Customer Reviews for

Promise

Average Rating 4.5
( 342 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(216)

4 Star

(75)

3 Star

(33)

2 Star

(13)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

21 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

Amazing

This book was amazing, it was actually better than I expected :)

Alexis is an unusual girl, on one hand her and her mum are always moving around, and her mum doesn't look old enough to be it, she's a writer and a bit of an outsider, so when they move to Florida so th...
This book was amazing, it was actually better than I expected :)

Alexis is an unusual girl, on one hand her and her mum are always moving around, and her mum doesn't look old enough to be it, she's a writer and a bit of an outsider, so when they move to Florida so that she can start college, Alexis just wants to be normal for once.

I can totally relate to Alexis as when I was at school I was a bit like her (except the moving around part, I only moved once)

And then Tristan walks into her life (and mine) first as a friend who might be a little stalkerishy at first, but turns out to be loyal, protective and sweet and totally gorgeous.

I loved how it wasn't instant love, yes there was attraction, but it wasn't I love you even if I've only known you for like 2 seconds. And even when they admitted the love they still had tons of issues.

But that's not all, as well as having their own issues they have family secrets, add to that, the fact that Alexis isn't told any of these secrets, well trouble is bound to happen.

The secondary characters such as Sophia and Owen are well written and interesting, especially Owen, he was so sweet I wanted to hug and squeeze him.

The whole plot and writing was really good and kept you on the edge, and the cliffhanger!!! I can't wait to read the second and third book.

posted by Nathiel on October 2, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Ehh..

All of the top reviews are really misleading. I expected this book to be so full of action and story, but it was one big love drama that went around and around again for 700+ pages. It was a good tale if you're a sucker for sappy romances, and i have to admit that this ...
All of the top reviews are really misleading. I expected this book to be so full of action and story, but it was one big love drama that went around and around again for 700+ pages. It was a good tale if you're a sucker for sappy romances, and i have to admit that this is a really talented author, but i feel like she wasted too much of her talent on the love aspect. I was just bored and annoyed by the end, which is a pitey, for i feel like it could've been a much better story.

posted by 14995620 on June 21, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 343 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 18
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2012

    A very good book! Love it coulbnt get enough of it. Im buying the second book right now!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 8, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    True love can't be more dangerous or bittersweet than a match made in Heaven and Hell.

    Kristie Cook's Promise left me breathless. It's about true love, soul mates, good vs. evil, and everything in between. I was completely blown away and I wasn't expecting to be left wanting so badly to continue reading non-stop. When I wasn't reading I was agonizingly wondering about what was going to happen next. I was even dreaming about different scenarios that could possibly happen from where I left off. And when I started reading again I was on the edge of my seat, my face practically smooshed to the screen. There were moments when I was practically bouncing off the walls with happiness, crying my eyes out, or holding my breath in expectation. I loved the story and characters so much I don't think there's anything negative I could say about Promise. Alexis knows she's not completely normal (though she desperately wishes that she were), but her mother refuses to tell her anything about them and their family. Having decided that she's had enough of her mother's evasiveness, Alexis does her own research with little to no results. On her first day of college, Alexis literally runs into Tristan Knight and sparks fly. Their connection is instantaneous and very strong. When Alexis' mother finds out about Tristan she's adamant that Alexis stay away from him. She refuses and after overhearing a conversation between her mother and Tristan she realizes that they know each other. After an accident leaving Alexis seriously injured and Tristan mysteriously unharmed, it's decided that she should be told the truth about herself, Tristan, and the world they're a part of. What really stayed with me about Kristie's writing was the believability of the characters and the raw emotion leaping off the pages. Alexis and Tristan, Sophia and Rina, Owen and Stefan; all the characters felt so real to me. I felt as if I was right there with them, seeing everything so clearly. The emotion in this book affected me the most. I could feel their happiness, their sadness, their anger and hope. It's all so intense and real. Alexis seems like a normal teenager at first, but we soon learn of her unusual ability to heal fast and her amazing strength (which usually only shows itself when she's really angry). Because of her peculiarities she's never had any friends (besides her mother, Sophia) and was constantly picked on. She wants more than anything to be normal, to have a normal life. She's smart and is an amazing writer. her ability to love is immense, but she fears opening herself up to someone and possibly being hurt and betrayed again. When she meets Tristan she falls hard for him, but she has priorities and doesn't let her feelings consume the rest of her life. She's someone I would love to know in real life. Tristan is amazingly gorgeous. Before Alexis, he never felt he had the ability to love. He's loving and protective, but not overly so. He knows Alexis' strengths and doesn't mind handing a situation over to her. Tristan is also very talented in many things, mostly in design---architecture, jewelry, etc. His love and devotion are unmatched, and he would gladly lay down his life for Alexis. Alexis and Tristan's love is so intense and passionate, it practically oozes off the pages. They seem to be complete opposites at first, but are more alike than they thought. I like that they got to know each other first before declaring their undying love for each other. There were secrets and doubts, but even after everything was revealed they still loved each other.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2011

