.All in all, I would highly recommend fans of Legend to pick up Prodigy as soon as possible, and for fans of dystopian novels who haven't picked up Legend, to do so as soon as possible! This series is one of the best dystopian novels I have read! 

posted by majibookshelf on February 4, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

A disappointing sequel that just didn¿t work. Most of the review

A disappointing sequel that just didn’t work. Most of the reviews seem to be extremely positive or stupid comments by people whining about the ending. Therefore, I thought it might be helpful for anyone out there thinking about reading Lu’s follow up attempt to Legend t...
A disappointing sequel that just didn’t work. Most of the reviews seem to be extremely positive or stupid comments by people whining about the ending. Therefore, I thought it might be helpful for anyone out there thinking about reading Lu’s follow up attempt to Legend to have an honest review. I think attempt is probably the most apt way to describe this book. Lu tries hard, but at the end of the day, it just does not add up to a good story. I read Legend and enjoyed it immensely. My favorite part of the first book is the characters and the strong connection between Day and June. While the idea of a dystopian future is not original by any means, the execution of the plot and likeable characters works well to make an enjoyable story…the first time around. However, that magic is entirely missing in Prodigy. I have to admit I was excited that the sequel was finally out, but I could tell from the first few pages that this book is a major letdown. I did not feel connected with the characters from the very beginning. I loved Day and June so much in Legend, but in Prodigy they both seemed to fall flat. The story is definitely subpar, and there really is not much character development which is essential in any sequel. A major flaw is that Day and June are apart for so long, and the only time the book is even remotely tolerable is when they are together. In Prodigy, Day and June are mere shadows of their former selves. I was so disinterested that I had to force myself to keep reading. This book was not well written, and Lu’s attempt at dialect was absolutely horrible. It instantly got on my nerves. Writing dialect is extremely difficult, and unfortunately, Lu is just not good at it. I understand her desire to give some characters a distinctive manner of speaking, but to Lu, this meant having “yeah” as every other word they say. It was incredibly irritating. The biggest flaw in Prodigy is that there is hardly any action as the flimsy plot took majority of the book to finally get things moving. I was bored reading it, and I would say Prodigy got interesting for about twenty pages near the end before it died. There were so many things about Prodigy that didn’t work it. I do not want to give away any spoilers, but the characters motivation and thinking changes so drastically at the end that it is no wonder this book does not seem to have any real relation to the first one. I do not hold out much hope for the next one being any better.

posted by 7279865 on March 9, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 60 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2013

    Love this

    This is a amazing

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2013

    Honest Review

    Positive: The book had a fair amount of action, and just the right amount of romance. The unexpected news really gets the reader hungrily flipping the pages of the book. It takes a lot of work to get the reader thinking.(Readers will recieve suprising news near the end.)
    Negative: Prodigy wasn't as thrilling as the first book, Legend. Its abrupt ending didn't really wrap up the book, and though I know it takes a lot of work to write a satisfying ending, the author could have tried harder. It would have been a great ending for a chapter (I eagerly flipped the page for more, but sadly found myself staring at the adknowledgements) but I was very disappointed at the ending and the author. I am very confused if there will be a third book or not, though i think not becausof the news readers find out at the end. (I swear to not spoil the book.)

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2013

    READ IT!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Prodigy is a action packed book that is so TOTALLY awesome i could not put it down! I love the way Marie Lu discribed everything so clearly. Also I was wondering is there anothor book? The ending made me so sad. I FELT LIKE CRYING!!!!!! So, anyway you should read this book, but only if you read Legend. Ok. What are you waiting for? READ IT FOR GODSAKE!!!!!!!!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2014

    waiting

    good read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2014

    Great but Room for Improvement

    The first book, Legend, really drew me in from the get go because even though the back story is similar to a lot of well known teen fiction books right now, this story had its own spin. However, I thought Prodigy was a bit strange. The whole thing with with Day and Tess confused me. Is it possible for a guy and a girl who are best friends to just stay best friends? Bringing in that romance was awkward and unnecessary to me. Although, a lot of times I agreed with Tess in how senseless it was for Day to be so trusting of June, whom he just met and used to hate. The plot and story line are awesome, I just think these little needless side issues are so randomly placed and confusing to the rest of the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2014

