Customer Reviews for

Promise Canyon (Virgin River Series #13)

Average Rating 4
( 246 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(115)

4 Star

(67)

3 Star

(36)

2 Star

(16)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

The latest Virgin River rural romance is a wonderful tale

Clay Tahoma comes to Virgin City, California as the veterinary assistant and "horse whisperer" at the Jensen Veterinary Clinic. His friend veterinarian Nate Jensen offered him the job so the former Navaho Nation resident left Los Angeles for Humboldt County. When Clay...
Clay Tahoma comes to Virgin City, California as the veterinary assistant and "horse whisperer" at the Jensen Veterinary Clinic. His friend veterinarian Nate Jensen offered him the job so the former Navaho Nation resident left Los Angeles for Humboldt County. When Clay and Hopi Lilly Yazhi meet, they are attracted to one another. However, when she was a teen, Lilly liked a boy from her tribe, but he broke her heart. She vowed then never again and has adhered to her pledge, but now has doubts thanks to Clay. He has issues too having been divorced from Isabel just prior to asking for this job.

Because they work closely together on helping a horse she rescued, she cannot avoid him. As they begin to fall in love, Clay's former wife arrives in town. Will Lilly move passed her teen hurt or will she use the ex spouse as an excuse to avoid risking hurting her heart again.

The latest Virgin River rural romance is a wonderful tale whose prime plot focuses on second chances starring two fascinating lead protagonists whose matchmaker is a horse. As always a myriad of supporting segues on other town characters enhance the feeling that a reader is in Virgin River; however that experience also will bewilder newcomers who will feel somewhat disconnected unless they read some of the previous warm tales of love (see Moonlight Road and Angel's Peak).

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on November 23, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Not the best of the series

I love this series but this is my least favorite so far It is a bit slow with lots of details on horses Also i dont like how carr took a lot of time to give info from previos books Not necessary since ppl will read from beginning

posted by 10011535 on August 10, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 115 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted November 23, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    The latest Virgin River rural romance is a wonderful tale

    Clay Tahoma comes to Virgin City, California as the veterinary assistant and "horse whisperer" at the Jensen Veterinary Clinic. His friend veterinarian Nate Jensen offered him the job so the former Navaho Nation resident left Los Angeles for Humboldt County. When Clay and Hopi Lilly Yazhi meet, they are attracted to one another. However, when she was a teen, Lilly liked a boy from her tribe, but he broke her heart. She vowed then never again and has adhered to her pledge, but now has doubts thanks to Clay. He has issues too having been divorced from Isabel just prior to asking for this job.

    Because they work closely together on helping a horse she rescued, she cannot avoid him. As they begin to fall in love, Clay's former wife arrives in town. Will Lilly move passed her teen hurt or will she use the ex spouse as an excuse to avoid risking hurting her heart again.

    The latest Virgin River rural romance is a wonderful tale whose prime plot focuses on second chances starring two fascinating lead protagonists whose matchmaker is a horse. As always a myriad of supporting segues on other town characters enhance the feeling that a reader is in Virgin River; however that experience also will bewilder newcomers who will feel somewhat disconnected unless they read some of the previous warm tales of love (see Moonlight Road and Angel's Peak).

    Harriet Klausner

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 5, 2010

    Highly recommended - Return to Virgin River

    Going back to Virgin River is always fun, interesting and insightful.

    Promise Canyon is about the love story between Lilly and Clay. She is Hopi and he is Navajo Indian. Reading about their traditions is very interesting. They also have a love of horses that they share. He is the new vet tech for Nate Jensen.

    Jack Sheriden is put in charge of the Virgin River Trust after the death of Hope McCreau. He fines it is not easy to be in charge of the money and what best to do with it to benefit the Virgin River community .

    In the book you also find the Riordan family facing a situation when Aiden has an accident. They always are their for each other and show a strong family bond.

    Promise Canyon is a book that once you start reading it you will not be able to put it down.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2013

    It's been 6 months since my last foray into one of Robyn Carr's

    It's been 6 months since my last foray into one of Robyn Carr's Virgin River series and it was 6 months too long for me. I absolutely love this contemporary romance series by Robyn Carr. Every time I pick up one of her books I fall in love with the town and the people she has artfully created.

    I'm not a big fan of contemporary romance novels but this is one series that always has me coming back and the stories always make me feel better which is why these are the novels I turn to when I'm really down.

    Promise Canyon is one of my favourite books in the Virgin River series. I loved Clay and Lilly both as individual characters. The chemistry between the two of them was amazing and they seemed to go together just right even if both have demons from their past that rear their ugly heads in the story.

    I loved that the author took her time to draw the romance out through the novel and everything was perfectly paced. One of the many things Robyn Carr excels at is creating realistic romances with realistic characters that are neither perfect physically, mentally or spiritually. The characters all have wonderfully human flaws which is the main reason I love reading her novels and this was no exception to the rule.

