Customer Reviews for

Promise

Average Rating 4.5
( 351 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(221)

4 Star

(77)

3 Star

(35)

2 Star

(13)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

21 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

Amazing

This book was amazing, it was actually better than I expected :)

Alexis is an unusual girl, on one hand her and her mum are always moving around, and her mum doesn't look old enough to be it, she's a writer and a bit of an outsider, so when they move to Florida so th...
This book was amazing, it was actually better than I expected :)

Alexis is an unusual girl, on one hand her and her mum are always moving around, and her mum doesn't look old enough to be it, she's a writer and a bit of an outsider, so when they move to Florida so that she can start college, Alexis just wants to be normal for once.

I can totally relate to Alexis as when I was at school I was a bit like her (except the moving around part, I only moved once)

And then Tristan walks into her life (and mine) first as a friend who might be a little stalkerishy at first, but turns out to be loyal, protective and sweet and totally gorgeous.

I loved how it wasn't instant love, yes there was attraction, but it wasn't I love you even if I've only known you for like 2 seconds. And even when they admitted the love they still had tons of issues.

But that's not all, as well as having their own issues they have family secrets, add to that, the fact that Alexis isn't told any of these secrets, well trouble is bound to happen.

The secondary characters such as Sophia and Owen are well written and interesting, especially Owen, he was so sweet I wanted to hug and squeeze him.

The whole plot and writing was really good and kept you on the edge, and the cliffhanger!!! I can't wait to read the second and third book.

posted by Nathiel on October 2, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Ehh..

All of the top reviews are really misleading. I expected this book to be so full of action and story, but it was one big love drama that went around and around again for 700+ pages. It was a good tale if you're a sucker for sappy romances, and i have to admit that this ...
All of the top reviews are really misleading. I expected this book to be so full of action and story, but it was one big love drama that went around and around again for 700+ pages. It was a good tale if you're a sucker for sappy romances, and i have to admit that this is a really talented author, but i feel like she wasted too much of her talent on the love aspect. I was just bored and annoyed by the end, which is a pitey, for i feel like it could've been a much better story.

posted by 14995620 on June 21, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 221 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 12
  • Posted October 2, 2011

    Amazing

    This book was amazing, it was actually better than I expected :)

    Alexis is an unusual girl, on one hand her and her mum are always moving around, and her mum doesn't look old enough to be it, she's a writer and a bit of an outsider, so when they move to Florida so that she can start college, Alexis just wants to be normal for once.

    I can totally relate to Alexis as when I was at school I was a bit like her (except the moving around part, I only moved once)

    And then Tristan walks into her life (and mine) first as a friend who might be a little stalkerishy at first, but turns out to be loyal, protective and sweet and totally gorgeous.

    I loved how it wasn't instant love, yes there was attraction, but it wasn't I love you even if I've only known you for like 2 seconds. And even when they admitted the love they still had tons of issues.

    But that's not all, as well as having their own issues they have family secrets, add to that, the fact that Alexis isn't told any of these secrets, well trouble is bound to happen.

    The secondary characters such as Sophia and Owen are well written and interesting, especially Owen, he was so sweet I wanted to hug and squeeze him.

    The whole plot and writing was really good and kept you on the edge, and the cliffhanger!!! I can't wait to read the second and third book.

    21 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2012

    Love.

    I was told to check out this book from my sister-in-law and I am glad I did. It is like a "mature" Twilight but the main characters are not vampires. Could not put it down. From the very first paragraph I fell in love with Kristie Cook's writing style.

    15 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2011

    Great Book!!

    Wow! what a surprise this book was for me i like so many others just picked it at random and totally fell in love with it and the characters in it. I just finished it and am on to the 2nd one dont know if i cant hold out until Feb. for the 3rd though :( lol What an awesome book! i was up late last night reading most of it and i just couldnt put it down. Definitly should give it a shot! :)

    14 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2010

    A Must Read!!!

    Kristie Cook has blown her audience away with Promise, the first book of the Soul Savers series. Tristan and Alexis are a match made in heaven and hell. Unfortunately, their union does not make everyone happy. Hell will break loose to try and split up the couple, but they have Heaven on their side, and must continue the family. Alexis and Tristan fight to stay together, and to keep the promises to themselves, each other, and their families. The end will keep you longing for Purpose, due out in Fall 2010.

