Customer Reviews for

Prom and Prejudice

Average Rating 4.5
( 190 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(115)

4 Star

(49)

3 Star

(17)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Prom and Prejudice

'Prom & Prejudice' was a sweet variation of a classic story. I thought that the whole idea of putting all the characters into high school was a neat idea. I liked how the book even had Colonel Fitzwilliam, Mary and Kitty in it - though they played a very minor role.
Li...
'Prom & Prejudice' was a sweet variation of a classic story. I thought that the whole idea of putting all the characters into high school was a neat idea. I liked how the book even had Colonel Fitzwilliam, Mary and Kitty in it - though they played a very minor role.
Lizzie Bennet is an only child of middle class parents. She has a music scholarship at Longbourn Academy. Longbourn is a girl bording school, where the elite send their daughters. Because Lizzie is a scholarship student, she is relentlessly bullied and has very few friends. Her only friends at school are Jane and Charlotte (the only other scholarship student in her class). Her music teacher, Mrs. Gardner, is the only other person, besides her friends, that she feels close to at school.
The highlight of the year is prom, usually the girls from Longbourn go with the boys from Pemberley (the school where the elite send their boys). Jane is hopeful that Charles Bingley will ask her to prom, but there are many setbacks, one being her sister Lydia. Lydia makes a fool of herself in front of everyone at a party and the video quickly goes online. Lydia is very vain, doesn't see what she did as embarassing and is in fact very pleased with all the attention she is getting.
Jane and Charles behave in almost the same way as they did in the original story, always thinking the best of everybody and only seeing the good in them. Lydia of course acts the same, if not even more reckless, than the character in Pride & Prejudice and Wick (George Wickham) seemed even more horrendous in this story.
The book also has the characters of Colin (Mr. Collins), Cat (Lady Catherine de Bourgh) and Georgiana Darcy. I thought that the spitefulness of Cat did a great job of channeling what Lady Catherine de Bourgh as a teenager would have been like. And Colin was such a bore, just as I would have pictured Mr. Collins as a teenager. Georgiana was as sweet in this story as she was in the original, but I thought that this book made her seem sickly at times - when I had always pictured her as just shy.
Of course no story based on Pride & Prejudice would be complete without Darcy, and in this book I thought that his character was the best written. Will Darcy has had his trust broken by Wick and because of it is very leary of new people. So when he meets Lizzy for the first time, he makes a horrible first impression and she thinks that he thinks that he is better than everybody else. But just like the original story, you will adore Darcy.
I really enjoyed reading 'Prom and Prejudice'! I hated to put this book down, but everytime I had to do so, as soon as I could, I picked it up to continue reading. If you, like me, can't get enough P&P fan fiction books, you should enjoy this book too. Or, if you are looking for a book that a teenager will love, I think this would be perfect. I totally recommend this book.

posted by -Megan- on October 9, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Val

Oh ok well umm i gtg so ill talk to u tomorrow bye

posted by Anonymous on March 5, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 49 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted July 11, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Cute Retelling of a Classic - Will Definitely Leave You With a Smile

    I was greatly looking forward to Elizabeth Eulberg's second novel after her lovely first novel the Lonely Hearts Club. Prom and Prejudice was exactly what I expected and wanted in Eulberg's retelling of Jane Austen's classic (and one of my favorite books) Pride and Prejudice.

    I love how Elizabeth Eulberg was able to adapt Pride and Prejudice without making it feel forced. Eulberg stayed very close to the original story, yet was still able to make the story uniquely her own. I loved the idea about prom being this huge, important event, because for many people and schools it is. Eulberg was able to transport Jane Austen's character and world into a 21st century high school.

    One of my favorite things about this book was how Eulberg kept the characters the same as the original, but they had their own, separate personalities from the original. Lizzie was smart, strong, intelligent and witty. Will Darcy was just as swoon worthy as the original Darcy. He might not have been as brooding but he was definitely still swoon worthy. I think my favorite updating of Austen's characters was Eulberg's equivalent of Mr. Collins. Eulberg's character named Collin, literally had me laughing out loud. He was just as awkward and annoying as the original Mr. Collins. I loved how he would drone on and on about pointless stuff.

