Customer Reviews for

Project Mulberry

Average Rating 4
( 42 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(26)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Great!

This book is great! I love it! Highly recommended, especially for 3rd-5th grade readers!

posted by Anonymous on July 27, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Awesome

This book was fairly good but i wouldnt reccoment it. It was okay

posted by Anonymous on July 10, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2012

    Great!

    This book is great! I love it! Highly recommended, especially for 3rd-5th grade readers!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2009

    GREAT FOR MOTHER /DAUGHTER BOOK GROUPS!

    Lots of wonderful lessons to be learned and discussed!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2013

    LOVE IT SO MUCH

    OMIGOSH I WAS SO EXCITED TO FIND OUT THAT NOOK HAS THIS BOOK LOVE IT READ IT HAS A GREAT STORYLINE!!!!!!! :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2012

    Project Mulberry is about a girl named Julia and boy named Patr

    Project Mulberry is about a girl named Julia and boy named Patrick.They don't know what to do for the Wiggle Project.Julia doesn't like to be korean.She likes to more American.Also,she feels embarressed when her friends go to her house.My favorite part of the book was when tthe silk worms started hatching,and when the worms started making their cacoon.If you like to learn about Korea,read this book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2011

    Amazing Book!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Anyone who doesn't buy this book is crazy! I read this in one hour and thirty minutes straight. I couldn't even stop reading it! I would rather rate this 10 stars but I can't. Buy this book!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 1, 2010

    Project Mulberry by Linda Sue Park

    Project Mulberry by Linda Sue Park

    "I thought of a project that you might be able to do," she said quietly. "Really?" I said at the same time that Patrick said," hat is it?" I stopped scraping the plate I was holding. My mom's eyes twinkled at me. "Worms," she said. I stared at her for a second. "Worms?" I said. My mom nodded. "We'd raise worms?" I said. "You mean, like, for fishermen to use as bait?" Project Mulberry, written by Linda sue park, is a fictional book about a Korean girl named Julia and Patrick.
    In Plainfield, United States of America, lived a girl named Julia and, of course, her best buddy, Patrick. They are in a club called WGGL, shortened for "work-grow-give-live." In that club, they have to do a project, but they don't know what to do. They wanted an animal project, so they looked all over the animal section to see if there were any good topics. Unfortunately, they couldn't find one. They were thinking and thinking until Julia's mom thought of an idea- a silk worm project. "My grandfather raised silk worms in Korea,"."It's really quite interesting, and you get an extra product."
    This book is a really fun and exciting book that I want to recommend to my class mates. I want to recommend it to them because I liked it and I think my class mates are going to enjoy it too. First, I really like this book because it was a realistic fiction book and I really like realistic fiction books. Whenever I read them, I feel like I am the main character. Also, this is a unique book about silk worms because not a lot of people think of this idea and I personally think that it is a COOL idea? So I recommend this book to my fellow class mates.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Good book!

    I thought this book would be boring and got it because I read another book by this author and it was really good. When I got to the middle I really liked it. It has alot of facts about silkworms but you start to enjoy them. I was wondering what I would do if I was in this situation.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2008

    A reviewer

    Project Mulberry traces an extra credit project between two young 'future farmers' who plan to take the project to the state fair, and win! The have the wonderful idea of combining areas to win by raising an animal, and then use the product from that animal to create something brand new. With Julia's mother's assitance silkworms and silk are decided on. This book is very careful at discussing the fusion of two different cultures and touches even further on the importance of tolerance and acceptance. It's a must read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2014

    Jazz

    Fiction is about the truth,even if it's not always factual. Some people change a fact from a story,but not the truth about the feelings.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2014

    Comment below

    R u my best friend hu has a kindle fire

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2014

    Can't what to read it btb

    Reading it for batle of the books. Tell u if i like
    It.:) ;)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2013

    THESOUNDOFMUSIC

    Guys the worms arent slimy they r actually soft and fuzzy

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2012

    Click here plz

    Hey was up read this book it is good

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2012

    Cats

    Meadowleaf is coming back. Okay. And... hmm... you! Im guessing... :\

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2012

    This is a wonderful book!!!!!

