Customer Reviews for

Prom and Prejudice

Average Rating 4.5
( 192 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(116)

4 Star

(49)

3 Star

(18)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Prom and Prejudice

'Prom & Prejudice' was a sweet variation of a classic story. I thought that the whole idea of putting all the characters into high school was a neat idea. I liked how the book even had Colonel Fitzwilliam, Mary and Kitty in it - though they played a very minor role.
Li...
'Prom & Prejudice' was a sweet variation of a classic story. I thought that the whole idea of putting all the characters into high school was a neat idea. I liked how the book even had Colonel Fitzwilliam, Mary and Kitty in it - though they played a very minor role.
Lizzie Bennet is an only child of middle class parents. She has a music scholarship at Longbourn Academy. Longbourn is a girl bording school, where the elite send their daughters. Because Lizzie is a scholarship student, she is relentlessly bullied and has very few friends. Her only friends at school are Jane and Charlotte (the only other scholarship student in her class). Her music teacher, Mrs. Gardner, is the only other person, besides her friends, that she feels close to at school.
The highlight of the year is prom, usually the girls from Longbourn go with the boys from Pemberley (the school where the elite send their boys). Jane is hopeful that Charles Bingley will ask her to prom, but there are many setbacks, one being her sister Lydia. Lydia makes a fool of herself in front of everyone at a party and the video quickly goes online. Lydia is very vain, doesn't see what she did as embarassing and is in fact very pleased with all the attention she is getting.
Jane and Charles behave in almost the same way as they did in the original story, always thinking the best of everybody and only seeing the good in them. Lydia of course acts the same, if not even more reckless, than the character in Pride & Prejudice and Wick (George Wickham) seemed even more horrendous in this story.
The book also has the characters of Colin (Mr. Collins), Cat (Lady Catherine de Bourgh) and Georgiana Darcy. I thought that the spitefulness of Cat did a great job of channeling what Lady Catherine de Bourgh as a teenager would have been like. And Colin was such a bore, just as I would have pictured Mr. Collins as a teenager. Georgiana was as sweet in this story as she was in the original, but I thought that this book made her seem sickly at times - when I had always pictured her as just shy.
Of course no story based on Pride & Prejudice would be complete without Darcy, and in this book I thought that his character was the best written. Will Darcy has had his trust broken by Wick and because of it is very leary of new people. So when he meets Lizzy for the first time, he makes a horrible first impression and she thinks that he thinks that he is better than everybody else. But just like the original story, you will adore Darcy.
I really enjoyed reading 'Prom and Prejudice'! I hated to put this book down, but everytime I had to do so, as soon as I could, I picked it up to continue reading. If you, like me, can't get enough P&P fan fiction books, you should enjoy this book too. Or, if you are looking for a book that a teenager will love, I think this would be perfect. I totally recommend this book.

posted by -Megan- on October 9, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Val

Oh ok well umm i gtg so ill talk to u tomorrow bye

posted by Anonymous on March 5, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 197 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10
  • Posted October 9, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Prom and Prejudice

