BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Prom

Average Rating 4
( 170 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(101)

4 Star

(27)

3 Star

(22)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Real life sucks, might as well deal...

I am an avid reader and I believe I am qualified to give a helpful review. Prom was artfully written, dealing with real life issues in a slightly sarcastic but humorous way. Anderson is brilliant when it comes to teenage sentiments although all her characters seem to be...
I am an avid reader and I believe I am qualified to give a helpful review. Prom was artfully written, dealing with real life issues in a slightly sarcastic but humorous way. Anderson is brilliant when it comes to teenage sentiments although all her characters seem to be much the same. I believe her books are meant to be funny and insightful, but if you are looking for John Updike material this isn't it. For those reviewers who have accused this book of being immoral and trashy, please take a look around. Anderson describes real life. Teenagers have sex, drink, and curse all the time, so please do not be ignorant to the times.

posted by Anonymous on April 11, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Prom review

I read the first 3 chapters and found it surprisingly racist. Unless you enjoy reading offending books about your race, dont even click buy now.

posted by EmmaChampion on February 11, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted May 9, 2011

    Sort of boring

    This book jumped into the exciting part really quickly. However, I didnt find it grabbing me into the story like other books. It was a cute story. But I feel like it's an average book.
    I recommend it for people who just wants to read.
    This is definitely a beach book.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2012

    Mihiru

    Hmmm theres like noone here

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2008

    All right........

    This novel was about a slacker-teen, Ashley, who gets roped into organizing the prom by her best friend,when the prom advisor stole the money. This book was refreshing with Ashley's upfront take on life. In some ways it was oddly funny with the eccentric Russian grandma and Ashley's wack-job family. It had a happy ending, but not in the traditional prom night way. At times the plot just kinda seemed to fall through and drag on. Overall, it was decent, but be warned that some readers might find some parts unmodest, as pointed out by other reviewers.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2013

    STOP

    First, can people stop writing messages to other people and actually write reviews because people reading the reviews want to actual know the book is like if they are interested not "hi wanna chat".
    Second, I thought that this was a pretty good book but i might have done a few things differently if i was th main character.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 25, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A prom-goer that would make Veronica Mars proud!

    When a greedy faculty advisor ruins all hopes for a senior prom of epic proportions, Ashley could give a damn. In fact, she could give 2¢ about the final weeks of senior year. Who cares about making up all the missed detentions in order to attend the senior activities? Not Ashley. If only she wasn't best friends with the Prom Committee chair who strongarms Ashley to helping to save prom. If only her mother and aunts hadn't found out about it and insisted on taking Ashley on a shopping spree for THE perfect prom dress. If only Ashley could continue to NOT care about savoring her final senior moments.

    Let me make this clear first and foremost, Prom is not speak - nor has it been adapated to the Disney movie Prom - nor is it frothy like a bubble bath. If you can picture Ashley as Veronica Mars and the best friend as Meg, then you pretty much have a clear idea of how Prom goes. Ashley likes to run on the delinquent side and kissing the wrong type of boys, but secretly she has a marshmallow for a heart. I loved watching Ashley come to realize that her parents are not the enemies or annoyances - but rather quite charming in their quirky ways. Prom is not the book to read if you are looking for light and carefree, but it is more if you are looking for color-outside-the-lines girl who discovers that sometimes the rules can be fun to follow.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2008

    Friends, Family, and Prom

    Ashley Hannigan isn¿t going to prom, well, at least she wasn¿t planning on going. Then Miss Crane, a teacher and advisor of the prom committee, stole all of the prom money. Carceras High School was sure that they wouldn¿t be having their prom this year. However, Natalia, Ashley¿s best friend, is going to do everything possible that she can to still have prom, even if it includes making Ashley help her arrange it and a few other changes to the whole prom. When prom is finally set, completely planned, and when Ashley even has a dress for it, there are a couple of unfortunate events. Luckily, her jaunty family and awesome friends are there to back her up. By the end of the book, Ashley finds out what is most important to her in life. I thought the book Prom, by Laurie Halse Anderson, was a good book. I liked how the book picked up very rapidly, so it made it an enjoyable read. Prom is a decent book, but it is not one of the preeminent books I have read. Prom is not a prequel, sequel, or part of a series. I would definitely recommend this book to teenage girls in Jr. High and high school. They would like it most because high school girls go to prom and the book is about prom. I would not advise that boys read this book because I don¿t think they would enjoy it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2007

    Not bad, great if about to go to prom

    I thought 'Prom' by Laurie Halse Anderson wasn't that bad of a book. I liked the parts with the prom planning and all the details. When I go to high school and get to go to prom I hope it is a wonderful fairy tale. I also would like to be on the prom committee like Nat. I just love to plan events!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2007

    Overall, I really enjoyed this book.

    This book is about a girl that is dragged into helping plan another prom when the prom money is stolen. I believe that some of the problems that the main character, Ashley Hannigan, has are some of the problems that most high school teenage girls have. This book shows girls that we don't have to put up with guys that make us feel cheap, which is a lesson that many girls in America still need to learn. Ashley is a girl that can make anyone feel like they relate to. The part of this book that I liked the most was the characters. They were so alive and crazy. They made everything their little adventure. My favorite character was the eccentric grandma from next door that could only speak Russian. Whenever she'd get mad she's spit on the floor!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2007

    The Time of our Senior Prom

    Eighteen year old Ashley Hannigan is a senior at a Philadelphia High School. Her best friend Natalia was looking forward to their prom. Miss Crane, one of the school teachers, stole the money for their prom, and they had to cancel the prom. Ashley never got into school activities until their prom was cancelled, then she joined the prom committee. They decided to have a prom, but they would have to raise the money their selves. They ended up getting enough money for their prom, and had gotten to have it. Ashley wasn¿t able to go to the prom since she had too many detentions to makeup, but she ended up sneaking in. Everyone had a great time at their dance and they were pretty happy. The thing that I really liked about this book was that it was really interesting in some parts of the book. I also liked how it would keep making me want to read more at some points of the book. What I didn¿t really like about this book was that at parts it would get boring. Also there were some parts in the book that I didn¿t understand that well. This book is not in a series, so anyone could read it at any time. This book reminds me of a show that I sometimes watch on television. It reminds me of ¿Gilmore Girls¿, one of their episodes that Rory has her prom. I think that any girl who is into girly kinds of books would like this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2006

    the book to read

    i think this book is very entertaining book. For example its funny and its not boring

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2006

    Prom

    Prom is a great book for all girls in highschool. Most people can probably relate to the main characters school life, and maybe even her personal life. The story humorous and an easy read, I think many girls will enjoy reading this book, like I did.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2005

    Let me tell you about this book.

    Ashley, who wants nothing to do with the prom, helps her friend prepare for it after their teacher steals the prom money from the school. Ashley pulls it all together in the end after many diversions almost stop the prom from happening. After it all comes together it makes Ashley realize some things she could learn from her experience, and chages some things in her own life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2005

    Great!

    This book was great! The only thing is that it swore alot. I wouldn't recamend this book if you are not use to swearing. Im so glad about the ending thouh. You should read it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2