BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Project Mulberry

Average Rating 4
( 42 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(26)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

GREAT FOR MOTHER /DAUGHTER BOOK GROUPS!

Lots of wonderful lessons to be learned and discussed!

posted by 2035330 on October 10, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Awesome

This book was fairly good but i wouldnt reccoment it. It was okay

posted by Anonymous on July 10, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 43 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 3
  • Posted June 1, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Sweet Book

    This is a book about friendship and on loving your heritage. This has three thumbs up. Please read this book!!! :D

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2007

    Project Mulberry

    Project Mulberry is a great 222 page book by Linda Sue Park. The book, which is told from a girl¿s point of view, starts with the two main characters. Patrick is a helping brother and interested in the project. On the other hand Julia is a person who comes from a Korean family and is not very interested in the project in the beginning, but towards the end of the story finds out that the silkworm project might be fun. The story starts with Patrick and Julia joining a club called the wiggle club in their hometown of Plainfield. They have to do a project of any kind, and they chose to it do on Animal Husbandry. In this story Patrick and the Julia ask their mom for an idea and she thinks that they might want to do it on silkworms. At first Julia doesn¿t want to do it, but then later in the book after going `undercover¿ she finds out that it might be a fun and interesting experience. She finds out about some Korean heritage and makes a new friend who surprisingly is an old man. As the story progresses Julia and Patrick work harder and harder to win at the state fair. My favorite part of this story was in between the chapters. I really enjoyed this part because the author and Julia have conversations about what will happen in the story next. In one part it says Me (Julia): Do you know what is going to happen in the story? Do you already know the ending? Ms. Park: I have an idea of how I want the story to go, but nothing definite yet. Really just you and Patrick and the Wiggle project-that¿s all I¿ve got so far. It¿s like two books in one! I would really recommend this book to anyone because it is a book that in my opinion fulfills all enjoyment levels of reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2007

    A reviewer

    I would like to recommend this book Project Mulberry by: Linda Sue Park. The genre is realistic fiction. The setting takes place in Plainfield. This book tells the story of Julia Song and her friend Patrick and how they start Project Mulberry. Julia is Korean and has long black hair with brown eyes. Patrick has brown hair, a few freckles, and a gap between his teeth. Julia and Patrick are best friends and they always work together. Julia¿s mom comes up with an idea for them, raising silkworms. Patrick is so excited about this, but Julia isn¿t at all excited about it. Patrick finally persuades her into it. They realize raising silkworms isn¿t as easy as it looks. One of my favorite scenes was when Julia gets a call from a man named Mr. Dixon who has some exciting news for her and Patrick. He has a mulberry tree for them! They¿re both so happy! However, Julia¿s still having second thoughts about the project. I chose this part because I think it¿s a very important part and it is the rising action of the story. I also remember this part most out of the whole story. This part of the story has a lot of description and it was very interesting because you find out something about Julia¿s mom that you didn¿t know before. This book really showed me what it would have been like to raise silkworms. I really like how the author put in details between the chapters on how she wrote the book and what she decided to put in, or what to take out. I also really like how the author didn¿t just focus the story on Julia and Patrick, she added details about Julia¿s mom, brother, and dad. This book was a fun read and you were always waiting for the next part. I would recommend this book to anyone who likes realistic fiction.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2007

    A reviewer

    This book was great. I thought it showed great teawork. My class and I thought it was great. It showed vivid thoughts and ideas that julia had, and I thought that was the best part.I was happy that they used my name,Julia. My class went wild when they saw that.This was a great book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2006

    Project Mulberry- summary from Jennifer Kang

    Character Growth Jen-Jen Project Mulberry by Linda Sue Park is a story about a 7th grade girl and her friend, Patrick raising silkworms and using the result of the silk to do embroidery to win the blue ribbon in the state fair. Julia Song is a well-developed character that grows beyond her personal limitations to understand herself, her mother, little brother, and friend. She thinks the idea of raising silkworms is too Korean¡¦¡¦¡¦ while other students are doing cool ¡°American¡± projects unlike her. Patrick thinks the project is the best idea, but she keeps it to herself to make Patrick happy and her family proud. She feels that this project isn¡¯t the right project so she is determined to find a way to stop from doing this project. Mulberry leaves are the only food that silkworms eats and there isn¡¯t anybody who has a Mulberry Tree but Mr. Dixon, an elderly African-American who kindly offers the leaves from his mulberry tree for their project. But her mom doesn¡¯t like Black people. It¡¯s interesting to read about an experience with a world that in many ways is not Black and White. She feels cautious about the worms being dead from her brother¡¯s goofing (so she yells at her brother many times), scared that her mom is a racist, thinking that this project won¡¯t work out right so she want to get rid of these creatures, and sure that she won¡¯t be in the state fair. At the end of the story, her feelings changed. To extract the silk from the worms, they had to be killed. Julia feels these silkworms as her pets so it was a hard time to be separated from the worms in order to make her embroidery but she went through it bravely. Patrick and Julia negotiate the ups and downs of their friendship, and Julia begins to show a change in attitude toward her younger brother. This book show the times that serious issues can be changed of a attitude of warmth, respect and a good deal of humor!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2006

    Need a good book look no further

    Where does silk come from? If you don¿t know, why don¿t you ask Julia, a character in this book? Julia¿s friend Patrick really wants to make silk from silkworms for a club project. But Julia thinks that idea is too Korean. She finds her own way to make it more American but has some difficulties along the way. I really enjoyed this book and had a difficult time stopping every time I picked it up. My favorite part was when they meet a really cool neighbor, but don¿t worry I won¿t give away the surprise. I would recommend this book to anyone because I don¿t know anybody who has read it and didn¿t like it. If you enjoy this book you would really like ¿Are you there God it¿s me Margaret?¿ By: Judy Blume. ~ Sarah

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2005

    Your Mission: Read This Book!

    This was the first Linda Sue Park book I've read, and it was exceptional! It was so interesting I couldn't put it down, and I really learned a lot while reading this book. I totally understood Julia. She fights with her best friend, she fights with her little brother, she thinks her mom is racist...all the while she is supposed to focus on raising silkworms for this WIGGLE project. How will it all turn out?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 43 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 3