Customer Reviews for

Project ELE

Average Rating 4.5
( 74 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(43)

4 Star

(21)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

This book was provided to me by the Authors for review. I was t

This book was provided to me by the Authors for review.

I was totally hooked from the first sentence! Loved, loved, loved this book and can't wait for the sequel. Well written, captivating and a really great storyline. A must read - definitely!

Slightly dissapointe...
This book was provided to me by the Authors for review.

I was totally hooked from the first sentence! Loved, loved, loved this book and can't wait for the sequel. Well written, captivating and a really great storyline. A must read - definitely!

Slightly dissapointed when it ended though, purely because it ended and now I have to wait for more. I normally don't enjoy this genre, but could not put it down at all. I read until early hours of the morning, every morning and every spare minute I had, even cooked with it in my hand!

Willow and her friends are really interesting characters and keep you on your toes with their exploring and new-found abilities.

The trailer is great and this book could definitely be an amazing movie!

Definitely worth reading. Thanks Courtney and Rebecca for writing such captivating books, may you write many more!!

- Angela Mouton -

posted by AngelaMouton on August 11, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

This book was given to me by the writer. I give it a five star r

This book was given to me by the writer. I give it a five star rating. It will leave you hungry for more and haunt you in your dream. I am so starving for the next book.
Project ELE
 This is the most wonderful book I have read in awhile. Right from the first few pages ...
This book was given to me by the writer. I give it a five star rating. It will leave you hungry for more and haunt you in your dream. I am so starving for the next book.
Project ELE
 This is the most wonderful book I have read in awhile. Right from the first few pages I was hooked. It had me crying right off the bat.
 Page after page I was hooked. 
  I looked at this book as a what if book like maybe this could really happen in 2090 or 3011. And it was a scary thought. This book is a must read for everyone. I strongly back this book. You will never want to put it down. You will cry, laugh and the ending will totally blow your mind and have you completely starving for the next book. 
 I will watch this writer to see where she goes next. And pray that the next book is quick to come. This book is for the YA reader and the older reader. Buy this book I promise you will not be let down. Thank you for allowing me to read and write a review on this book. Look forward to many more. 

posted by Shihtzus on September 8, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 75 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2014

    CRAZY AWESOME!!!!!!!

    Best stinking book ever! Alot like the hunger games for hunger games fans!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2014

    Found it

    I found part two!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2014

    WOW

    This is definately 1of the best books ive ever read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2014

    Ughh

    It was actually really good. Sometimes it gave a lot of extra info but it got back on track good. Does B&N have the second one?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2014

    Enjoyable

    I found the characters interesting and the storyline original. I look forward to reading the next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2014

    BookWorm

    I only have 4 words to say : BEST FREAKING BOOK EVER!!!!!!! I ve never read such an awesome book! This is about Willow Mosby and her friends, Clair, Connor, and her BF Alec. Now for some back round info this thing called Project ELE started when a virus spiraled out of control and is killing peeps by the day. The ELE is when they heat up the earth to kill the air-borne sickness. Her family decides to join one of three shelters to survive and only herself and her dad get admitted. She makes the best of it, especially with Alec but soon tje gain powers after swimming in a cave pool she and her friends found. Zack and Dr. Hastings, his papa, try to find out what os going on with herbut s*#! hits the fan!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2014

    Hi anon

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2014

    Anon

    Wow! Once I started this book everything around me stopped until I was finished. Unusual plot that moves quickly into what's happening in a dystopian virus filled future. Who will be saved and at what expense. No brain smashed zombies here...which I'm sick of reading about...but the story is well thought out and has lots of plot twists to keep you turning the pages as fast as you can. Ends with an incredible cliff hanger. Jp

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 16, 2013

    I received this book in exchange for an honest review.  I no

    I received this book in exchange for an honest review. 




    I normally don't read apocalyptic books, but I took a chance on this one and I am so glad I did. From the very beginning I was pulled in and the story that unfolded was one that I absolutely loved. The characters were very relatable and I adore Willow. I can't wait to read the next book to see what happens next. :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2013

    Had promise but fell flat

    I'm not sure how I feel about this book. It feels incredibly juvenile. Yes it is written from the POV of a sheltered 16 year old girl but other YA books have managed to do the same thing while coming off more... I don't know.. polished? I guess.

    I do like the premise, but everything else felt a bit lacking. There isn't much character depth, the world building leaves a lot to be desired and the dialog is stiff.

