Customer Reviews for

Professional Idiot: A Memoir

Average Rating 4.5
( 65 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(46)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 66 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted June 17, 2011

    JUST READ IT! <3

    Steve-O Is Amazing! And So Is His Book! In My Opinion This Book Is A MUST READ! <3

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2012

    Great book, im glad to see his life has turned around

    More engaging than i thought steveo could be

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 4, 2011

    for sure a must read!!

    this book is about turning ones life around and makeing the best of it. steve-o did a great telling his whole life story and what actually happended in it. for those who like or even dislike him, its still a must read! press buy now ^^^^

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 9, 2011

    BEST BOOK IN THE HISTORY

    biographys are really boring.... BUT THIS IS THE BEST BOOK EVER JUST CAUSE ITS STEVE-O, BEST BOOK I EVER READ A MUST READ, IF a fan of jackass bam margera and brandon novak also have books check them ALL out they are great!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! <3<3

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 6, 2011

    Totally Unexpected

    I started reading this thinking it would be a good laugh, Steve-O has always been my favorite "Jackass". I had no idea how raw and honest this book would be. It is incredibly well written and in some parts, like when he wrote about his mother, I actually cried. It gives a glimpse into what drugs and fame can do to a person and Bravo to him for writing about it all. If everyone could be this honest with themselves and others, the world would be a much better place!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2012

    I thought i did some crazy s&%$


    Insane

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2012

    Inspiring

    Breathtaking.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 12, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Perfect balance of hilarious and serious.

    I really enjoyed reading this book. I read it straight through in two nights. It tells an in depth story of Stevo's addiction. Anyone struggling or knows someone who is struggling with addiction should pick up this book. I have a professional and better understanding of Stevo and the jackass world. Whether your a Jackass superfan or just looking for something new you should read this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2011

    Epic

    Steve-o is kinda my idol :) i yelled at my mom when she told me he was on drugs.. i didnt beleive her untill this book and his documentary I LOVE YOU STEVE-O we all make mistakes sometimes

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2011

    Great read

    Steve-Os is interesting to watch & read. Great insite as to what happened off screen..... I recomend.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2011

    I loved this book. An inspirational story from some one who gave everything to achiege his dreams. RIP Ryan Dunn

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2011

    Good+book

    SteveO+is+very+inspirational+to+come+back+so+strong+from+rock+bottom.+Jackass+is+a+great+show%2C+and+I+hope+they+make+more+movies%2C%2C+though+they+are+getting+older+and+wiser.+Knoxville+needs+to+write+a+book%2Ctoo.+God+bless+all+of+the+Jackass+guys%21

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2011

    Amazing, inspiring and interesting

    I've always loved Steve-O and to learn about him was awesome. Im glad he wrote a book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2014

    I usually don't enjoy reading, but with Steve-O's Professional I

    I usually don't enjoy reading, but with Steve-O's Professional Idiot Memoir, I couldn't put the book down. There is even a quote on the back of the book from Tommy Lee that says, &quot;This is the perfect book for people who hate reading.&quot; The book tells about the famous Jackass star's crazy adventure to hell and back. He battles with alcoholism, drug addiction, family problems, and the constant need to have the spotlight on him. In the book he looks back on his life with complete honesty and humor, while telling his story of how out of control his life had become. I really enjoyed this book for a lot of reasons. One of them being I have been a fan of Steve-O since they created Jackass. I like how he just tells everything how it was, and is blatantly honest about everything. I liked how when he tells the story I can picture some of the stuff that he is talking about because I have either seen it on TV or in the movies, but I like it even more because I had no idea what was going on behind the scenes of everything. I would have never imagined Steve-O was in that bad of shape by watching the show. The only thing I didn't really like was the way some of the events skipped around and were out of order. It made it a little confusing. Also some of the situations became repetitive and started blending together with each other. This book explains why Steve-O acts the way he does, and in some way apologizes to the people he treated like crap. I think a major message in this book is that anyone can turn their life around if they really want to. It takes work, but it is possible get out of bad habits and live a clean lifestyle. I would definitely recommend this book. It is so entertaining and really makes you understand Steve-O and the affects that fame can have on someone. Steve-O compares himself to Artie Lange in this book because they were going through similar problems. I would also recommend reading Artie Lange's books. I give this book an overall rating of 4 out of 5 stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2013

    Best book ever!!! Whoever is reading this , it is amazing!!!!!!!

    Steve-o is from jackass!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 2, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Steve-O does a great job telling the story of his life. This was

    Steve-O does a great job telling the story of his life. This was a very interesting read and I would recommend it. It details both the highs and lows of his life in a very honest in depth story. Wonderful read. Keep up the sobriety Steve-O, I've always enjoyed watching you and reading your story was awesome.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2013

    Loved it

    Couldn't put this book down!! Steve-o is amazing

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2013

    My bad

    I read only 60 or so pages and gave this book an unfair low rate ing After reading the entire book I must say to is fair to give this book a 3 Star So go ahead and read the dam thing..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2013

    Very good

    Great!i learned alot.he is awwsome

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2012

    Amazing book and very well written. Great story with many lesson

    Amazing book and very well written. Great story with many lessons to be learned. I suggest it as a good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 66 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4