Customer Reviews for

Project Daedalus

Average Rating 4
( 65 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(24)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(17)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Highly Recommended

Just finished this this evening. What a great story. It was full of great characters, has a good story line and plenty of plot twists to keep you from laying it down! The Russians and Japanese team up to build the first true spaceplane in secret. Supposedly built for sp...
Just finished this this evening. What a great story. It was full of great characters, has a good story line and plenty of plot twists to keep you from laying it down! The Russians and Japanese team up to build the first true spaceplane in secret. Supposedly built for space research the russian test pilot discovers some decidedly militaristic characteristics. In the US a NSA analyst makes some surprising discoveries on her own that lead to the Japanese mob boss who is financing the project. Throw in some Greek mythology to spice it all up and you end up with a book worth reading!

posted by barry2B on November 23, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

More than boring old ALPHABET SOUP!

That's right. Alphabet soup. You know, like KGB, NSA, US? Well this is a great Hoover to read after The Samurai Strategy since it uses the same Wall Street guy and has a similar flavor. It gets your taste buds to bump up from the start. Enjoy!

posted by Munningss_SCapingReality on August 14, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 65 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted November 23, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Highly Recommended

    Just finished this this evening. What a great story. It was full of great characters, has a good story line and plenty of plot twists to keep you from laying it down! The Russians and Japanese team up to build the first true spaceplane in secret. Supposedly built for space research the russian test pilot discovers some decidedly militaristic characteristics. In the US a NSA analyst makes some surprising discoveries on her own that lead to the Japanese mob boss who is financing the project. Throw in some Greek mythology to spice it all up and you end up with a book worth reading!

    11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 14, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    More than boring old ALPHABET SOUP!

    That's right. Alphabet soup. You know, like KGB, NSA, US? Well this is a great Hoover to read after The Samurai Strategy since it uses the same Wall Street guy and has a similar flavor. It gets your taste buds to bump up from the start. Enjoy!

    11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 10, 2012

    Another Great book by Thomas Hoover

    Captivating, interesting and intriguing read! I disagree with the reviewers who complain about the length of the book. I enjoyed tremendously the details, and explanations about the "Project", especially when the book is well written, well researched, and that the personages are well depicted. I highly recommend this book.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2011

    Great. another book with sex.

    Seriously?!? Why is it that every book on the market nowadays with a halfway decent storyline either has way too much cussing, or has totally inappropriate scenes? Just once, I'd like to find a Nook book with a good plot that is decent enough to let my little brother read! Seriously, B+N, shape it up, or I'm gonna sue!

    5 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2011

    fair but too detailed

    overdone, way too much info on weapons/violence, etc. could have told the same story in 1/3 the pages.

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2012

    A GREAT READ EVEN IF DATED

    Quite an exciting and involving read. At 800+ pages it takes a while to complete but is worth it. The only downside is that it relies on the now-passed cold war scenario with the Soviets as the heavies and adds Japanese industrialists/bankers as co-heavies. A more current geopolitical setting would be great for another Hoover book (I haven't checked yet to see if there are any).

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 20, 2010

    Great like expected

    Thomas Hoover has written another great book. This book never failed to keep my attention. I am very glad that Thomas Hoover decided to share his wonderful books with the world. I highly recommend this book!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 13, 2011

    Recommended!

    This was a book that I found hard to put down. Story lines all wrapped into one and kept my interest!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2011

    Wonderful story line.

    Great book. Must admit there were quite a few dry spots that the author could have left out. KGB, NSA, US, Japan, Russia... makes for a very interesting plot.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2013

    Boring

    Usually i enjoy thomas hoovers books but this one was just too boring. Couldnt get past pg 75.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2012

    Not much for conspirathy type plots but this was very good!

    Would highly recommend this and ALL of Thomas Hoovers books! Best of all most are free or very low cost!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2012

    Very Good

    Very interesting to read, even if the end was a little predictable. Reminded me of the Clint Eastwood movie Firefox. Still. A very good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 25, 2011

    recommended. Good book

    Really good author. I have read several of his books.

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2011

    Daedlaus

    Awesome story

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 27, 2011

    Terrible

    No stars! 863 pages of crap. Could not get past 35 pages of this free book. NOT worth it, even for free.

    0 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 65 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4