Customer Reviews for

Promise Me This

Average Rating 4.5
( 130 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(93)

4 Star

(26)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted April 18, 2012

    This was my first book by Cathy Gohlke. I really looked forward

    This was my first book by Cathy Gohlke. I really looked forward to reading this story. Although it was different than what I had expected, it was a good read and beautifully written.

    Owen and Allie Allen are brother and sister. Their parents died and young Allie went to live with their mean aunt Eleanor in England. Owen saved money to sail to America to help an Aunt and Uncle with their garden business. Owen sails to America first with the promise to get Allie as soon as he has earned enough money.
    Owen has a golden heart and takes pity on a stowaway on board Titanic.

    Michael has ran away from the horrible life he lived with his abusive uncle. He is surprised by the love that Owen shows for him when he finds him on board Titanic. Owen is planning a new life for Michael in America and is teaching him all about plants and seeds. When the disaster happens with Titanic Owen gives Michael a chance for a future.

    When Michael comes to America he is lovingly adopted by Aunt Maggie and Daniel. He's a hard worker and helps to make the gardens profitable. He's working hard to earn enough money to get Annie to America, meanwhile the two start writing letters.

    Annie has a lot to adapt to after Owen left. She starts to love Michaels letters, but when WWI breaks out something happens and no one hears anything from Annie anymore.
    What happened? Is she safe?

    There surely happens a lot in this story, many years pass. And sometimes I wondered if some parts could have left out. Therefor I give 4 stars instead of 5. The writing is pleasant, the research well done, the characters are very real. Altogether this makes a good story!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2012

    Moving melodrama

    I was lucky to snag Promise Me This as a freebie. I wasn't sure how much I would like the book, but the fact that the story included the Titanic piqued my interest. In the first few chapters I was afraid that my concerns about the story would prove true as I found the early chapters to be slow and awkward; the characters did not feel fully fleshed out. But I plodded on determined to give the story a chance. I am SO glad I did not give up.

    When the story reached the Titanic and its fateful sinking, Ms. Gohlke really started to hit her stride as a storyteller, and I got hooked. From there on, the story reminded me of one my favorite shows -- Downton Abbey. Like Downton Abbey, the story touches on the sinking of the Titanic, the women's rights movement and World War I and has a healthy dose of melodrama thrown in for good measure. I loved it! It was also nice to see the main characters of Michael and Annie develop over the course of the story from teenagers to young adults.

    I would recommend this book to anyone who is a fan of Downton Abbey and/or has an interest in the Titanic and World War I. It was a nice read with a sweet romance, that actually ended up taking a few surprising twists and turns along the way.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 2, 2014

    In Owen Allen, Promise Me This offers a portrait of true selfles

    In Owen Allen, Promise Me This offers a portrait of true selflessness. Michael Dunnagan’s life would have turned out much differently if his path hadn’t intersected with Owen’s. An orphan terribly abused by the uncle who was supposed to raise him, by God’s grace, Michael meets Owen, who offers him the chance to build a new life in America. But tragedy strikes their ship, the Titanic, and Owen is lost, leaving Michael to find his way alone to Owen’s aunt and uncle. There he finds a loving home and genuine redemption as he fulfills Owen’s promise to rebuild this kindly couple’s failing business.

    Owen left his sister, Annie, behind in England to finish her education, with the promise that as soon as their relatives’ business prospered, he would send for her. After Owen’s death she falls under the control of their vindictive aunt, but it is Annie’s bitter heart that rules her life even more strongly. Yet over time Michael’s letters soften that hard soil, and a tender love begins to grow between them. Through even the horrors of WWI, the selfless love Owen sowed in Annie’s heart continues to strengthen, and then flower, until at last it chokes out the evil fruit borne of her aunt’s injustice.

    I found this story to be both moving and convicting. We often give lip service to the concept of selflessness, but in reality we live according to our own selfish desires. Truly selfless love—like that of Jesus—joyfully sacrifices its life for others despite the cost, and by that love hurting people are made whole. How different is our perspective from God’s!

