Customer Reviews for

The Promise

Average Rating 4.5
( 14 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2005

    WOW

    All i can say is that this man is great. i have never read anything that had such profound effects on my emotions. i was angry when there was need to be and i was heartbroken at other times. this book is not only for the jewish reader, i myself am roman catholic and i feel like by reading this i have come into a deeper understanding of my own religion 5 stars mr potok.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2004

    This book was Superb

    The promise is written amazingly. The plot is complex and the characters have depth to them. Everything is described so well and i can vividly picture it in my mind. I've probably read this book 100 times and would recomend it to somebody any day

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 23, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    A promise in more ways than one

    With "The Promise", Chaim Potok continues the explorations of growing up Jewish in 1950's Brooklyn that he began in "The Chosen".<BR/>While this book brings more of the secular world into its plotline than its prequel, it does so in a way that is completely logical and understandable. As the country entered the 1950's, the religious and secular worlds started to undergo a change and a blending the like of which had never been seen before, and probably will never be seen again.<BR/><BR/>This process is seen in microcosm as Potok continues his story of Reuven Malter, now studying to become a rabbi, and his best friend Danny Saunders, the Hasid turned psychology student.<BR/><BR/>The most interesting thing about this story to my mind is that the roles of the two main characters are, to some extent, reversed. In "The Chosen", Danny was the religious one - rebellious in his own way, but still religious; and Reuven was the more worldly one. Here, Reuven is moving into the religious world, and Danny is becoming more and more secular - so much so, in fact, that he becomes engaged to and eventually marries a woman he falls in love with, rather than the arranged marriage that his family would have set up for him.<BR/><BR/>The secondary plots of Danny's prospective cousin-in-law and his emotional problems, and Reuven's conflict and bonding with his Talmud instructor, are also interesting, but it is still the interplay between Danny, Reuven, and their fathers that is the reason to buy this book. Even if you're not Jewish, this story will speak to you.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2003

    the promise

    The depth Potok gives his characters is incredible. They each have an interesting background- no boring, two-dimensional characters in this novel at all. The plot was good, nothing shocking or new. However, the way that Potok tells the story is incredibly captivating. Potok, through is characters, displays important truths and lessons about life and others. Although not necessary, I strongly suggest reading THE CHOSEN first to better understand Rueven Malter and Danny Saunders.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2013

    Not like Potok's other works

    I did not like this book at allcompared to The Chosen!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2006

    Sequels are overrated

    This book is not good at all. I was annoyed by the Michael character. The events and relationships in this book seem much more shallower and diffiult to believe than in the 1st book, 'the chosen.' This book was a huge disappointment and poor follow-up to 'The chosen.'

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2003

    Very Good

    I read the prelude to The Promise, called The Chosen, this past semester during Judaism class. I must say that The Promise is just as good as the original, because Potok does a good job of describing the scenary to the point where you feel like you are part of the action, and a part of the character's lives. After reading these books, I can trully say that The Chosen and The Promise have taught me more about living in society, and how our choices reflect the type of individual that we are.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2002

    What a great piece of literature!

    This book was one of the best I've ever read. I would recommend it for anyone who has read the prelude to it , The Chosen. They really go together.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2000

    The book about Life's greatest ordeals.

    The Promise is an inspirational novel. Chaim Potok has definetly delivered an outstanding piece of work. It's even better than its prequel, The Chosen. The Promise is narrated by Rueven Malter, a young man studying in hopes to recieve his smicha (rabbinic ordination). At the same time however, he must decide on where he stands, with his father and Abraham Gordon, or with his teacher. The two sides are opposite of each other in struggle on how all Jews should be practicing their religion. And during all this, he must help save Micheal Gordon, the son of Abraham Gordon who is suffering phsycological problems. The Promise will bring you joy, tears and everything in between!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1