    Can't wait to read the next book!

    I had a tough time putting this book down, and am anxious to read the series! Great storyline - hope to see more of Tristan!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 11, 2013

    Holy WOW!! I was absolutely blown away by this book! This is a p

    Holy WOW!! I was absolutely blown away by this book! This is a perfect start to an amazing series! Kristie Cook is one of my all-time favorite authors. She has the kind of writing style that pulls you into the book by your toes. You feel so much a part of the story and these characters lives. This is a story that will make you laugh, cry, pound your fists on the table, need to take a cold shower, and beg for more!! The main characters, Alexis and Tristan, have a love so strong, so deep, and so profound. You get to experience the growth that they go through together, it's absolutely beautiful! The ending will have you screaming and crying, and Wow, what a cliffhanger!! Begging for MORE!! I don't ever want this story to end!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2013

    This book was way better than I was expecting it to be. I can't

    This book was way better than I was expecting it to be. I can't wait to read the next books!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2013

    Very good

    The whole series is amazing.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2013

    Love it!

    Great story. Fell in love with the characters. read all the other books in the series. Now I can't wait for the next one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    Awesome!!!!

    I absolutely loved this book. I will def read it again. A very nice page turner.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2013

    Good series

    Good series cant wait till the 5th book comes out

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2013

    Promise

    This book was okay I guess... Never read Twilight, but I saw some of the movies and based on that I would definitely say they are similar, just different mythical creatures... lol. I am not an expert on Twilight by any means, but once I noticed the similarities I just kept thinking I was reading Twilight. The characters and the scenes became unappealing to me.
    In general, I feel like the book just went downhill once Alexis and Tristan got together and Alexis learned a little bit of who she is. After that scene the rest of the book seemed filled with a bunch of fluff; up and down, boring, boring, Alexis whining, overprotective mother, up and down, action scene, Alexis screaming and crying, sadness and depression, the end.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2013

    Got to read it!

    This is a great love story with the perfect amount of supernatural. This is nothing like the twilight series and stands as a great book all on its own. The characters are fun and sexy. I loved the chemistry between Tristan and Alexis.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2013

    Good book

    Good book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2013

    Lol

    MY STATUS IS IN A RELAIONSHIP

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2013

    I really enjoyed this book, it was very well written and the cha

    I really enjoyed this book, it was very well written and the characters were well rounded and complete. It did remind me a bit of Twilight, which is okay, but I did like this book much better than Twilight. Would pay for it, but loved that it was a free read, am on to Purpose and have also bought Devotion

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2013

    Age level

    Yes there were cuss words and sexual scenes. But this was not until.close to the end of the book. It was a great read and I throughly enjoyed it

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2013

    It's a must read!!!

    In the begining it was hard to get into, but it was a very great read...I suggest that before you start this book you get books 2 and 3, it follows each other!!!So, loved it!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2013

    Wonderful

    Loved this book. The story telling was very well done, as well as the writing. No noticible editing problems. Very emotionally packed, I almost cried in a few places, and laughed in many others. Exited to read the next book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2013

    Great

    Can't wait to read more of this series

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2013

    Hi

    I like it. The next is purpose n it is three ninety nine so im going to have to dig into my savings. Looks like im cooking ramen tonight. But it is worth it. Hashtagyoloswag.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2013

    Anonymous

    Great story and great characters.couldn't put it doen. Can't wait to read the next one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 343 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 18