Customer Reviews for

Prom Nights from Hell

Average Rating 4
( 145 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(69)

4 Star

(42)

3 Star

(25)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted April 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Fun Book Of Short Stories

    I had no idea that Stephenie Meyer had anything besides Twilight Saga and The Host published. And I just happened to come accross this book looking at a 3rd party website. So of course I had to run out and get it. I admit I didn't read it in order of the stories. I read Stephenie Meyers story first. It is what made me buy the book after all. I loved her story. Some of the others I didn't care for so much. But I love short story books and this is deffinitely a good one. It's worth owning it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This was pretty good. A bunch of stories about prom going wrong

    This was pretty good. A bunch of stories about prom going wrong by different authors. Some you'll probably recognize or heard of.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2009

    I TOTALLY LOVED THIS BOOK

    This book was really awesome, but the second story was really freaky! I loved it though (see title). I rcommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Good enough to read once

    Some great stories. I got it b/c I love Stephenie Meyer but I was kinda disappointed with her story. There were some good ones in here and I would definitely recommend this, but nothing will ever be as good as a finished story!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 19, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Cute Clever Intriguing

    cute, clever, intriguing and sweet vampire and otherworldly short stories including one by Stephenie Meyer and one by Meg Cabot!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2008

    A Collection of the Best.....

    All five bestselling authors of young adult books were able to express a portion of their strength of writing in Prom Nights from Hell, by Meg Cabot, Kim Harrison, Michele Jaffe, Lauren Myracle, and Stephenie Meyer. This book consists of five fictional short stories about a mixture of frightening and romantic experiences before, during and after a prom. In the first story of the collection, Meg Cabot begins with ¡°The Exterminator¡¯s Daughter¡± which is about Mary who is determined to kill Sebastian Drake and his father who are both vampires of the Dracula family. When Adam, her classmate from Saint Eligius, comes, also to ¡°kill¡± Sebastian by means of squirting ketchup from a water gun, they work together, on a mission to exterminate the vampires. Like Meg Cabot¡¯s previous pieces of writing, she is always able to show what the characters are thinking throughout the story. Through dialogue and various movements of the characters described by Meg Cabot, I, as the reader, was able to fully understand the emotions the characters, such as Lila, Mary and Adam, felt. In the second story, ¡°The Corsage¡±, by Lauren Myracle, three friends named Frankie, Will and Yun Sun visit Madame Zanzibar, a fortune-teller as Frankie hopes that with Madame Zanzibar¡¯s readings, Will will be convinced to ask her to the prom. Instead of doing as Frankie hoped for, Frankie begs for Madame Z to give her the old corsage sitting on her shelf, which will enable her three wishes. As she finally uses her corsage to fulfill her wishes, things that Frankie wished to happen will happen in a deadly and unexpected way. Lauren Myracle writes in a different style than she usually does in this short story. In this depressing prom story, she gives her writing a new twist by writing more descriptively and by adding more suspense in her writing. The only negative part about this story is that the idea of her story is almost the exact same one as from ¡°The Monkey Paw¡± by W.W. Jacobs by changing the name of the characters, and the setting of the story, these two stories were overall the same, plot-wise. Lauren Myracle could¡¯ve showed exceptional depth in this piece of her writing if she hadn¡¯t copied the idea of ¡°The Monkey Paw¡± by W.W. Jacobs. Kim Harrison writes ¡°Madison Avery and the Dim Reaper¡± for this collection which is about Madison Avery going to her school costume prom with a boy named Josh, who she finds out to be going with her because his dad made him. Angered by this, she is about to leave when she meets Seth who is very different than anyone Madison has ever known, his beauty is memorizing and he seems to be flawless in all aspects of being a person. She finds out that this perfect guy that she meets will lead her to her death, where grim reapers, white reapers, black reapers and amulets that allows Madison to be able to see her dad once more, will be involved. Of all five stories, this one provides the reader with the longest story and the most details as Kim Harrison describes Seth, the perfect guy, and the situations that Madison ends up with after she leaves with Seth after the prom. Overall, she is able to describe the characters, settings, and include tension very successfully. Even though I have never read any of Kim Harrison¡¯s pieces of writing before, this mere short story is able to show that she is an author that will interest me with her writing style. ¡°Kiss and Tell¡± written by Michele Jaffe was my favorite of all the stories in this collection. This short story is about a student, Miranda, who works as a part time driver realizes she has ¡°special powers¡± that enables to see, feel and hear things that regular humans can¡¯t as she uses these ¡°powers¡± to defeat criminals in the world. When she meets Sibby Curnean, a passenger who enjoys kissing every guy she sees, she will use her ¡°powers¡± to save Sibby in different ways where they will both be risking their lives. One aspect of this story that made i

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2008

    Awesome

    I didn't finish it but so far i love it!!!! I was so interested in it because my all time favorite author Meg Cabot! I LOVE this book so far and i hope u enjoy it as much as i do!!! :'

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2008

    WOAH!

    What I've read of this book so far is outstanding. Any person with an obsession over vampires will be aching to finish this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2008

    COOLNESS!!!!!!!!

    Awesome! What really got me interested was the fact that Stephenie Meyer was one of the authors. The stories are all very interesting too. The sad part is that they end after a while when you're into the story. other than that, it's pretty cool. This book is one of those entertaining books that you won't forget. Definitely recommended!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2008

    Loved it... a bit too much

    Ok I really did like this book a lot, the only problem was that I would start to get into it and the story was awesome, it would end. No they don't leave you at a clifhanger, but you still want more! And there is no more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2007

    Entertaining

    I liked it. All of the stories were really clever and very inventive. I read it to keep me busy in between trick-or-treaters during Halloween. It was fun.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2007

    A reviewer

    Well, I enojyed the majority of the stories. I, also picked it because Stephenie Meyer (and Meg Cabot) was one of the authors. But, surprisingly, i liked every story,except one (since it was based off a story that our English class had to read in the beginning of the year and it kind of freked me out).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2007

    A reviewer

    Its an excellent book. I loved the corsage because it was a modern day Monkey's Paw. Stephanie Meyer s questionable ending was good. I did like Meg Cabot's story except I wish she would have used something besides vampires because Stephenie's Twilight series is about vampires. But it was still a good story. And the other authors did a good job as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2007

    Wow

    This looks promising and what a title to hook someone into what sounds like an awesome book and has two of my favorite authors, meg cabot and Stephenie meyer (currently reading the mediator series and almost finish with Twilight).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3