Customer Reviews for

Prokofiev: Cinderella Suite / Ravel: La Mère l'Oye

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star


4 Star


3 Star


2 Star


1 Star


Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation


  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Argerich and Pletnev Play Prokofiev and Ravel: Splendid Results!

    That Martha Argerich and Mikail Pletnev are two of our finest pianists today goes without saying. When they play together, the result is magic. Few pianists can perform works for two pianos or one piano four hands with the kind of graceful aplomb and energy as these two - and make it sound like an afternoon soirée in their studio! Mikhail Pletnev created this two piano transcription of movements from Prokofiev's ballet "Cinderella" and wisely elected to reference Prokofiev's own keyboard transcription as well as the orchestral score. The resulting work, dedicated to his friend Martha Argerich, is a witty, dreamy, multicolored pianistic synopsis of the ballet. Pletnev and Argerich perform with their usual panache and the keyboard has never sounded so rich! In addition to this important Prokofiev two piano transcription the two artists join in Ravel's keyboard version of ' Ma mère l'oye' and they move into the world of Ravel with the same respect as for the Prokofiev. There are nuances here that at times are covered by Ravel's own brilliant orchestration and spending time with this delightful score is sure to enhance the listener's respect for the concert hall orchestral 'Ma mère l'oye'. Recommended without reservation. Grady Harp

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1