    'Prom & Prejudice' was a sweet variation of a classic story. I thought that the whole idea of putting all the characters into high school was a neat idea. I liked how the book even had Colonel Fitzwilliam, Mary and Kitty in it - though they played a very minor role.
    Lizzie Bennet is an only child of middle class parents. She has a music scholarship at Longbourn Academy. Longbourn is a girl bording school, where the elite send their daughters. Because Lizzie is a scholarship student, she is relentlessly bullied and has very few friends. Her only friends at school are Jane and Charlotte (the only other scholarship student in her class). Her music teacher, Mrs. Gardner, is the only other person, besides her friends, that she feels close to at school.
    The highlight of the year is prom, usually the girls from Longbourn go with the boys from Pemberley (the school where the elite send their boys). Jane is hopeful that Charles Bingley will ask her to prom, but there are many setbacks, one being her sister Lydia. Lydia makes a fool of herself in front of everyone at a party and the video quickly goes online. Lydia is very vain, doesn't see what she did as embarassing and is in fact very pleased with all the attention she is getting.
    Jane and Charles behave in almost the same way as they did in the original story, always thinking the best of everybody and only seeing the good in them. Lydia of course acts the same, if not even more reckless, than the character in Pride & Prejudice and Wick (George Wickham) seemed even more horrendous in this story.
    The book also has the characters of Colin (Mr. Collins), Cat (Lady Catherine de Bourgh) and Georgiana Darcy. I thought that the spitefulness of Cat did a great job of channeling what Lady Catherine de Bourgh as a teenager would have been like. And Colin was such a bore, just as I would have pictured Mr. Collins as a teenager. Georgiana was as sweet in this story as she was in the original, but I thought that this book made her seem sickly at times - when I had always pictured her as just shy.
    Of course no story based on Pride & Prejudice would be complete without Darcy, and in this book I thought that his character was the best written. Will Darcy has had his trust broken by Wick and because of it is very leary of new people. So when he meets Lizzy for the first time, he makes a horrible first impression and she thinks that he thinks that he is better than everybody else. But just like the original story, you will adore Darcy.
    I really enjoyed reading 'Prom and Prejudice'! I hated to put this book down, but everytime I had to do so, as soon as I could, I picked it up to continue reading. If you, like me, can't get enough P&P fan fiction books, you should enjoy this book too. Or, if you are looking for a book that a teenager will love, I think this would be perfect. I totally recommend this book.

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Cute Retelling of a Classic - Will Definitely Leave You With a Smile

    I was greatly looking forward to Elizabeth Eulberg's second novel after her lovely first novel the Lonely Hearts Club. Prom and Prejudice was exactly what I expected and wanted in Eulberg's retelling of Jane Austen's classic (and one of my favorite books) Pride and Prejudice.

    I love how Elizabeth Eulberg was able to adapt Pride and Prejudice without making it feel forced. Eulberg stayed very close to the original story, yet was still able to make the story uniquely her own. I loved the idea about prom being this huge, important event, because for many people and schools it is. Eulberg was able to transport Jane Austen's character and world into a 21st century high school.

    One of my favorite things about this book was how Eulberg kept the characters the same as the original, but they had their own, separate personalities from the original. Lizzie was smart, strong, intelligent and witty. Will Darcy was just as swoon worthy as the original Darcy. He might not have been as brooding but he was definitely still swoon worthy. I think my favorite updating of Austen's characters was Eulberg's equivalent of Mr. Collins. Eulberg's character named Collin, literally had me laughing out loud. He was just as awkward and annoying as the original Mr. Collins. I loved how he would drone on and on about pointless stuff.

    Elizabeth Eulberg was able to write a great adaptation of Pride and Prejudice, one with everything I wanted and expected. One thing I know for sure from Elizabeth Eulberg's writing is that she can never fail to make me smile or put me in a good mood. Both Lonely Hearts Club and Prom and Prejudice were able to do both and I expect anything else Elizabeht Eulberg will be just as wonderful as her previous two books.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2011

    Amazing!!!!

    I highly recomemd it!!! It was such a good book i couldnt put it down!!!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 4, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Fun, Modern Retelling of a Classic

    'Pride and Prejudice' has been retold many times. While I've read and enjoyed (or not enjoyed) several Austen spinoffs or retellings, what I really like about 'Prom and Prejudice' is its unique take on Elizabeth and Darcy for a modern, young-adult audience. Whereas many of Austen's characters are in a tizzy to get married, Eulberg has her teenage characters worried about who they're going to the prom with. Quite a good comparison to today's expectations of high-school girls. Not getting asked to prom is the equivalent of ending up a spinster in Austen's stories. Lizzie Bennet, from Hoboken, New Jersey, is a scholarship student at Longbourn Academy. Her only two friends are Jane and fellow scholarship student Charlotte. Lizzie's talent at the piano has earned her free tuition at the prestigious New York-based institution, but her fellow classmates never hesitate to remind her of her "charity case" status, constantly pranking and insulting her every chance they get. When Lizzie meets Will Darcy, a Pemberley Academy student and close friend of Jane's romantic interest Charles Bingley, she instantly feels contempt for him and his superior attitude. She wants nothing to do with him, but he continuously shows up at her workplace, the local Java Junction, to walk her back to her dorm. Lizzie finds what she thinks is a kindred spirit in George Wickham, aka 'Wick,' and Will is not too pleased by her new acquaintance. After a series of run-ins and heated arguments, Lizzie and Will come to understand and accept one another for who they are, not where they come from. I love young-adult fiction, and I love Jane Austen. What Eulberg does here is manage to blend the two into a teenage story about two characters whose misunderstandings eventually lead to genuine concern and mutual respect for one another. Even though I'd read 'Pride and Prejudice' multiple times and thought I knew where the plot was heading, I was still pleasantly surprised with certain twists and turns to the story. I really enjoyed this book and would love to read more just like it.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 3, 2011