    The other good thing about me finally reading Promise Canyon was that I was able to catch up with the other characters in the series which she thankfully includes in her novels. I think it's great that I can pick up a book in the series and still visit and catch up with couples from the previous book and see what kind of mischief they're up to.

    When I read promise Canyon I found myself laughing a lot because of Clay and Lilly both trying not to get so attached to one another and by the antics of other characters. I can always count on these books to make me laugh and sometimes tear up because Robyn Carr really knows how to evoke emotion with the romances in Virgin River.

    As nice as it was to meat Lilly and Clay and a few other characters there's always a sadness in the books to help the reader appreciate the lovely romance going on and sometimes it's necessary to have to say good-bye to a much loved side character every now and then and it hurts but the good thing is the reader can always re-read the series and seed those long gone characters again.

    As always, this was a phenomenal romance novel and I'm so glad I finally sat down long enough to read it. It rekindled my love for the series and I've already got the next two books in the series sitting on my night table waiting to be read.

    I would recommend Promise Canyon to anyone who has read the Virgin River series up to this point and if you haven't started the series yet I highly suggest that you do but I recommend starting at the beginning of the series where you can be properly introduced to the town. This is the best contemporary romance series out there in my opinion and it will make you want to give up your big city dreams and make you move to this make believe town and you'll fall in love with the characters.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Robyn Carr is an exceptional storyteller. I loved this sweet rom

    Robyn Carr is an exceptional storyteller. I loved this sweet romance with a down-home feel. Very well-written and lovely.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2014

    Great!

    All the books in this series are wonderful!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2014

    #13 Virgin River series, loved all 20 in this series

    #13 Virgin River series, loved all 20 in this series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2014

    Another great read.

    Same as other.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    This is one of my favorite books of this series. The story was g

    This is one of my favorite books of this series. The story was great, and the characters were amazing!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2013

    Good reading

    I love going to visit the people of Virgin River. Just plain good reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2013

    FABULOUS

    READ ALL 20 IN THIS SERIES

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2013

    Great read!

    What a beautiful story! I just couldn't get enough of it. The book left me in quite an emotional state. Lost my husband of 49 yrs. and I'm finding some comfort in the visits to Virgin River. The people feel like friends and the scenery breath-taking. Thanks Robyn! LA-TXN

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2013

    Hopesplash

    *a starry figure appeared. She scared the rougue off when she appeared* Faithleaf, I dont really know what to do. Im a med cat and I know the herbs, bit as a spirit, I cant touch herbs. I...i... i... *she breathed hard* Ill try. She grabbed a stick and put it in her mouth. Bite on it when it hurts. Dried oak leaves. She chewed the oak leaves and spread it around the cut to keep i fection away. Then she added cobweb to it. To the birthing, she made Faithleaf eat juniper berries, thyme and borage leave.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2013

    Faithleaf

    The rouge got up dazed. When he saw Hopesplash he ran. Faithleaf meowed weakly thank you Hopesplash. She ate the herbs. Five minutes later she had kits. Seven of them. Redoak will be so happy. I need to tell him. I will name them Hopekit (after Hopesplash) Sagekit Mintkit Stormkit Hollykit Breezekit and Oakkit (after Redoak)

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2012

    highly recommended. Don't miss all of them...

    I have read all of these books. I was not disappointed in any of them.
    I keep hoping there will be more.
    How about a return to Virgin River.. and a follow up on all the towns
    residents.

    I found humor and actually had some laughs, and also some tears. You have to read all of them. I just could not put them down. Stayed up late at night to finish. Thank God I am retired and did not have to get up early to go to work the next day.

    There's sex but it's written with a lot of love. and it's all consensual. When you feel down and out, and don't think you can survive this is the place I would like to find to go to. I know it doesn't exist for real. But what a beautiful thought there could be such a place.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2012

    Highly recommended!!!

    I love the whole Virgin River Series! This book really caught my interest! A love story between two native Americans with troubled pasts. Absolutely wonderful :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 27, 2012

    A great read!

    I absoultely loved this book and the series of Virgin River. Couldn't put it down. Was so disappointed when I finished it. I just wanted it to go on and on!!! Light read but very entertaining. The author tells a great story in a easy flowing way.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2012

    Highly recommend

    I have read all the Virgin River series and love them all. I haven't decided which one is my favorite they are all so touching. She really knows how to develop her characters and keep the readers attention. I think it is best to read them in order as the characters develop and are added to the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 18, 2012

    Excellent series....looking forward to Wild Man Creek!! Recomme

    Excellent series....looking forward to Wild Man Creek!! Recommend this series highly!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 1, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Must read!

    Robyn Carr changes it up a bit. This story is based just outside of Virgiv River. Still has all the characters from Virgin, just gives you a different scene. Great love story! Great characters! Just plain great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 22, 2012

    Amazing

    Best series ever. Just love all the books. Must read whole series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 115 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6