Customer Reviews for

The Promise: President Obama, Year One

Average Rating 3
( 169 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(57)

4 Star

(24)

3 Star

(19)

2 Star

(23)

1 Star

(46)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

33 out of 56 people found this review helpful.

The Promise is America's Dream Come True

For decades we have had presidents who are all about making false promises. Some promises are better, than others, yet we still believed, still waited and still hoped. Obama has lifted America up by the boot straps and evoked the kind of change that we needed and crav...
For decades we have had presidents who are all about making false promises. Some promises are better, than others, yet we still believed, still waited and still hoped. Obama has lifted America up by the boot straps and evoked the kind of change that we needed and craved. No longer can we continue to wait for false promises and he realizes this in the book. This is a great read to help the future generation know the mistakes of past presidents and the aids that left America in shambles and in dedt to foreign countries such as China. I want my children to know the truth about this wonderful president and how he did everything he can humanly do to make America better and stronger for future generations, as well as present day ones. There are factual and contextual data found throughout the book that support his values, ideas and theories.

posted by 3629002 on May 22, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

21 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

Political viewpoints

In reading the reviews, I am questioning whether reviewers such as DartVadar are reviewing the book for its quality of writing or for providing political comment which I find totally inappropriate. They should use the blogs, editorial columns, etc. for those type of co...
In reading the reviews, I am questioning whether reviewers such as DartVadar are reviewing the book for its quality of writing or for providing political comment which I find totally inappropriate. They should use the blogs, editorial columns, etc. for those type of comments or even through your elected officials. Would appreciate it if Barnes and Noble would encourage reviewers to stick to reviewing books for quality of writing etc. Thank you.

posted by PASteadyCustomer on May 22, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 170 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2010

    The Promise is America's Dream Come True

    For decades we have had presidents who are all about making false promises. Some promises are better, than others, yet we still believed, still waited and still hoped. Obama has lifted America up by the boot straps and evoked the kind of change that we needed and craved. No longer can we continue to wait for false promises and he realizes this in the book. This is a great read to help the future generation know the mistakes of past presidents and the aids that left America in shambles and in dedt to foreign countries such as China. I want my children to know the truth about this wonderful president and how he did everything he can humanly do to make America better and stronger for future generations, as well as present day ones. There are factual and contextual data found throughout the book that support his values, ideas and theories.

    33 out of 56 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2010

    History will show...

    This President is the most authentic of people. His intelligence sets him apart, but his integrity and incredible authenticity make him uniquely "up to the job". The book does not spare his failings; not the least of which is his trust in the "experts". Listening to his soul, gets
    him/us out of many dangers; listening to the "experts" has proven very risky business. He could not have imagined the unconscionable depths of deceit to the country that partisanship has wrought. I believe his audacity of hope, is in the American people. We are out here, Mr. President. We are blessed to have such a uniquely, broadly qualified man (and first lady) leading our country and the world. We walk the road with you.

    7 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    I also recommend "The Silent Crisis Destroying America's Brightest Minds"

    America is moving in the right direction

    3 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 4, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent, Fair, and Immensely Revealing

    If you want a concise presentation of President Obama's failures and successes in his Administration's first 18 months, start this book at the Epilogue. In very few pages, you will have a roster of accomplishments that are in many places historic, a ...more If you want a concise presentation of President Obama's failures and successes in his Administration's first 18 months, start this book at the Epilogue. In very few pages, you will have a roster of accomplishments that are in many places historic, all far-reaching, and most all completely unheard of by the average voter. This is the story of Obama's presidency so far: that his drive for measurable steps forward -- from the elimination of "middle-man" vendors for student loans that in turn helped to fund the health care bill, to unprecedented increases in education standards and teacher rewards, to the most thorough Administrative analysis of military policy since the Cuban Missie Crisis, to gaining concessions by China to publicly record its goals for pollution reductions -- occludes the need to score political cheap shots and short-term gains against an unmistakably aggressive, even obstructionist opposition party.

    Each chapter in The Promise details, sometimes painfully so, one of the major initiatives shaped or confronted by the Obama Administration, and while there are enormous frustrations to be had in Obama's missteps, throughout the course of the book an appreciation builds for not only the gargantuan tasks faced by any politician during the economic recession of 2008-2010, but for the remarkable capability of this current officeholder in taking a hands-on approach to each of the challenges.

    There is no doubt that, however long it lasts, Obama's presidency will be historic. What is regrettable is how little we realize that each of Obama's lesser known gestures toward reshaping the presidency and regaining economic stability for the United States have affected our long-term growth. You come away feeling that the perhaps prematurely awarded Noble Prize will be less remembered for peace and better thought of as a reward for the economic policies and initiatives taken by Obama that not only saved the Union for the short-term, but probably extended its life. This is a genuinely remarkable presidency, whether or not people are willing to recognize it.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 24, 2010

    Excellent read - I didn't want the book to end.

    This is one of many books I have recently read to better understand the events of the Obama administration. As a young adult tired of the fear mongering media and false reporting I am compelled to search out the facts before forming my own opinions. This book helped offer insight into the character of President Obama and the obstacles this administration is facing. Excellent read.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 24, 2010

    For the Disillusioned, the Deluded and the Faithful, the Promise Sets the Record Straight

    Alter's book may be about the first year of Obama's presidency, but it feels like it covers decades of American history. It's astonishing how many issues come up in The Promise: Health care, Afghanistan, the war on terror, the auto bailouts, the stimulus, education, Republican obstructionism, research and development in science and medicine. Following politics during the Obama era can be challenging and disorienting because there is so much to keep up with. But Alter does a fine job at guiding the reader through everything with precision. His prose are crisp and clear-The Promise is not quite a page turner, but it can be a quick read.

    Most important, the author puts many things in perspective by fully delineating Obama's legislative accomplishments, how and why they are poorly understood by the public, and the president's decision-making process.

    Here are some of the highlights... to read more of this review check out my blog (which features reviews of great writing in general):

    http://scholarlywritingreviewed.com/

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2010

    Enthralling

    I enjoyed that he didn't try to present the goals of the president as right or wrong, but as failed or successful, leaving the reader to either celebrate or console themselves over the results of his 1st year.
    He begins with a brief look at his candidacy and how he got to President, and ends with a glimpse at the second year's first couple months.

    Loved it.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2013

    Left much?

    The author seems to be enamored of ,while supposedly doing a journalist's work, the worst president since Wilson and Carter. I wouldn't recommend this for conservative and anyone else who craves the days of "true 'HOLD THEIR FEET TO THE FIRE' journalism"

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2013

    He did

    He did make trillion dollar desicions, how to borrow trillions and forget that we cant keep borrowing to pay out debts.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2012

    By far this is progadanda the would make Goebels proud Filled wi

    By far this is progadanda the would make Goebels proud
    Filled with many many spelling and grammatical errors
    Very disjointed
    a real waste of trees

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 170 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9