    I love the way this author creates characters who become dear friends you come to care deeply about. I love her engaging plots and moving themes that seem simple on the surface but in fact are profound. Although, for me, the last part of the story seemed to drag a bit, the ending was wonderful and well worth reading through to the end. I highly recommend Promise Me This as a tender and life-changing story with many convicting take-aways we can all benefit from.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2013

    Good

    Good read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2013

    I got totally drawn into this novel. Very well written and hard

    I got totally drawn into this novel. Very well written and hard to put down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2013

    Great book

    Really liked this story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2013

    Great book

    Took a few chapters to get really hooked but was well worth the time spent. Great story covering the Titanic disaster & WWI & the struggle to continue on & survive

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2012

    An Entertaining and Epic Novel

    Annie Allen is the last surviving member of her family. Her mother died in childbirth, her father died in an accident, and her older brother Owen died on the Titanic. Left to live with her revengeful, manipulative aunt, Annie finds herself fighting to keep her soul hopeful and unembittered. Through letters to the boy Owen saved and under the watchful eye of the executor of her family's will, Annie begins to put the pieces of her life back together. Then WWI arrives, and everything Annie has worked so hard to rebuild is destroyed yet again.

    I am not a huge fan of Christian Women's literature, but this book caught me completely off guard. It is almost an adventure story, where the characters are thrown obstacle after obstacle and somehow manage to survive. Spanning two continents helps to add to the drama, as does utilizing the sinking of the Titanic and WWI, but most of the suspense actually comes in the relational dynamics between the different characters - something I really enjoyed.

    There is violence - the death and destruction surrounding the Titanic and WWI are described with enough detail to justify Annie's depression and despair. There is not much language, just period slang inserted for 'flavor'. Some innuendo, which is expected given the relationship which develops between Annie and Michael.

    My biggest gripe is that the book ended too quickly. I can understand why it ends like it does; as it stands the story still manages to cover two major historical events spanning a decade and two continents plus a large cast of characters. But this leaves some events and characters underdeveloped. I wish they had broken up the novel into a series and finished fleshing everything out instead of fitting the entire epic between two covers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 1, 2012

    Promise Me This

    Sunday, July 1, 2012Promise Me This


    A stunning story of two men, one woman, and their spiritual growth. The story begins with the launch of Titanic and ends with the completion of the World War I. This story will forever live in the reader's heart.


    On a positive note, this is a story of struggle, the struggle to lay down one's life and dreams, the struggle to receive a new life, a new hope, a new opportunity, the struggle to forgive, and the struggle to mature into one's God-given courage. The story is well-researched down to the smallest detail. Well-written descriptions of Titanic brought to mind images of Cameron's movie from the late 1990's. I appreciate Mrs. Gohlke's mention of the older couple who went to their death together in the accident. That account always moves my heart.


    On a critical note, I found Owen's character unbelievable at best and Michael's character almost believable. The love story took some imagination from the reader to conceive. Beneath it all, I enjoyed the Christ imaginary/the methaphor for Owen's death used through out the story and the beautiful handwritten letters through out. I thought the the story could have ended sooner than it did but later saw how Mrs. Gohlke needed the extra 100 pages to allow Annie to grow.


    This story is most importantly about healing and growing something beautiful for God and his glory.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2012

    Just One More Chapter

    I enjoyed this book. Some readers were upset that involved more of WWI than of the Titanic, but that didn't bother me. I liked the story line and enjoyed seeing Michael mature and grow into a man. Though, I didn't completely understand the aunt's motives in blackmailing Annie. I just needed another 10 pages or another chapter to wrap the book up for me. I wanted more at the ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2012

    Very well written

    This is a very well written with a lot of true history in it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2012

    Very nice read,albeit basically predictable

    I enjoyed reading this Christian themed book. While most of it was predictable it was still worth the time to read. I would definitely recommend this book and author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 20, 2012

    Nice involved story. Keeps you cheering for the good guys/gals!

    One I'd read again!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2012

    Loved it!

    Good story! I felt how hard the things the people had to do were. Good clean love story!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 13, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I really enjoyed this book

    I really enjoyed this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2012

    I enjoyed this book very much!

    This story actually had me hollering at the characters towards the end. I was very concerned that the main couple would miss each other yet again, like they kept doing throughout the book. The scenes aboard the Titanic were touching, especially as I read this during the 100th anniversary of its sinking. The religious aspects got a bit heavy-handed for me, but I just skimmed over them, without losing any of the story. I would have liked more backstory on the aunt; why was she so hell-bent on *spoiler* ruining everyone's life around her? She was just touched on. There were a few other unanswered questions in this story, but overall, I really enjoyed it, and would recommend it to others.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2