Customer Reviews for

Promise Me (Myron Bolitar Series #8)

Average Rating 4
( 110 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(59)

4 Star

(26)

3 Star

(17)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 110 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2006

    Very difficult to put down

    This is the second Harlan Coben book I have read--The Innocent was the first. Now I can't wait to get my hands on another one. I was reading this at 5 am. I just fell in love with Myron Bolitar. A must read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2006

    Coben rocks!

    Do yourself a favor if you've never read his works. Go to the top of the page. Select 'Author', then search Harlan Coben. Get a copy of everything he's written, then read it from the first to the last. He NEVER fails to deliver. The characters are fully developed, and very plausible, but not really predictable. The story lines are phenomenal. He writes in the full range of human emotions and adds a good deal of low key humor, which appeals to me greatly. If you want a good read, pick Coben!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2006

    Haran! You hurt me ears!!

    I'm a huge Myron Bolitar fan, but I got really spoiled with the books on tape and was very disapointed with this one. Harlan Coben himself reads this one with horrid results. I couldn't get past the second CD. (waste of money) you could barley understand the dialogue and his voice was the same for all characters you couldn't tell who was speaking. Very bad idea. I then had to spend another large sum to buy the book. I guess I was a little annoyed about all the money I shelled out I simply felt it wasn't worth it. Note to Harlan Coben: Be the great writer you are and leave the audio to someone else. I was really frustrated I felt cheated (financially!)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2006

    My first Myron Bolitar

    I've read all of Harlan Coben's other books but this was my first Myron Bolitar. I am a new fan. I loved it. Lot's of twists and turns, it had me guessing until the very end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2006

    At long last....Myron returns!

    Great story...loved Myron and the colorful cast of characters as always...but the absence of Jonathan Marosz performing the audio was a terrible disappointment. Throughout the whole book I kept thinking... Mr.Coben...love your book, but 'promise me' you will choose another reader for the next Myron adventure...which I faithfully look forward to.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2006

    Loved it!

    Another great read by Harlan Coben! Didn't realize how much I missed Myron Bolitar and the gang! What a great thriller! Forget Alex Delaware...Myron rocks!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2006

    BETTER THAN 5 STARS!

    This is the best book I've read in a very long time. Right from the start you're captivated. Myron Bolitar is a great character, as is Win. Lots of twists and surprises, right up to the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    MYRON SPEAKS AND WE LISTEN

    Promises kept, promises broken - both can get you in a lot of trouble as we learn in Harlan Coben's up-to-the-minute thriller. In addition to clever plotting and twists-plus- turns suspense, we're pleased to see the return of Myron Bolitar, the tall, very likable entertainment agent cum basketball star. Myron isn't, never has been unaware of what goes on in the world, especially in the sometimes conflicted lives of teenagers. So, as graduation time nears, he becomes concerned about the safety of two girls in his neighborhood. Rather than have them risk their lives by getting into a car with a drunk driver he tells them to call him if they're reluctant to call their parents. Sure enough an S.O.S. call from Aimee Biel comes in the middle of the night. Playing Sir Galahad Myron picks up Aimee and drives her to where she says her friend lives. Friend or foe? Aimee is soon nowhere to be found and Myron is the last one to have seen her. Obviously, he must find her. His search is punctuated by romance with a widow, and crisscrossed by paths that lead him back to earlier days. A treat to hear this narrated by Cohen who knows precisely what to emphasize and where every period and comma belongs. - Gail Cooke

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2006

    Welcome Back Myron Bolitar

    Every one of us who enjoys reading Myron Bolitar Series such as Drop Shot, One False Move and so on, will love to read Promise Me also. Mr.Coben still has the touch to amuse me with that sports agent charactor, no matter in what murder case he might pursue. This time Myron involved himself in a case of missing person and a promise he had to fufill, another mystery to be solved. The book is quite a page flipper, as usual from Coben.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2006

    Excellent

    Harlan Coben has once again written a book that keeps you up at night to finish! He never disappoints!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2006

    I love Myron Bolitar!!!

    The long wait for another Myron story was well worth it. The regular characters from previous books are back and better than ever. Very compelling read, and I didn't see the twist towards the end coming!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    An exciting story line

    Former Boston Celtics superstar turned entertainment especially sports agent Myron Bolitar has not had an incident in six years no fights no murders no injuries. He is seeing 9/11 widow Ali Wilder and likes her high school aged daughter Erin. When he overhears Erin and her best friend Aimee Biel, discuss being driven by stoned friends, he offers them no questions asked middle of the night taxi service if either needs a lift.------------- Soon after the offer Aimee tests him by asking for a Manhattan to New Jersey ride to a friend¿s house that is to remain secret. The next day Aimee is reported missing and credit card records tip police that Myron was with her making him a person of interest. When further evidence paints a scenario eerily similar to the disappearance of another girl Katie Rochester involving Myron a few months ago, the agent becomes the prime suspect but not just of the police. Myron knows he must enter dangerous maze to rescue the teen and to extract himself from potential criminal charges all because he tried to keep THE INNOCENT Aimee out of trouble.--------------- As always Myron is the Good Samaritan who learns once again no good deed goes unpunished. The exciting story line is typical Harlan Coben with plenty of action and numerous twists this time the final spin will shock the audience. Fans of the series will welcome Bolitar who has not been in literary trouble in six years back on the scene with a terrifically tense thriller.---------------- Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2006

    His Best

    Got an advanced copy and wow! Tell No One was my favorite and I was never a big fan of the Myron books, but this one is just the best. You can't stop turning pages and you'll love the characters. It is engrossing and very moving.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 110 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 6