    If you are a fan of Twilight, you will not be disappointed with this book, and may prefer it since there are more adult scenes. Kristie has reinvigorated my passion for reading with this amazing book and I know you will enjoy it!!!

    11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2011

    Absolutely breath taking!!!!!

    I couldn't get enough of this book. It continued to surprise me with it's unique story line and characters. There was never a boring moment for me and the author did a great job of building the story up to the climax. I have high expectations of the next two novels and any other books the author writes. This book is truly a treat!!!!!

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2012

    Loved it!

    Romantic and sweet with just the right amount of action and mystery. It had a great storyline as well. The book stayed interesting throughoutbut. Love the characters, you really feel like you live in their world. I would not recommend this book to a younger audience though, there is some strong language and a sex scene that was pretty explicit for young readers in my opinion, but it was definately a great read!

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2011

    Promise

    Absolutely love this book. It is one of the best books I have read in a while, and I read a lot.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2012

    Fabulous

    Can't believe how good the series is!! My teenager and I have enjoyed them immensely - awaiting book 4!!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2012

    Wow... this is the best books ever.!(:

    This book is way better than i thought it would be. It was soooo good. It kept me wanting to read more and more. Just when you thought everything was going perfect it had a little twist to it keeping you hooked and wanting to read more. This is the best series i have EVER read. I absolutley LOVE it sooo much!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 27, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Great start to a new series !!! ;)

    My first ever book I’ve read of Kristie Cooks and I will certainly be adding her to my list of authors to follow ;)

    Promise is not at all what I first anticipated in reading the blurb it was so much more. Intriguing, captivating and catapulting me on a whirlwind of twists and turns till the very end. This book had me intrigued and definitely keen to keep on reading, I read this in one sitting... I was swept along with the storyline, enjoying the flow and the way in which the direction took me.

    The plot had me drawn in, I found this to be a fluent flowing storyline, with characters that I’m sure you will swoon over, fall in love with and also shed a tear for. Characters that I’m sure you will also enjoy and find intriguing.

    A love that will not only have you sheepishly grinning, but also have you heart a- fluttering. Emotions and descriptions are well put forth, creating that world that Kristi has put forth, and the character traits to go with.

    Kristi has created a world where Good vs. Evil = Heaven Vs Hell - Angels, Demons, protectors and so much more, a human world filled with paranormals and a storyline which is unique of its own.

    Tristan is every girls dream boat, hot - gorgeous, charming, romantic and off course protective. I enjoyed his character, fighting the demon within to be with and find love, his true love - soul mate. Tristan and Alexis love was magnetic, electrifying - it gave tingles just reading it... It was so romantic and made you smile at moments, and giggle at others, and also heart warming moments where you heart sunk. I’m such a romantic at heart and enjoyed every moment... The love was not instant, it was slow and gradual and not your fall in love at first site, I enjoyed this concept. Alexis is insecure, very emotional , but has her goals which she focused on and in time her maturity and thoughts changed, I enjoyed seeing her change along the way.

    Tristan and Alexis is a match made in Heaven n Hell, will hell win and reclaim his soul?

    Demons hunt the souls and the Angels defend them..... A family line continues on to fight good over evil, but is the line stopping at Alexis? We are introduced to two world in this story, Good and Evil and the reasons behind the fued... Im hoping to see a little more into these worlds in book two.

    The ending to Promise will have you teary eyed and anticipating book two - Definably an unpredictable ending for sure...

    If you after a read filled with lust, passion, romance, suspense, action, then this paranormal series is for you...

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2012

    Anges vs demons

    Really enjoyed this book. Hope you will read it too!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2012

    Good read

    Once I started reading this, I couldn't put it down. Interesting plot that keeps you wondering what will happen next. Will definitely read the next book in this series.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2012

    yes i recomend

    it had me wanting more... uhhhh i love it...

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2013

    AMAZING BOOK

    This book is absolutely amazing! Although it seemed a little like Twilight, its many plot twists, believable characters and genuine love sucked me in! I love how the author mixed so many genres into one amazing book. I cannot wait to read the next one, and hope that everything turns out perfect in the end, because this book definitely ended in a vary tearful cliffhanger!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2012

    Awesome book!

