Customer Reviews for

Prom

Average Rating 4
( 170 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(101)

4 Star

(27)

3 Star

(22)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Real life sucks, might as well deal...

I am an avid reader and I believe I am qualified to give a helpful review. Prom was artfully written, dealing with real life issues in a slightly sarcastic but humorous way. Anderson is brilliant when it comes to teenage sentiments although all her characters seem to be...
I am an avid reader and I believe I am qualified to give a helpful review. Prom was artfully written, dealing with real life issues in a slightly sarcastic but humorous way. Anderson is brilliant when it comes to teenage sentiments although all her characters seem to be much the same. I believe her books are meant to be funny and insightful, but if you are looking for John Updike material this isn't it. For those reviewers who have accused this book of being immoral and trashy, please take a look around. Anderson describes real life. Teenagers have sex, drink, and curse all the time, so please do not be ignorant to the times.

posted by Anonymous on April 11, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Prom review

I read the first 3 chapters and found it surprisingly racist. Unless you enjoy reading offending books about your race, dont even click buy now.

posted by EmmaChampion on February 11, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 171 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2007

    Real life sucks, might as well deal...

    I am an avid reader and I believe I am qualified to give a helpful review. Prom was artfully written, dealing with real life issues in a slightly sarcastic but humorous way. Anderson is brilliant when it comes to teenage sentiments although all her characters seem to be much the same. I believe her books are meant to be funny and insightful, but if you are looking for John Updike material this isn't it. For those reviewers who have accused this book of being immoral and trashy, please take a look around. Anderson describes real life. Teenagers have sex, drink, and curse all the time, so please do not be ignorant to the times.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2011

    Prom , Awesome story

    I thought Prom was very... what's the word? AWESOME!!! It was adventeros and very lauring. It's anything i would want in a book. Whenever i would take a break i would hear the book calling me!!!! Very very interesting!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!1

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 17, 2009

    prom

    the book prom that i read was a pretty good book. it got kinda boring in some parts like there where to many details. but it was a really cute story. i would give this book a four star.the tone of the book mixed emotions it could be happy or sometimes the charecter got upset with each other. also this book is like things that happen in your everyday high school so like it was cool that i could relate to some of it like prom. or and kind of dances. i would suggest it to any girl that wants to read a cute book.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2011

    Sort of boring

    This book jumped into the exciting part really quickly. However, I didnt find it grabbing me into the story like other books. It was a cute story. But I feel like it's an average book.
    I recommend it for people who just wants to read.
    This is definitely a beach book.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2011

    Breathtaking book!

    I have this book and it is definitly one of my favorite books. I love the humor that was inc. In this book. This is a must read

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 5, 2011

    worth the money!!!!!!

    I've already read this book 11 times!!!! It's definitely a must have!!!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 15, 2010

    I like it.

    I read this book because a bunch of people suggested it, and I actually really liked it. I could relate to the main character, Ashley. She was a regular teen that was just trying to help everyone out, and somehow got sucked into the huge prom mess. Her and her best friend are complete opposites, but somehow still got along even with her crazy grandmother and all the prom stuff, which I thought was cool because in any other book they would have had a huge fight and that would be the whole plot. It seemed like the author really took a lot of thought into every word in that book,and it really came together to make sense, not just a story line that goes all over the place. She numbered her points she was trying to make, and kept it up through the whole book. It helped you to get the gist of the section. They had family issues, boy trobules, school drama, and everything in life. It was like you were there watching everything take place. It was an overall good book, and I would recommend it to high/middle school girls.
    -Bethany

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2012

    Pr The hunger gqme Y The hunger games

    I really dont like thiss book at all or the movie

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2011

    Okay

    I liked the story line, but the Ashley (the main charactor) did not live up to my standards. She cared more about her boyfriend and chessy, lowpaying job then she did school. The was swearing in almost every sentence. I think you would have to be at least 15 before you read this book.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2012

    Mihiru

    Hmmm theres like noone here

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2012

    Domino

    Sighs

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 29, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Pretty good

    Yes this a gritty book, but its more like Jersey Shore goes to the Prom to me. The characters are all inner-city tough people. Senior Ashley just wants to survive her senior year, graduate, and move the heck out of her house and be with her older boyfriend, TJ. But things start to change and she is thrown into trying to save Prom and along the way she learns a few things. Its fun for a beach or pool read, and yeah there is drinking and sex and all the usual senior issues, but look past it and you will enjoy this book a lot!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Prom- Laurie Halse Anderson

    Prom was a great book! It had a happy ending, although it could've ended differently. I loved the way Laurie portrayed Ashley's character. From the beginning of the book to the end, Ashley went through a drastic change. She built up her character and became the woman that can move on with her life. And she owes it all to the Prom.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2008

    All right........

    This novel was about a slacker-teen, Ashley, who gets roped into organizing the prom by her best friend,when the prom advisor stole the money. This book was refreshing with Ashley's upfront take on life. In some ways it was oddly funny with the eccentric Russian grandma and Ashley's wack-job family. It had a happy ending, but not in the traditional prom night way. At times the plot just kinda seemed to fall through and drag on. Overall, it was decent, but be warned that some readers might find some parts unmodest, as pointed out by other reviewers.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2007

    Terrible

    Prom is a terrible story about a trashy teen who has bogus priorities in life. With a screwed up plot (math teacher steals money for prom, they must re-raise the money for prom) her outcast friend Nat overreacts the entire time about the loss. Her parents are low class adults who don't enforce a curfew or no alcohol (when all of their children are underage). Ashley has a worthless boyfriend, TJ who has big plans for them to be together, but it falls out in the end. This story is redundant and it was a complete waste of my time. If I could rate it less, I would.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2006

    I found this book to be MORALLY bankrupt! Shocking!

    This book promotes everything that parents and teachers DO NOT want their teenagers to do!! The 'heroine' of the novel disputes authority, sleeps with her boyfriend, gets drunk, stays out late on a school nights wandering around downtown, and then passes out condoms to everyone at her high school prom. The cover photo would have one believe it is a sweet, off-beat prom story when it really isn't. This is NOT a book I'd recommend for anyone let alone middle school students. Some examples of this books disturbing content are: When Ashley's boyfriend gives her a cell phone, they take off their clothes and go to bed to celebrate, and at the prom, a couple engages in oral sex behind the bleachers. I was shocked to find these things in a book recommended for our youth. This is not the type of morality and behavior I want to instill my children. I am so sorry I bought it! Truly a waste of good money.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2014

    Anonymous on May 24, 2014

    I only read the demo,but I think its great!!!!!!!!!!!The charecters are so diffrent from one to another.If you think this book is alwful, then theirs somthing wrong with you! I read books
    for a living, and I know a good book when I see one. =)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2014

    Nami

    "Alright." <p>
    She goes home with Clid.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2014

    Gabrielle walker

    Anyone wanna chat and talk dirty

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2014

    Dj requests here

    Thanks

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 171 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9