    Elizabeth Eulberg was able to write a great adaptation of Pride and Prejudice, one with everything I wanted and expected. One thing I know for sure from Elizabeth Eulberg's writing is that she can never fail to make me smile or put me in a good mood. Both Lonely Hearts Club and Prom and Prejudice were able to do both and I expect anything else Elizabeht Eulberg will be just as wonderful as her previous two books.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2011

    THE X-TRA : ) PROM ANDNPREDJIDICE REVIEW

    tjis book is amazing for teens who nt fit in. to make them feeel that they van gey any fuythat they want even if there not so rich. lizze isnt as rixh as rhe other hirls at school. she works when all ylthe other girls go and buy $400 worth of clothes every day. but when lizzes best friends boyfriend comes with an friend , darcy but instead they fight because darcy wantd to get away from scholorship students. which lizze is one. once she over heats darcy saying that can lizze everforgive him. it thrns out that darcy is madly in love with her while lizzie is madldly in love with his arych enemy. does darcy dtill have feelings? check me out on extra reviews on the hottest books and a littke.more info only on teen books though. my next review wikl be on the gaurdian of the gate the 2nd book and the first book prophecy of the sisters! lkve ya by. ... amd dont forget to check the reviews i go by the name of THE X-TRA

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2012

    Awesome

    It was a great book awesome plot line it was so sweet and sad but its a good book !!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2012

    One of the greatest books ever!

    This is a great book! I could not put it down! I must warn you though that there is a part at the end that deals with drugs but if you didn't have it the book would not end as it did! A exceedingly great book that you will find youself wrapped in till the very end!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    from missprint DOT wordpress DOT com

    "It is a truth universally acknowledged, that a single girl of high standing at Longbourn Academy must be in want of a prom date."

    Prom is a seriously big deal at Longbourn Academy. It's everything a girl could dream of and, after winter break, the only thing most girls can think about.

    Prom is the farthest thing from Lizzie Bennet's mind. Yes, she is single but she is definitely not a girl of high standing at Longbourn. A scholarship student, she is the subject of hazing, ridicule, and even outright hatred. All she wants is to survive by keeping up her grades and practicing her piano playing to maintain her tenuous place at Longbourn.

    Lizzie tries to put on a strong face for her best friend Jane by going to parties and pretending to have a good time, but like everything else school related it usually ends in disaster. Jane is thrilled when Charles Bingley comes back from a semester abroad. And Lizzie tries to be too because Charles is really nice. But his friend Will Darcy is another story. Snobby, pretentious, and downright obnoxious--Darcy is a complete jerk to Lizzie and drives her to distraction.

    Still, there's something about him. There must be if everyone else likes him so much. But Lizzie still has her doubts. Will Lizzie's pride and Darcy's prejudice keep them apart forever? Or will they realize they might be a perfect match in Prom and Prejudice (2011) by Elizabeth Eulberg.

    If you haven't guessed it yet, Prom and Prejudice is a retelling and reinterpretation of Jane Austen's classic Pride and Prejudice.

    Tinkering with a classic is always risky but Eulberg makes it look easy. Prom and Prejudice delivers a charming story that manages to stand on its own while also staying true to the spirit of Austen's much-loved original.

    Narrated by Lizzie herself, Eulberg offers readers a unique view of a story they might already know as Lizzie herself tells readers everything she hates (and perhaps eventually comes to love?) about Darcy. Aside from providing a most excellent title the focus on prom updates the story while keeping all of the urgency and tension Austen herself created. (Setting the story in a boarding school also allows Lizzie to have "sisters" around without them being actually related--so clever.)

    Lizzie's breezy narration and many mishaps, not to mention her myriad misunderstandings, will draw readers in from the familiar opening line right down to the surprise ending. Eulberg creates a delightful story that is both romantic and captivating in Prom and Prejudice.

    Possible Pairings: Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen, Unearthly by Cynthia Hand, Scarlett Fever by Maureen Johnson, The Boyfriend List by E. Lockhart, Saving Francesca by Melina Marchetta, Paranormalcy by Kiersten White

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2012

    Good but not the orginal

    God but not as good as the origanal

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2012

    Very predictible

    But then again i read pride and prejudice so i knew what was going to happen before i even read the first page. Overall the book was great and i would recomend to all

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2012

    LOVE THIS BOOK!!!!!!!!!!!!

    This book is AMAZING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!Fell in love with it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    Awesome

    This was just a great book! I can't believe that Lydia would ever meet a guy like Wick!!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2011

    A must read

    This novel is so beatifully written. The events in Prom and Prejudice keep you on the edge of your seat!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 20, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Very cute

    This was a fantastic modern version of the beloved classic. It was a very easy read (I read it in one day). With a kind of different ending than I was expecting. It's def. a "curl up on a rainy day and read" kind of book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 49 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3