    Highly Recommend-Great Love Story!

    Prom and Prejudice, by Elizabeth Eulburg, is a Contemporary Young Adult novel about love, discrimination, and inner beauty. Published on January 1st, 2011, this is a fairly new book and appeals to Twilight Fans. Elizabeth starts her first year at the prestigious Longbourn Academy, being taunted, bullied, and harrassed by the fellow students. Prom is coming up, and every girl at Longbourn is freaking out; getting really excited and planning every minute detail.

    This book affected me because I could really relate to Lizzy as she experienced loneliness and exile; I've definitely felt the way she felt. It's also fun to follow her through falling in and out of love throughout the the story. I recommend this book to other readers because if you have ever felt alone or not accepted, this book gives you hope as Lizzy finds where she belongs.

    Throughout the story, I think Elizabeth grows older, wiser, and open minded. She learns to accept things she thought she would never believe. Most of the characters in the book are likeable; however one of the characters, Darcy, seems to be created for the reader to dislike. I disliked him in the beginning of the book; but he changes as the story goes on. The author's attitude toward the characters is different for each of them. She descives them with adjectives taht have either a negative or positive connotation.

    I really liked this book; it definitely wasn't what I expected. I was really surprised by the ending. As the story went on, I found myself laughing, crying, and even squealing with excitement. I think that everyone that likes a good love story will love this book! The author does a great job at convincing you of one thing, then contradicting what she has convinced you of. Please read this! You won't regret it! :)

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2011

    books

    best book ever

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2011

    i love this book

    it is just like pride and prejudice but with its own little twist

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2011

    WOW!!!!!

    I read the sample and loved it! I will b buying the full version 4 sure!!!M

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 20, 2011

    Loved It!!!

    Prom and Prejudice was such a cute book I enjoyed the book. I read the book with ease and finshed it within a day. I definately will be re-reading this book in the future. This would be a book I would love to be made into some type of movie, the writing was well written and I could picture the story playing out in my head.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 19, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Light and fun, a great adaptation

    Longbourn Academy is an elite school for girls, composed of the most ultra-rich and uber-social young ladies in Connecticut. And what do these American royals view as the single most important event in their high school experience? Prom. The Longbourn prom is covered by several media outlets and the girls' couture gowns always adorn the pages of gossip columns and fashion magazines. But scholarship student Lizzie Bennet just doesn't see what all the fuss is about. She's happy that her friend Jane will be probably be going with her longterm crush Charles Bingley, but Charles' friend Will Darcy really gets on Lizzie's nerves. But we readers know that the names "Darcy" and "Bennet" go together like peanut butter and jelly (or tea and scones?), so a happy ending is 100% guaranteed.

    For me, the world in Prom & Prejudice is so far removed from my priorities and experiences, I almost had to approach it as a paranormal book. Not only is prom important in this world, it is as important as a wedding or a graduation-it is all-consuming, a cornerstone of the Longbourn high school society. Then the concept got me thinking; I adore all the old Jane Austen books that focus on social dynamics, where a dance or a dinner party can make or break a lady's entire future, and is a contemporary prom so very different? Well yes, in that a woman's livelihood in America doesn't depend only on her ability to secure an advantageous marriage, but it's very similar in the sense of young hopes and expectations. And overall, the book itself isn't that prom-obsessed, since Lizzie doesn't really care about it and she's the POV character.