    Julia dosent want to do silkworms for Patrick and hers wiggle project. The more she gets into it the more she wants to do it. There are many ways that the story goes. Most arent what you predict. If you want to find out about the ending read the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2011

    I luv

    This book best book ever toatlly a rereader! This book is a 7 on my fav book chart

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Sweet Book

    This is a book about friendship and on loving your heritage. This has three thumbs up. Please read this book!!! :D

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2007

    Project Mulberry

    Project Mulberry is a great 222 page book by Linda Sue Park. The book, which is told from a girl¿s point of view, starts with the two main characters. Patrick is a helping brother and interested in the project. On the other hand Julia is a person who comes from a Korean family and is not very interested in the project in the beginning, but towards the end of the story finds out that the silkworm project might be fun. The story starts with Patrick and Julia joining a club called the wiggle club in their hometown of Plainfield. They have to do a project of any kind, and they chose to it do on Animal Husbandry. In this story Patrick and the Julia ask their mom for an idea and she thinks that they might want to do it on silkworms. At first Julia doesn¿t want to do it, but then later in the book after going `undercover¿ she finds out that it might be a fun and interesting experience. She finds out about some Korean heritage and makes a new friend who surprisingly is an old man. As the story progresses Julia and Patrick work harder and harder to win at the state fair. My favorite part of this story was in between the chapters. I really enjoyed this part because the author and Julia have conversations about what will happen in the story next. In one part it says Me (Julia): Do you know what is going to happen in the story? Do you already know the ending? Ms. Park: I have an idea of how I want the story to go, but nothing definite yet. Really just you and Patrick and the Wiggle project-that¿s all I¿ve got so far. It¿s like two books in one! I would really recommend this book to anyone because it is a book that in my opinion fulfills all enjoyment levels of reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2007

    A reviewer

    This book was great. I thought it showed great teawork. My class and I thought it was great. It showed vivid thoughts and ideas that julia had, and I thought that was the best part.I was happy that they used my name,Julia. My class went wild when they saw that.This was a great book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2006

    Project Mulberry- summary from Jennifer Kang

    Character Growth Jen-Jen Project Mulberry by Linda Sue Park is a story about a 7th grade girl and her friend, Patrick raising silkworms and using the result of the silk to do embroidery to win the blue ribbon in the state fair. Julia Song is a well-developed character that grows beyond her personal limitations to understand herself, her mother, little brother, and friend. She thinks the idea of raising silkworms is too Korean¡¦¡¦¡¦ while other students are doing cool ¡°American¡± projects unlike her. Patrick thinks the project is the best idea, but she keeps it to herself to make Patrick happy and her family proud. She feels that this project isn¡¯t the right project so she is determined to find a way to stop from doing this project. Mulberry leaves are the only food that silkworms eats and there isn¡¯t anybody who has a Mulberry Tree but Mr. Dixon, an elderly African-American who kindly offers the leaves from his mulberry tree for their project. But her mom doesn¡¯t like Black people. It¡¯s interesting to read about an experience with a world that in many ways is not Black and White. She feels cautious about the worms being dead from her brother¡¯s goofing (so she yells at her brother many times), scared that her mom is a racist, thinking that this project won¡¯t work out right so she want to get rid of these creatures, and sure that she won¡¯t be in the state fair. At the end of the story, her feelings changed. To extract the silk from the worms, they had to be killed. Julia feels these silkworms as her pets so it was a hard time to be separated from the worms in order to make her embroidery but she went through it bravely. Patrick and Julia negotiate the ups and downs of their friendship, and Julia begins to show a change in attitude toward her younger brother. This book show the times that serious issues can be changed of a attitude of warmth, respect and a good deal of humor!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2