    It kills me to start a series and not finish it, even when they are bad. I'm giving this series one more book to win me over before I call it quits on the ELE Series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2013

    I struggled with the rating on this one, because while the story

    I struggled with the rating on this one, because while the story was very good, at times the writing wasn't. I finally decided on a 4-
     instead of a 3+, in order to give the plot its due credit.

    This story started out with all the interesting facts about the imminent extinction of the human race, and the race to get into one of the
    shelters. It grabbed me from the first chapter, and the excitement continued (mostly) all the way through to the end.

    I liked Willow and her friends. I also liked that who I thought was going to be the love interest, wasn't. You kind of know who the bad
    guys are from the start (though I was pleasantly surprised at one turn of events in the end), so there's no mystery there. You have
    betrayals, you have romance, you have a couple of twists and bam! It's a day of fun in the reading park.

    The concept was interesting, and I enjoyed reading about patches on the ozone layer, and what ELE ultimately stands for. I thought
     these were creative aspects to the story.

    What bothered me is that at times the level of writing seemed a little immature, and some of the dialogue bordered on kinda corny.
    Some times I was gripped, other times I was rolling my eyes. I also was bothered by numerous grammatical errors (such as using
    peak instead of peek, not once, but over and over), and there was a severe case of comma-itus especially towards the end where
    commas don't exist and the sentences were kind of running on do you see what I mean? There is a note from the authors
     that after reading reviews, that they've corrected all the errors they could find. Could be that I have an earlier version of the book
     (I *have* had it for awhile!) so these errors could be corrected. Not sure if maturity level of the writing has been aged or not. 

    With that being said, I read this book straight through on a Saturday, and really quite enjoyed it. Had a good cliff-hanger that has me
    wanting to continue reading the series to find out what those dastardly SOBs are up to!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2013

    highly recommend

    I really enjoyed this series.. good quick read. Can't wait for the next one

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This book was given to me by the author for review. Whilst not

    This book was given to me by the author for review.

    Whilst not normally a fan of dystopian style novels, having read the Night Marchers series by the same authors, I was excited to see what they had come up with this time, and I wan't disappointed.

    Set in the future when disease and global warming have left no option but for the chosen "healthy" ones to enter shelters set up by Project ELE. The story floows a teenage Willow and her amazing journey through an existance we all hope would never happen but wonder how we would survive if it did.

    With a small group of friends what starts as an adventure looking to releive the boredom that is setting in soon turns into a fight for their lives. What starts as a slight paranormal anomaly in Willow soon escalates and although she has the most variations she is certainly not alone. And those in charge want HER.

    A fast paced, easy page turner which ends with you screaming for just a couple more pages! I for one can't wait for the next part of the series to be released. A great read for any YA fans.

    V""V

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2013

    CRAZY

    This book was realy good dont get me wrong but the ending was INSANElike there was so many things happening at once and the it just ended

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2013

    I debated between 4 stars and 5. Since it certainly held my inte

    I debated between 4 stars and 5. Since it certainly held my interest and I'm about to buy the next in the series, I decided to go with 5 stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2013

    Awesome book

    So totally awesome! If you like this book, you should read bleeding violets, imaginary girl , girl in yhe steel corset and dead an gone. Best books in the wirld. :-)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 6, 2013

    I normally read paranormal books, but I was given the chance to

    I normally read paranormal books, but I was given the chance to read this in exchange for an honest review and since books are my drug (Hi my name is Shona and I AM a book addict)I jumped at the chance. I knew nothing of the plot, but I have heard the phrase ELE(Extinction Level Event)before so had a brief idea of what I might expect. From the first chapter I knew this was a book I could enjoy, by the end of the book I am on the verge of stalking the writers to find out where/when I can get the next instalment.




    The book begins with Willow and her family (mother, father and younger brother) hoping they will be granted entry into the shelter that promises to save those not infected with the virus that threatens to wipe out the rest of the world. Before they can be accepted they must undergo some tests. Its at this point that Willow's family falls apart.




    Inside the shelter, Willow soon finds herself a small group of friends in Connor, Claire and Alec, and in an effort to stave off the boredom they go exploring the mountain and its tunnels. Its these adventures that lead to Willow discovering all is not what it seems

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2013

    Interesting

    Enjoyed this. Hope the next one is free.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2012

    An okay book

    The book started off really good, it kept me interested but the climax for the book took way to long to reach. Towards the middle of the book it started getting slow and boring. If you are looking for a decent book to read, read this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2012

    Love this book!

    I am hooked into anything post apocalyptic so this was right up my alley. I do feel that I am probably one of the older readers, and this book would be best suited to a teen. It was very good though and I anxiously await a sequel!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 75 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 4