Customer Reviews for

Promise Me (Myron Bolitar Series #8)

Average Rating 4
( 110 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(59)

4 Star

(26)

3 Star

(17)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 110 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2006

    Springtime in Heaven with Myron

    Fans of Myron Bolitar unite! Will our faithfulness and longing be duly served in this next Bolitar entry? I will endure feverishly the endless minutes until April 25th. If it is true Harlan would know the right time to bring Myron back, then this hiatus should be well worth its weight in YooHoo.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2014

    Good

    Very good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2012

    Great series! Never disappoints

    Bolitar series always stays fresh. They are interesting, fun, quick reads.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 11, 2012

    Awesome

    Love this series. Myron and Win forever!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2012

    Hmm...

    Pretty good...just started it :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2011

    Great read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Great Book!

    Harlan Coben is a great stoyteller. This book is certainly one to add to the list of great mysteries. I could not put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 15, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    My First Myron Bolitar Book

    Audio abridged: This is the second Harlan Coben I have listened to and I really liked it. The first book was very gory. This one is more suspenseful and book eight of a series. Myron Bolitar is a former Duke basketball player and self-described superhero. He makes a friend's teen promise, no matter the time or place, to call him instead of getting in the car with a drunk driver. The teen calls Myron just a few days later and of course, trouble ensues. I like the character of Myron. Coben narrates his own book and I pictured Seth Rogan as Myron. Only while Myron seems soft on the outside, he can kick some butt, shoot a gun and is very smart. The best character of the book is his mysterious friend Win. Win makes James Bond look like a noob. Win assesses every situation with pro and con and does what needs to be done. He is smug, but very likable. Overall, great book and I plan to look for some more in audio.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 17, 2011

    really good!

    Harlan Coben has a new fan...me. I will be reading more of his work!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 12, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    'Promise Me' you'll read this book!

    Promise Me by Harlan Coben is a book full of as many twists and turns as a 20 foot wet noodle caught in a tornado. In this intricate web woven by master craftsman Coben lie multiple parallel story lines. These include Myron Bolitar and his quest to find a girl and right a wrong while all the while keeping a 'promise', a central theme in this book. His friend Win, a very rich, scary, smart, and rarely kind man, helps him to achieve what he must. Also, running parallel and sometimes intertwining is the story of Detective Loren Muse and her investigation into several runaway/kidnapping situations that bring her and Bolitar's stories together.

    I think that this book is a fantastic read. Coben's style is full of surprises, shocks, and an array of emotions that paint a wonderful picture. His style of writing will keep you guessing until literally the last few pages. One of the only cons is how confusing and involved the novel can be. With all the storylines and plot developments the reader can become lost in the maze and forget key facts. But this is outweighed by how exciting it keeps the context of the book, making the reader constantly hunger for more. Read it and find out for yourself, I highly recommend this book to readers looking for something to hold their attention and give some excitement to their repertoire of novels.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2008

    Suspense and Suburban Desperation

    In Harlan Coben's, Promise Me, agent slash avenger, Myron Bolitar, inherits more than he bargained for when he asks a couple of teenage girls to promise and call him if they are ever in trouble. Coben delivers a plot full of action and misdirection that's sure to please mystery and suspense fans in this tale of suburban desperation. I liked the book, though I found the love scenes between Myron and his new girlfriend, Ali, to be a bit too cute. I also felt Myron's sidekick, Win, was an over-th-top hero. No matter what Myron needed or when he needed it, his buddy, Win, was there to deliver. That being said, Promise Me has that hard to define Make-you-want-to-read-it quality going in full force. Bob Avey, author of Beneath a Buried House

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2008

    A Must Read

    This was my first Harlan Coben book and won't be my last! I loved Myron Bolitar and can't wait to read the other books from his series. The story line was fast-moving and full of surprises yet easy to follow along and keep all of the characters in order. I highly recommend this book to anyone who likes a little drama and suspense.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2008

    good read

    This was the first book I have read by Harlan so I don't have the backround on Myron like most people. I thought the book was great, I loved Myron and felt so in tuned with him. There were unexpected turns which kept my attention, I read this book in a matter of 6 hours. I will definatley be reading more books by Harlan, and will be catching up on Myrons old ways.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2007

    Ohh Yeah!

    Spectacular Book. Stayed in my hands until i finished it, and i still didn't want to put it down. Very nice work Harlan Coben.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2008

    Welcome back, Myron. I missed you.

    From Chapter 29: Myron coughed more. He faked like he couldn't breath. He wheezed, he retched, he started coughing uncontrollably. ... Myron stuck his tongue out, gagged some more. Somewhere, a casting agent was speed-dialing Scorsese. This is the lengths to which Myron will go to survive a situation that could be ugly. What what lengths will he go to in order to keep a promise? He discovers keeping one special promise rocks his world, and not in a nice way. The basic plot is quite simple. But Myron sees waaay more than he would like to in the course of two or three weeks. Just to offer hope from a promise.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2007

    Couldn't put the book down!!!

    I've just recently started reading Harlan's books. He's a great author! I finished this book in a day and a half. I just couldn't put it down. He always keeps you guessing what's about to happen next. If you're like me and need a book that keeps your attention, this is it. Enjoy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2007

    A reviewer

    Harlan is one of my favorite authors. I have read the entire Myran Bolitar series and think they are terrific, but I thought this book was a disappointment. Maybe after 6 years Harlan should have kept Myron in the past. The plot was lackluster. I would still recommend reading this book, but only after you have read all of the better written, earlier books in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2007

    I Still Love Myron and Win

    Halan Coben still hasn't lost his touch in twist and turn of a story. Myron is more lay back in this book. May be because he's older now but Win is still my favorite psyche. The fast pace and full of humor prevails and I love it. I'm never disappointed with Harlan Coben's writing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2007

    Lover of Myron Bolitar

    I have enjoyed reading all of Harlan's books over the years and highly recommend the entire Myron Bolitar series! I love all his wild, funny and very loveable characters including Win.. Harlan can we have more Win?? Either way, I am anxiously awaiting his next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2007

    One of the best yet!

    I have read every book written by Harlan Coben (except the newest one) and have enjoyed them all, especially the Myron Bolitar series. This book is definitely one of the best. The dialogue between Myron, Win, and others is excellent. For those who look forward to Myron's 'smart-aleck' attitude, they will not be disappointed in this one. And...on top of all that, the story is outstanding! I definitely recommend this for everyone. If you're new to the Bolitar series there is some benefit to reading them in order but if not, this is still an excellent book. Thanks, Harlan!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 110 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6