    Since this is a high school update of Pride and Prejudice, there are are some mild variations in the characters. In this book, Lizzie is taunted and treated badly because of her status as a scholarship student. Elizabeth in the original was a gentleman's daughter, though not terribly well-off, but she basically laughed at anyone who looked down on her. Caroline Bingley sneers at her? Elizabeth's amused. Lady Catherine insults her? Elizabeth has a witty, but polite, quip. Here, Lizzie is slightly more affected by the opinions of others, but she's mostly very resilient. I loved trying to predict where the other P&P characters would show up, and I was usually pleasantly surprised. Instead of being Lizzie's sister, the angelic Jane is her roommate, and Lydia is Jane's thoughtless, brash younger sister. Charlotte is the other scholarship student in Lizzie's class, and Collin is a boring student from the Pemberly boys' academy who gives some detailed, rambling speeches to Lizzie that are every bit as hilarious as Mr. Collins' in the original.

    As in the first P&P, the main draw besides Lizzie's brilliance and her strong spirit is the character of Darcy. Will seems snobby, but he's still nicer to Lizzie than Darcy was to Elizabeth at the beginning. He makes several overtures toward starting conversations and showing his interest, and this works really well for a contemporary setting-the guy who frowns and stays far away from the heroine is usually not a compelling love interest anymore. We need to see a male character who engages the protagonist's attention in some positive way, and Will does that, though Lizzie misinterprets a lot of what she sees and hears.

    And Lizzie is such a winner. She's a middle-class girl who works at a coffee shop and plays piano religiously as part of her music scholarship. That seems like

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 6, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Jennifer Rummel for Teens Read Too

    Gold Star Award Winner! Lizzie hates her high school, Longbourn Academy. It's full of snobby girls who refuse to give her a chance because she doesn't come from their world. Lizzie's there on a musical scholarship. The other girls make her life miserable at every turn - all except Charlotte, the other scholarship student, and Jane, her roommate. During the second semester, everyone becomes obsessed with prom. The girls wear designer dresses and date only the best boys from Pemberley Academy. Jane hopes to go with Charles, who just returned from a semester abroad. Jane can't wait to see him. Soon, they're together all the time. Jane persuades Lizzie to hang out with them, even though she and Charles's best friend, Will, didn't get off on the right foot. When Lizzie meets Wick, and Lydia, Jane's younger sister, makes a spectacle of herself at an upperclassman party, Charles begins to pull away. Jane's devastated. Lizzie tries to console her, but she's involved in her own drama with Wick, Will Darcy, and the snotty girls who live to torment her. I'm a Jane Austen freak and I love prom novels, so I was super-excited to read this. I also loved THE LONELY HEARTS CLUB, Eulberg's debut novel. PROM & PREJUDICE was amazing. I devoured it as soon as it arrived. I LOVED the book. I loved the differences and the similarities between PRIDE & PREJUDICE. I loved Lizzie and Jane's relationship. I loved EVERYTHING. As soon as I finished reading, I gave a happy sigh of contentment. It was simply...magical!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2012

    Loved the book

    This book was so interesting it was so hard to put down

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2013

    Completely outstanding!!!!!!!!

    This is a must read I was so drawn to I cant put it down there definetly have to be a sequel to this ifeel like the ending was a cliffhanger. I'm telling if you consider reading this READ IT!!!!!!!IT IS AMAZING we should all write a letter to the author to make a sequel I feel like this story is too good to be true EVERY TEENAGER needs to read this. If in doubt read it. It is the best thing you can ever read

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2013

    Kittycat

    This book was so cute and romantic and i so recommend it to everyone!!^_^ &stars &alpha+&omega=&hearts

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2013

    A

    This book was so cute and sweet i loved this book i recomend it to everyone.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2013

    Alexx

    Idk

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2013

    Nadia

    Whats up(:

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2013

    ehh

    thought i was going to like it more than I did, it's a very fast read.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2012

    Best book ever!! I recommend this to all teens!!

    Best book ever!! I recommend this to all teens!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2012

    Wow

    I have to say that this has to be the besy book i have ever read. I was so sad when i read the last page,i didnt want this book to end. Im 13 and i thi k this is the best book ever and its a great story for girls my age.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 197 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10