Customer Reviews for

The Professional (Spenser Series #37)

Average Rating 4
( 118 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(45)

4 Star

(33)

3 Star

(22)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted January 26, 2010

    R.I.P. Robert B. Parker

    I was so sad to learn of his sudden passing. I understand there are a few books still to be released. I loved his writing, some better than others, but always an enjoyable way to spend a relaxing afternoon. I will miss him and Jesse Stone, Spencer, Sunny Randall, Hawk and Susan. My condolences to his family.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2010

    Interesting, kept you reading, always the romantic and tough guy

    As any Robert Parker story this Spenser novel is likely the last one I will read because Robert Parker has since passed away. I am an avid reader of Spenser novels and I feel like part of my life died with Robert Parker. Its amazing how an author can have such an effect on a person, but its hard to think I will no longer be reading about Spenser and the love of his life, Susan and all the other thugs that hang around Spenser that I have been reading about for many many years.
    I bought the CD this time so I could listen on my 5 CD radio in my truck driving back & forth to work. Takes about an hour each way, so every day for about 3 1/2 days I had an enjoyable ride to and from Boston. Sometimes I would be laughing and wonder if anyone in cars next to me was watching as I was listening to Spenser and his escapades.
    I will miss Robert Parker and Spenser. He has been a part of my fantasy life for a very long time. Good Bye Mr Parker.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2010

    Robert B. Parker delivers again.

    As usual, Parker's muscular writing style kept me immersed in the story from start to finish. I love his characters, love their banter, love the devotion of Spencer and Susan for each other, the respect and loyalty of Hawk and the recurring characters like Vinnie and Quirk. Parker can say more in fewer words than any author I can think of. I know this is about Spenser, but he and Jesse Stone are my heroes. Also Sunny Randall. I look forward to each new release. Keep 'em coming, Parker!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 20, 2009

    A Nice Read

    In Robert B. Parker's latest thriller "The Professional," private detective Spenser is asked to assist four women who cheated on their rich husbands with the same lover who, having recorded their trysts, comes back to blackmail them-Gary Eisenhower. Matters are further complicated by the private situation of each victim: Regina is married to a homosexual politician who's terrified that Gary's revelations will wreak havoc on his career. Nancy's hiding her sex addiction and living in fear that her husband would leave her if he found out. Beth's husband, Chester Jackson, is obsessed with his wife and hires two men called Zell and Boo to spy on Spenser and destroy Gary. Abigail has a drinking problem that ultimately propels her into the arms of Spenser. The mutual bond this women harbor is their shared experience with Gary and their wish to get the whole situation over with. However, things are never what they seem. As Spenser tracks down Eisenhower, he learns that Gary is not operating alone and at least one of his female clients is continuing a relationship with him, despite the blackmail. Along with his beautiful psychologist girlfriend Susan, Spenser then locates a female college associate who previously had an affair with Eisenhower, following which he was briefly in jail, to attempt to understand what exactly attracts these women to him. As events take a terrifying turn, several murders take place in the second part of the book-including the husband of one of Spenser's clients. I found the book to be a quick and entertaining read, with a good sense of conflict and tension towards the end. The writing is straight-to-the point, the characters stand out, and the by the time the story ends everything has been neatly explained-something that isn't always easy to do with a thriller. Overall, I found this book to be an engaging and enjoyable read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Fresh and sparkling, great book

    Spenser has been wooing his sweetie pie Susan and vanquishing the bad guys for 37 books now and in the hands of a master story teller it never gets old.

    In fact this is one of the best of the series. A nicely twisting plot with strong characters, crisp dialog and believable situations. If you've never read a Spenser novel you're in for a treat. If you're already a fan, this offering is going to make you want to go back and reread the series.

    Excellent work and well worth the money.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2012

    Wonderful book

    would recommend this book to anyone

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2010

    Outstanding

    The Professional is another one of Parkers masterpieces. Bravo!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2010

    My Husband and I are really enjoying this read

    Parker does it again. Who doesn't like Spenser. Susan and Hawk are as entertaining as always. I good read/listen for everyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2010

    Almost the last Parker before he passed.

    The 37th in the Spencer series is captivating as always.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    My favorite author

    I have read every one of Robert B. Parker's books. I love his style. They are quick, easy reads with great characters. I look forward to his next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The best "trio" in books

    Spenser, Susan and Hawk are the best detective trio in books. This is a lot like the CSI series because the characters click so well together. It's not even the story line that draws you in, believe me, it's those three characters who bring each book to life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Spenser Outsmarts The Professor

    Robet B Parker always does a great job with Spenser. It is always a fun read wih the glib Spenser providing both wit and wisdom while offering his typical physicality. Always great with Susan and Hawk

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 15, 2009

    Wonderful listening.

    I really enjoy listening to Joe Montenga read these stories. His characterization of each person is great.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 5, 2009

    I just love Spenser - I've read 'em all.

    The book had everything that I expected from R.B.Parker. I just wish that the book was longer; or, he needs to come out with new books at a faster rate but not lose what he gives us in every book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2009

    Great Spenser novel, one of the best in a long time

    I've also read all the Spenser novels and anything else by Parker I can get my hands on. I have no idea what the other reviewers are talking about -- this is one of the most engaging and detailed episodes ever!! Susan has a major role, Spenser as usual brings us into Boston and its ever-evolving economic strata, and the characters were great. It was a little irresolute in its outcome (as a story) compared with others but I think that was Parker's point. As far as the references to sex, etc. all the books refer to that kind of pleasure!!! The dynamics between Spenser and Susan, Hawk's wry and self-confident comments (in that area and others) and the escapades of other characters flesh out the story nicely along with the great descriptions of the scene, the weather, and the excellent dialogue.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3