Customer Reviews for

Prom

Average Rating 4
( 169 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(100)

4 Star

(27)

3 Star

(22)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Real life sucks, might as well deal...

I am an avid reader and I believe I am qualified to give a helpful review. Prom was artfully written, dealing with real life issues in a slightly sarcastic but humorous way. Anderson is brilliant when it comes to teenage sentiments although all her characters seem to be...
I am an avid reader and I believe I am qualified to give a helpful review. Prom was artfully written, dealing with real life issues in a slightly sarcastic but humorous way. Anderson is brilliant when it comes to teenage sentiments although all her characters seem to be much the same. I believe her books are meant to be funny and insightful, but if you are looking for John Updike material this isn't it. For those reviewers who have accused this book of being immoral and trashy, please take a look around. Anderson describes real life. Teenagers have sex, drink, and curse all the time, so please do not be ignorant to the times.

posted by Anonymous on April 11, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Prom review

I read the first 3 chapters and found it surprisingly racist. Unless you enjoy reading offending books about your race, dont even click buy now.

posted by EmmaChampion on February 11, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2007

    Real life sucks, might as well deal...

    I am an avid reader and I believe I am qualified to give a helpful review. Prom was artfully written, dealing with real life issues in a slightly sarcastic but humorous way. Anderson is brilliant when it comes to teenage sentiments although all her characters seem to be much the same. I believe her books are meant to be funny and insightful, but if you are looking for John Updike material this isn't it. For those reviewers who have accused this book of being immoral and trashy, please take a look around. Anderson describes real life. Teenagers have sex, drink, and curse all the time, so please do not be ignorant to the times.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 29, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Pretty good

    Yes this a gritty book, but its more like Jersey Shore goes to the Prom to me. The characters are all inner-city tough people. Senior Ashley just wants to survive her senior year, graduate, and move the heck out of her house and be with her older boyfriend, TJ. But things start to change and she is thrown into trying to save Prom and along the way she learns a few things. Its fun for a beach or pool read, and yeah there is drinking and sex and all the usual senior issues, but look past it and you will enjoy this book a lot!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Prom- Laurie Halse Anderson

    Prom was a great book! It had a happy ending, although it could've ended differently. I loved the way Laurie portrayed Ashley's character. From the beginning of the book to the end, Ashley went through a drastic change. She built up her character and became the woman that can move on with her life. And she owes it all to the Prom.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2012

    Really good.

    I didn't really like her boyfriend but anyway thus book was soo good!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2012

    Sab

    She is drunk and runs in circles lol XD

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 31, 2011

    Know what your buyin befor you buy!

    It was a good book. But i thought this book "Prom" was the Prom book Disney nade into a movie.... but its NOT! So dont get fooled like i did and wasred $8 or $10 on a book you didnt really wantt. So anlways read wht the book is about, befor you buy!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 5, 2011

    Prom Review:)

    I loved this book.I kind of read it on the side at home...but it REALLY was a very good book.I personally think its a book for TEENAGERS! I also agree that it does have some parts where it kinda 'leaves you hanging'but...overall, GREAT book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Witty

    The narrator of this novel, Ashley, is a self-proclaimed "normal" high school senior who has no desire to go to her prom. However, she gets roped into making the prom happen when her best friend and prom enthusiast, Nat, needs her help when a teacher steals the money. Ashley is an average kid with average problems, but her wit and insight, along with the eccentric cast, really make this book come through. Don't be fooled by the girly title and cover, this is a book you don't want to miss. I've read it twice now, and its just entertaining.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Prom by Laurie Halse Anderson

    This book was really good, It's been a while since I read it, but from what I remember, the characters, the story was very realistic. The only con about it was that it was too realistic, nothing that dramatic about the climax was just about a prom. Nothing really life-changing about it. But, overall even if the story line seemed to have no end, but it kept me reading, so it was worth it. I'd recommend it (:

