Customer Reviews for

Promise Me Tonight

Average Rating 4
( 46 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(23)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 47 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted December 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Georgian romance readers will fully appreciate the first Weston sibling tale

    In 1784, the oldest of five sisters six years old Isabella Weston wrote a letter to her dear mama telling her she will marry her older brother Henry's best friend, James Sheffield. Years later, she still knew he was the one for her. With her coming out in 1797, Izzie plans to claim James as hers.

    James was raised by an ice cold grandfather after his parents died when he was ten. He learned from the nasty old man that he was unworthy of love. Izzie begins her seduction scheme with a dress that will make him desire her. She follows with a kiss that leaves him senseless. Izzie knows James wants her and believes he loves her, but he rejects the concept that someone could love him. With her six siblings at her side, the magnificent seven mount a campaign to prove to James he belongs first to Izzie and second to all of them.

    Although somewhat straightforward of a plot, Georgian romance readers will fully appreciate the first Weston sibling tale due to a strong lead couple and a fully developed support cast; especially her sisters. Obstinate Izzie knows who she wants and plans to make him hers. James is the more fascinating character as he believes strongly no one could ever love him, but General Izzie and her sisters mount a campaign to prove his assertion false. Promise Me Tonight (and forever) is a wonderful opening act with homage to the Bard.

    Harriet Klausner

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 3, 2011

    Full of Romance!

    This was a great read...it was more romance-packed than action-packed. I couldn't put it down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Fun characters, but a bit light on story.

    Sara Lindsey has managed to create a tidy little romance novel that is well-structured and full of memorable characters. In fact, I have never encountered such a darling character as the lead in this novel, Isabella. She's vibrant, she's flawed, she's passionate, and she's charming even when being imperious. Lindsey has certainly managed to capture something special in that little package of oomph and awww.

    Perhaps my only disappointment in the story is not that it's a bad story, not at all, but that it would benefit from just one more layer of plot. It's almost too simple in its conflict, and with such intellectual handling of the characters and their personalities, I have faith that Lindsey will manage to translate that creativity to a more dense and meaty story in future books.

    All in all, Promise Me Tonight is a light, enjoyable romp with some delightful characters, and a charming debut from a talented young writer.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2010

    soooo good read this book in 4 days

    i loved this book its a must buy you will read it again and again .

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2010

    Promise Me Tonight Review

    This is a great book and it was exciting the entire time. There were happy moments, angry moments, and sad moments, very thrilling and touching. I enjoyed it tremendously and do have to say that I haven't read a book this good for a long time.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 22, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Not A Good Read

    I found this book to be unable to hold the readers attention. It dragged and I did not even finish it. It went straight to the sell books pile. This would be a good book to borrow from the library.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2010

    Promise Me Tonight

    The beginning of a series? Check. Love with best friend's sister trope? Check. Debut author with a good deal of buzz? Check.

    One of my favorite romantic tropes is falling in love with BFF's sister/brother. I may like this type of story more than a secret baby plot. Regardless, what I loved about Isabella Weston is her confidence. Confident she loves James; confident that James loves her (especially after her coming out); confident they belong together.

    The final third of the book doesn't sit well with me because Izzie has lost this spark, this drive, this confidence. Certainly, she's been through a ordeal until this point of the book -- no one blames her for her decisions or her reactions to the hand life has dealt her. I just wanted her to react differently and felt disappointed when she didn't, when she seemingly lost all her previous gumption and determination and, yes, confidence until James decides to pull his head out of the sand.

    That being said, Ms. Lindsey crafts a well-rounded and strong heroine, qualities I hope I see again in June with Tempting the Marquess, which features Isabella's younger sister, Olivia.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Great!

    One of my new favorite authors. I'm a new fan. :]

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 47 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3