Customer Reviews for

The Promise: God's Purpose and Plan for When Life Hurts

Average Rating 4.5
( 23 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(18)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 18 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted May 3, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Suffering and Healing: A Priest's Approach

    Father Morris has written a wonderful book addressing the age-old question: if God loves us, then why is there so much suffering in the world? Rather than providing the reader with the standard, church-approved answers, Father Morris uses real life people and situations to illustrate how that although we may not understand God's plan and fully comprehend the nature of his love for us, God offers us a way to deal with the suffering and transform our spiritual life. His "Principles for Freedom-Living" are a guide that anyone, regardless of personal religous beliefs or preferences can use to better their existence in this world.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2008

    Excellent book on this subject

    The author takes you through the steps of recognizing the answer of why bad things happen and God allows them. It is thought provoking and filled with examples and life experiences.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2009

    Compelling Answers to Hard Questions

    Father Jonathan Morris has achieved a difficult feat with The Promise: His book is accessible to readers from all walks of life, yet never offers facile platitudes in answer to that universal question, "Why is there suffering?" He examines the many forms of suffering in the light of Christ's teachings and example, and arrives at answers that are simple, yet profound. While the book is written from the perspective of a Catholic Christian, anyone could benefit from reading this book, regardless of their creed or lack of one.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 19, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    great bestseller offering courage and hope

    "the promise" by father jonathan morris is a very exellent book that offers everyone no matter what faith alot of courage and peace from their life whean they are facing tough storms. what is special about this book is it has some exellent questians and awnsers in the back of the book that I think we offten struggle with and I know I do. this is a great book for a Bible study or discussuion group to use. great gift idea for a friend or family member.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2008

    finding gods purposes whean your hurting

    father jonathan morris(who is the faith commentator on fox news) has writtion a very remarkable book 'the promise' which address`s the different questians that we face whean life hands us alot of discouragment that really challenges our faith and breaks our heart. this bestseller offers some inspirational awnsers that gave me peaceful solutions and I was very pleased with the exellent scripture references as well as the wonderful and most helpful study guide. this is very hard to put down and is a great gift idea for a friend or family member and would be great for a Bible study.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    This was a great book. He puts things in easy simple terms. His "Principles for Freedom-Living" is a must read. I've been to church my whole life, but found a lot of Aha moments in this book. It is very insightful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    Thought Provoking Read

    This book is well written and approaches a very deep and philosophical question in a very straight-forward manner. While it probably would not satisfy someone will little or no faith, anyone considering themselves a person of faith, who struggles with the idea of God allowing tragedies to befall innocent people will find plenty to ponder and consider. It has certainly helped me to consider the whole subject in ways I did not before.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2009

    Amazing, comforting book that can be reread many times.

    This book presents God's caring hand in a wonderful, readable way. It is the kind of book you will want to have in a handy place where you can refer to it again and again. It draws you in closer to Jesus, and helps you understand how much He loves you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    book of courage and hope

    "the promise" is a very special bestseller writtion by father jonathan morris that shows that no matter what kind of storms or tough times we are facing that God is always with us and has a plan of peace for us and has a great amount of courage for our life to help us through what ever suffering we may be dealing with. I really love this book it is very hard to put down. the writer has scripture and alot of questians and awnsers in the back of the book which I think is special cause these are the kind of questians that I often think about. this is a great book for discussion groups or a Bible study or a birthday gift for someone special.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 18 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1