Customer Reviews for

The Prometheus Deception

Average Rating 4
( 40 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(21)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted December 28, 2010

    Not Ludlum's best

    The plot was decent, very Ludlum-esque. Characters were not developed well and the ending was anticlimactic. Disappointing wnen compared to his earlier works such as parsifal mosaic, gemini contenders and bourne idenity. A marginal read for Ludlum fans.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2002

    Predictable, no deception here!

    Way too long. Way too predictable. I knew what was coming the whole way. There are several empty pages at the end of the book, past the epiloge. I guess this is where I can write down notes for the technical inaccuracies. Page 346, an AH-64 Apache helicopter has no capacity for carrying passengers. It is a two-seater (tandam) gunship. Page 448, the book makes a reference to a building "in the shadow of the World Trade Center", then on page 523 the book talks about "another world trade center". It can't sit in the shadow of a building that is not there. I have read every RL novel, this is by far, the one I like the least. As far as the issue of the "privacy of citizens" is concerned. It is not a new concept. This is not a cutting edge novel based on issues of today.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2013

    I purchased this book because it was written by Robert Ludlum. I

    I purchased this book because it was written by Robert Ludlum. If it was, indeed, written by Mr. Ludlum, it totally lacks the true Ludlum touch. First off, it doesn't begin to read to read like any Ludlum book I ever read. The main character is two dimensional, to say the least. He's a character I can't begin to identify and is way too comic book-esque for my tastes. This super-hero goes from one major wound to the next with no recovery time between act between very contrived action scenes that are almost impossible to believe. I labored through half the pages in this book before I could begin to warm up to Mr. Bryson (out hero). There's way too much introspection by Bryson in a convoluted plot that is so predictable that it induced far too many yawns and drooping eyelids. Along the way, we're regaled by reprises from "The Matarese Circle", "The Bourne Identity" and a few other books written by Mr. Ludlum. Technical faux pas abound, and there is far too much unnecessary and boring detail about the technology of the day, much of it that either makes no sense or is inserted as what appears to be the author's attempt at showing us how very superior the author is to us ordinary creatures in terms of his technical knowledge. I for one don't particularly care to be educated (sometimes incorrectly) by text that only interrupts the flow of the story at hand while lending no particular excitement to that story. This is not Ludlum at his best. Frankly, I have my doubts that "The Prometheus Deception" is Ludlum at all, except perhaps as an old outline for a book Mr. Ludlum was planning to write. If Robert Ludlum actually did write this book before his unfortunate death in the same year it was published, it is a poor swansong at best.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 14, 2012

    Best selling best seller!

    This book is the epitome of all stories on international espionage and cloak and dagger thrillers, I have read Nick Carter, James Hadley Chase, Sidney Sheldon, Ian Fleming's James Bond etc etc but this Ludlum book is far above their class. Unfortunately it has no sequel like Jason Bourne series which are coincidently being destroyed by one Eric Lustabader, the spirit of Ludlum will not forgive Lustabader for the rubbish he has made out of a wonderful story, I wonder who assigned him to do that. Anyway I think Nick Bryson and Prometheus Deception deserve a good Hollywood script and a well budgeted film. I wish I had the funds to finance such a project! Please get someone to write a sequel so that Bryson can deal with Ted Waller!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 27, 2011

    Excellent Read

    This book will keep anyone entertained, without sacrificing good story for action sequences.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2010

    A great thriller!

    A must read for Ludlum fans! Easily the best book published after the death of the acclaimed author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2008

    Good Book - Recommend

    I recommend reading this book. The action is fast-paced, story enthralling, typical Ludlum.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2007

    gr8 for a 1st ludlum reader...

    well, i thought why not start reading some new author.. so i took ludlum's prometheus deception.. wow!! what a book..till the very end i couldn't actually believe what was happening, everything was so twisted yet so clear that it too good 2 b true... excellent book with a gr8 fittingly finish...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2003

    her alibi revisited

    this book shows the same type person that is in her alibi that was also an author. It shows an individual who sounds like he is out of a comic book it is the worst book I have ever read....

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2002

    Keeping the Cold War Hot

    Robert Ludlum gives us America's answer to James Bond in his 'Nick Bryson.' There is no shortage of action, unlikely alliances and double-crosses, as Ludlum weaves fictionalized current events and personalities with references from the annals of espionage. From the midst of Arab terrorists, the Al-Nahda, on Africa's North Coast, Bryson travels to the clandestine corridors of the Directorate headquarters in Washington, D.C., and the ivy-covered, insulated walls of academia in Pennsylvania. Ferreted out of deep cover retirement by the CIA, Bryson is off to the high seas near the coast of Spain, other Western Europe stops and Russia in search of the truth about to whom his allegiance has been pledged in recent years. Along the way, he rediscovers romance and uncovers a nefarious plot by big money and corrupt politicians to rob U.S. citizens of their privacy. A global whirlwind filled with action and intrigue. - by Robert John Estko, author of the suspense novel, 'Evil, Be Gone'

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2002

    Superb

    Only upon reading this book will you understand true deception.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2002

    great book

    this one of the best books written by rl.the action is fast placed and the description of weapons is superb. a must read for everyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2001

    Enjoyable

    This was my first time reading Ludlum. The privacy issue is scary since Congress (today) is considering legislation that would encrouch upon Americans right to privacy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2001

    Move over David Bourne...there's a new kid in town!

    Not since the Bourne Identity, have I enjoyed a Ludlum novel so much. Some of the works in between were predictible and contrived. 'Road to Omaha' in my estimation was an embarrassment; I could not bear to finish it. This was well worth waiting for. It has the sort-of-predictable characters (yeah, so Nick and David Bourne share a few lives with their favorite cats), but it also has a neat twist to the 'who's who' in espionage such that you really can't tell the good guys from the bad...and then you find out...they pretty much ALL bad. I don't have bad dreams from reading Ludlum novels, but he does tell a good story and, if you're not paying attention, you will get left behind.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2000

    Fantastic Reading

    I found this book, as with all Ludlum books, riviting. I quote someone else when I say you could sprain your wrist turning the pages and this is no exception. I am always in a hurry to find out the end but at the same time I hate for one of his books to come to an end. I have also read another of his recent books 'The Hades Factor' and all I can say is that this is another page turner. I recommend both of these books very highly. I really love to read any Ludlum books. I have several of my own and after a few years I re-read them. Hope to see another soon.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2001

    Ludlum at his best!

    I've read all of the Ludlum books and put this up with the best of them. It reminds me of some of his earlier works that I loved so much. I'm impressed that he keeps turning out excellent books and I hope he lives past 100 and KEEPS WRITING. Thanks Robert.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2001

    Best book since the Bourne Series

    This is Ludlum's best book. I was glued to the book and could not put it down. I would highly recommend this to anyone who likes suspense and action. It was wonderful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2000

    Fact or Fiction?

    A twisting tale, that could happen. Corporate control, privacy invaded, deception the key. An excellently crafted book, by the master. Again, Fact or Fiction?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2000

    Fine work

    I, frankly, haven't liked Ludlum's lastest novels. So I was really thrilled to see this novel succeed so well. It's like seeing Clint Eastwood come back with SPACE COWBOYS after having nothing good out since UNFORGIVEN. This book is a true international thriller, since it goes all over the globe. A great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2000

    Deception written Well.

    This book gets five stars from me hands down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2