    At first i was a little adamant of reading this book. But boy was i wrong. It was not what I expected, it was so much more! I'd have to say this was better than twilight. And i definitely recommend it!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2012

    A very good book! Love it coulbnt get enough of it. Im buying the second book right now!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 8, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    True love can't be more dangerous or bittersweet than a match made in Heaven and Hell.

    Kristie Cook's Promise left me breathless. It's about true love, soul mates, good vs. evil, and everything in between. I was completely blown away and I wasn't expecting to be left wanting so badly to continue reading non-stop. When I wasn't reading I was agonizingly wondering about what was going to happen next. I was even dreaming about different scenarios that could possibly happen from where I left off. And when I started reading again I was on the edge of my seat, my face practically smooshed to the screen. There were moments when I was practically bouncing off the walls with happiness, crying my eyes out, or holding my breath in expectation. I loved the story and characters so much I don't think there's anything negative I could say about Promise. Alexis knows she's not completely normal (though she desperately wishes that she were), but her mother refuses to tell her anything about them and their family. Having decided that she's had enough of her mother's evasiveness, Alexis does her own research with little to no results. On her first day of college, Alexis literally runs into Tristan Knight and sparks fly. Their connection is instantaneous and very strong. When Alexis' mother finds out about Tristan she's adamant that Alexis stay away from him. She refuses and after overhearing a conversation between her mother and Tristan she realizes that they know each other. After an accident leaving Alexis seriously injured and Tristan mysteriously unharmed, it's decided that she should be told the truth about herself, Tristan, and the world they're a part of. What really stayed with me about Kristie's writing was the believability of the characters and the raw emotion leaping off the pages. Alexis and Tristan, Sophia and Rina, Owen and Stefan; all the characters felt so real to me. I felt as if I was right there with them, seeing everything so clearly. The emotion in this book affected me the most. I could feel their happiness, their sadness, their anger and hope. It's all so intense and real. Alexis seems like a normal teenager at first, but we soon learn of her unusual ability to heal fast and her amazing strength (which usually only shows itself when she's really angry). Because of her peculiarities she's never had any friends (besides her mother, Sophia) and was constantly picked on. She wants more than anything to be normal, to have a normal life. She's smart and is an amazing writer. her ability to love is immense, but she fears opening herself up to someone and possibly being hurt and betrayed again. When she meets Tristan she falls hard for him, but she has priorities and doesn't let her feelings consume the rest of her life. She's someone I would love to know in real life. Tristan is amazingly gorgeous. Before Alexis, he never felt he had the ability to love. He's loving and protective, but not overly so. He knows Alexis' strengths and doesn't mind handing a situation over to her. Tristan is also very talented in many things, mostly in design---architecture, jewelry, etc. His love and devotion are unmatched, and he would gladly lay down his life for Alexis. Alexis and Tristan's love is so intense and passionate, it practically oozes off the pages. They seem to be complete opposites at first, but are more alike than they thought. I like that they got to know each other first before declaring their undying love for each other. There were secrets and doubts, but even after everything was revealed they still loved each other.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2011

    Can't wait to read the next book!

    I had a tough time putting this book down, and am anxious to read the series! Great storyline - hope to see more of Tristan!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 11, 2013

    Holy WOW!! I was absolutely blown away by this book! This is a p

    Holy WOW!! I was absolutely blown away by this book! This is a perfect start to an amazing series! Kristie Cook is one of my all-time favorite authors. She has the kind of writing style that pulls you into the book by your toes. You feel so much a part of the story and these characters lives. This is a story that will make you laugh, cry, pound your fists on the table, need to take a cold shower, and beg for more!! The main characters, Alexis and Tristan, have a love so strong, so deep, and so profound. You get to experience the growth that they go through together, it's absolutely beautiful! The ending will have you screaming and crying, and Wow, what a cliffhanger!! Begging for MORE!! I don't ever want this story to end!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2013

    This book was way better than I was expecting it to be. I can't

    This book was way better than I was expecting it to be. I can't wait to read the next books!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 221 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 12