    Yet another great book from Marie Lu  JennaRchms14 I enjoyed thi

    Yet another great book from Marie Lu  JennaRchms14
    I enjoyed this book because it was action-packed between the relationships of Day and Tess, the connection between the Elector and June, and the assassination plot. Also, there was so many plot twists that kept me at the edge of my seat, Another reason is the readers not only got to see what Day thought and felt, we also got to see what June thought and felt. This is called Duel 1st Person. Lastly, it gave me excitement and chills to read the last installment of the Legend dyspotian novel series. I highly recommend this book to people who love dystopian novels.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2014

    krishnaCHMS14 Fantastically frustrating ONE OF THE BEST!! Lu is

    krishnaCHMS14
    Fantastically frustrating
    ONE OF THE BEST!! Lu is an amazing author who is clearly very talented at what she does. She makes your feelings pop out so many times throughout the novel. I really enjoyed it. This squeal to Legend was an intense, page-turning book. I couldn’t put it down!! I felt like I was with June and Day on their mission to assassinate the new Elector. I can’t express how I felt, but definitely intense. But something I found a little frustrating WAS THE ENDING. Day went through all that trouble to be with Eden again, and this happens?! WOW! But after finishing this horrible ending, I was eager to read Champion (the third, and sadly last, part to Legend. Maybe Lu had to end like this for the readers to keep reading, and not become tired of the novel. It made many want to read on so maybe Lu’s decision wasn’t so bad after all… 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2014

    KenCHMS14  Progdigy want more Love, loved it!  This book has exc

    KenCHMS14  Progdigy want more
    Love, loved it!  This book has exceeded my expectations; Marie Lu really knows how to put romance, adventure and dystopian future together. I admit sometimes I hated how the characters acted and I felt like punching them. one was mostly June the other was Tess because they annoying me to my last nerves but they got me hooked in the love triangle but after this mess the book was extraordinary and some events that happen like how tess and day conflicted in the story I did not like that at all it changed my perspective of the story into thinking what will come of tess. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2014

    Good book no spoilers

    Great book filled with surprises at every turn lots of action. Makes you feel very sad with the ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2014

    Plz make a third

    Ok so i understand how day is dying in the end (which is rather saddening) but what about june. What aout her dog ollie. What about eden. If you make a third book,i will definitally read it. But please please please make a third one. It wasnt supposed o end like this. Not when day and june have been together for a very long time. You have to make a book and make it good too. Im preety sure that if you make third book people will defenitly read it!!!but plz im telling you plz plz plz plz plz make a third book!!!!!!!! It cannot end like this if they were meant to be!! If you make a third book, i will read it, and im pretty sure almost everyone else will too. Plz make a third book!!! But in the third book can you plz have ut wherday and june are dating agin and tell us how everyone else is. Can day die peacefully... plz thus is my favorite book series and it doesnt need to be ruined like that... other wise, it was a great book!! I wouid have given you 5 stars but i didnt like the ending like that!! SO i gave you 4 stars!! Well my only request is to plz make a third book and keep the series going...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 28, 2014

    Legend captured my attention with its action-oriented story line

    Legend captured my attention with its action-oriented story line, and likable characters that I couldn't get of; Prodigy delivered all of that and more in this exceptional sequel.




    Reasons to Read:




    1. Flawless plot continuity: 




    Prodigy perfectly builds on the story first introduced in Legend; there's no lull, and importantly Marie really expands on the plot lines and twists revealed in the first book of the series.




    2. Strong world-building:




    Legend stands out among other futuristic YA books for its impeccable world-building, and this only improves in Legend. We get to see a bit more of the world that June and Day live in, and experience new places at the same time as the characters do.




    3. An action-oriented book:




    I love books that are bursting with action and thrills, and Prodigy is exactly that. June and Day are both tough characters, in their own way, but their courage puts them in trying situations (which means that the reader gets plenty of excitement and action)!




    4. A romance you can root for:




    One of my favourite things about June and Day's relationship is that they're working for it. This rarely comes up in YA books, and I'm so pleased to see characters that try to communicate with one another, and while they aren't perfect you can easily see that their relationship doesn't just magically work out. It's a refreshing take on a love story, and one that is realistic too.




    I also love all the details and attention Marie pays to the secondary characters and their stories, and it comes across so well in Prodigy (Metias will forever and ever be my favourite). That being said, at times it almost feels like there's a little too much going on for me to really understand and appreciate all the side stories that are happening. It can take away from the overall story, although I understand that this is hard when you have such a large fictional world and only three books. You just can't fit everything in.




    ARC received from Penguin Canada for review; no other compensation was received. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2014

    June and Day are 15 yrs old.

    This is for the person that said help

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2013

    This book was very good, although it had some things I didn't li

    This book was very good, although it had some things I didn't like in it. June and Day join the Patriots, that I did not understand. I also didn't like how Kaide just let June and Day escape to the Colonies then help them escape the Colonies. This book was really good dispute these little things I did not like. I couldn't stop reading it and I really loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2013

    I enjoyed the first book of this series, but I have to say I lik

    I enjoyed the first book of this series, but I have to say I liked this one a lot more than I did Legend. There was something about it that made it more. More exciting, more interesting. We already had a basic understanding of the where are characters are coming from, so we quickly got tossed into the action.

    By the end of this book, issues I had about the world from the previous book dissolved. I felt I like I understood the hows and the whys more. Finding out more about the Colonies and about the world outside of the former USA land added a lot to this book. For a lot of dystopian novels, the "outside" land is this mythical promise land or its all the same stuff as the land they lived in. The "outside" world in this story really says a lot about the society in which our heroes live. And I loved that. I love seeing the how and whys of things.