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2007

    Prom

    The true Cinderella story about a real life 18-year-old high school teenager named Ashley is truly inspiring. How she changes into the one type of person she thought she would never want to be a person just like her best friend, Natalie. When you meet Ashley, she and her family live in a small house in Philadelphia with three younger brothers with another baby on the way. Ashley attends the local high school where it¿s just about time for prom! Unlike Natalie and the other girls at Carceras High, Ashley doesn¿t care about prom. She doesn¿t even want to go! So she is not as bummed about her math teacher stealing the prom committee¿s money. Yes, Ashley¿s math teacher steals the prom money! In the eyes of the prom committee, that means no prom, but to Ashley it has a whole different meaning. When Ashley¿s best friend Nat needs Ashley¿s help to get back on track again, Ashley¿s involvement truly transforms her life. This fiction book written by Laurie Halse Anderson is mostly for ages 14 and up. Will Ashley ever make it to prom? I recommend this book to girls mostly in their teenage years and hope that they feel the same way I did, encouraged. Encouraged to go out and make something of my life just the way Ashley did in the book Prom by Laurie Halse Anderson. Over all I give this book four shinning stars! :'

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2007

    Prom

    Ashley Hannigan is and average 18-year-old living in Philadelphia just trying to live through senior year and graduation. Although all the other girls have been planning for prom since they were freshman and are trilled that it is just around the corner, Ashley wants nothing to do with it. With prom rapidly approaching, it¿s all that can be heard buzzing through the halls of Carceras High, but then something goes wrong. All the money set aside for prom is gone and the students are left scrambling for ideas to start from scratch and pull it off in only a few days. Ashley is soon torn between helping her best friend, Nat, head of the prom committee, plan the ¿stupid dance¿ in time, or staying clear of prom altogether like she planned, letting all the other girls¿ dreams of a perfect night where all worries are forgotten die forever. Laurie Halse Anderson did an excellent job writing this book in the perspective of a typical high school student living in Pennsylvania. I really liked the fact that this book was easy for the average teenager to relate to without having to be rich and famous like in some other books. It quickly caught my interest because of the fast-paced plot that is strongly developed along the way. I would recommend this book to girls, especially around the ages of 13-18 years. Anyone who enjoyed Just Listen by Sarah Dessen will also enjoy Prom because of the high level of reality that is expressed in both plots. Overall, this book deserves four stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2007

    Would you like your prom like this?

    I love this book because Ashley Hannigan, one of the main characters, helped her friend Nat and the committees get the prom back after the horrible tragedy. I love how the author reaches the teenagers that are reading this book. She is trying to tell people that you can do anything you want if put your mind to it. In the book Prom, Ashley is just a regular girl that just doesn¿t want to go to the prom, but helps her friend anyway. But the only thing is that Ashley may not be able to go to the prom because she has too many detentions, even though she has worked so hard on the prom. At one point, Nat went home to check on her grandmother. Nat¿s grandmother should be in a home but she isn¿t and there was no one to watch her, but when she went home she fell down the stairs and broke her leg. Therefore, Ashley ends up taking care of everything after that for the prom. Will Ashley, the prom queen organizer, be able to go to the prom or will the ice principal cancel the whole thing? Anderson reaches teenagers by having Ashley go to the committee meeting. Where Ashley raises her hand and she the gives advice that they should have the prom in their own gym it wouldn¿t be like what they were going to have but it would be a dance and that gets her hooked in with helping with the prom. This makes me want to go to a meeting or join a group to help not just other students in the group but the whole school sometimes. Even if I don¿t want to join this group but my friend is begging me to join I would most likely join to help her out just because I¿m a good friend just like Ashley.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2006

    Prom - A Very Good Book

    I loved this book It taught a couple of lessons that teenagers could really pay attention to and relate to. Overall, i thought that i did a good job picking out this book because i really enjoyed it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2006

    It rocks!

    I love teen girl books. This is definately on my 'favorites shelf.' Also check out Meg Cabot's books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2006

    Very Good Book

    I enjoyed this book very much and it was so much fun to read. Ashley is just your average American girl and her family isn't rich or anything. They are the typical disfunctional family. It is a very down-to-earth read. I would recommend it to all girls ages 13-up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2006

    Prom Rocks!!!

    Prom was a book that I heard about from a friend. It was good, but slow and a little confusing in the beginning. By the middle, it picked up and became a really good page-turner. If you have begun to read this book, don't put it down yet, it gets a lot better!!! It was fun to read about Ash's life! : )

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2