    By the end of Legend, the only character I really liked was the dead brother. June and Day were just kind of there. The story was interesting enough, plus my book club wanted to read number two, so I picked up this book. By the end of Prodigy, I actually like the two of them. Instead of not caring about their relationship, I found myself complaining to the book when certain events happened towards the end. Somewhere along the way, these two won me over. They went from these two similar characters to two separate beings who followed their own paths, learning and growing as they went along. Their time apart really helped their growths.

    Events at the end are just plain evil. It is going to be a long wait until book three comes out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2013

    I thought this book was great, it alwaus made me want to read mo

    I thought this book was great, it alwaus made me want to read more. Whenever something happened in either Day or June's perspective i would always want to know how it happened from the other person's point of view. There was so much action and so many suspensfull moments I just couldnt put it down. I loved this book and can't wait to read the next one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 25, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Have no fear, there¿s no middle book syndrome here!

    While I do feel that Prodigy lacked a bit of the tension that made Legend such an irresistible read, it’s still one of the best dystopias I’ve picked up recently. And while I missed the cat and mouse game that fueled much of the first book, there’s no shortage of other kinds of tension here. Uncertainty plagues Day and June throughout the story, especially when it comes to their relationship. Make no mistake; these are not the same Day and June that we met in Legend. The events in book #1 have forever altered them. I think a lot of readers may agree that where we sympathized so much more with Day in Legend, our hearts belong to June in Prodigy. Day’s blinded by the desire for revenge, motivated by his pain and loss and this makes him much more vulnerable and unpredictable. He’s reactive as opposed to active, rendering him a danger to himself, June, Tess and everyone else around him. June, on the other hand, has undergone a much more positive character arc. Her tough veneer has cracked and she’s finally become relatable and likeable. She’s grown without having to compromise her strength and intelligence, which is pretty remarkable. Both protagonists have been through the ringer at this point and both have responded very differently to those experiences. They’ve each lost people they loved and are now left to face the consequences of their individual actions. The difference is, Day has started to shut down whereas June has grown from it. Where in Legend we’re only privy to the Republic’s way of life, in Prodigy our wait pays off as we’re finally allowed a visit to the Colonies. And this is where I thought, man, Lu really gets it. She’s both ruthless and realistic about the political stuff. While there are certainly “bad guys” in the book, there are no clear cut villains. When it comes to the Republic versus the Colonies, you don’t know what to believe or who to root for. The people living in both are equally as damaged by their actions. Each of these nations thinks their way is the right way and their end game is best for everyone. And what a lot of dystopias are missing. That’s the thing that made me love books like this and The Hunger Games—our protagonists are forced to choose between the lesser of two evils or they’ll be forced to blaze their own path. The deeper I dig into this trilogy, the more I uncover a well-crafted world full of political intrigue, romantic drama and explosive action. And that ENDING. Oh god. This can’t end well at all! I said this about Lu in my review of Legend and it rings true now—she will drop you in a bathtub full of warm fuzzies only to render you brain dead right after. Legend left my expectations very high, luckily, Lu’s sequel, Prodigy, stacks up. Have no fear, there’s no middle book syndrome here! Prodigy is an action-packed, highly intense, politically charged drama that hits all the right dystopian notes. The world building is sharper, the stakes are higher and the tension is tighter than ever before. I loved seeing the growth and change that Day and June have undergone, even if it wasn’t always for the better. I am fully invested in this series, especially after that KILLER cliffhanger!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2013

    Amazing but the ending will kill you.

    The book was honestly amazing. I love the action and plot and especially day and june's relationship. But then THE END! I swear I ranted for days because I was so annoyed. WHY?! It was still well worth reading, but I hope the author fixes the situation in the next book. The only good thing about the end was that it was really surprising.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2014

    Anonymous

    I can't decide whether or not I liked this book as much or more than the first, but it was well done. There is just as much action, suspense, and intrigue as the first. However, the characters have grown, which is always nice to see, and there was a whole lot more world building. I thought that the way this futuritic world came about was a little bit predictable however. ( SPOILER: global warming causing Anartica to melt, then as a result, a flood takes out half of the United States.)

    There were some good plot twists to this story though. %Slight Spoilers%: Such as learning what the colonies were really like, secrets behind the leaders of the patriots, the end of an elector's term, and a cliffhanger ending that I could have predicted, but did not see coming. Let us just say that it made me really want to buy the next book and you can find out what happened if you want by reading other people's reviews.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2013

    Great book!

    This writer is exceptional and keeps the reader engaged. I enjoyed how it blended in with book 1 and would definitely recommend reading Lu's books. A great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2013

    Catching

    I quickly became addicted to this series. So maybe the best advice I can give is wait for the 3rd book to come out before starting the series. Currently the cover is taunting me in my nook library. This book has action and twists and a love story. This book is good for teens and adults. Some language and obvious violence.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 60 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3