Customer Reviews for

Promise You Won't Tell?

Average Rating 3.5
( 33 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2013

    Bad

    Really, really bad, on all levels. One of the worst books I have read in the two years I have had my nook. The cursing was horrible, there was explicict same gender sex, the plot was boring, the dialog horrendous, the characters unlikable, the length too long for the storyline. I will stop at this, as my complaints would drag on longer then the book. Save yourself from teeth grinding frustration and skip this one. Even though free, I want my money back for reading it.

    AD

    11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2013

    Weird

    Thankfully it was free

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2014

    recommend

    good book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2014

    Recommended

    Good reading material

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 2, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    I see so many bad reviews about this book but I loved it! Danni

    I see so many bad reviews about this book but I loved it! Danni is so funny. She really makes you laugh out loud! The plot line is pretty interesting and rather unique as well. I would definitely read another novel written by John Locke. Hilarious! A+

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2014

    So So

    This book is so so. Quick read and never really got into the characters. Wasn't bad but definitely wasn't great either.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2014

    too confusing

    Too much dialog which is fine, I started book and after a few chapters I could not figure out who's talking. No thanks had no idea what was going on

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2014

    Great

    I loved this book it was funny, cute, and just plan funny

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2014

    Who puts a sticker there?

    ?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2014

    Dani Ripper is a private investigator specializing mostly in cat

    Dani Ripper is a private investigator specializing mostly in catching marital cheaters and liars in the most unorthodox methods, like using soiled panties. Well, like she said, to be a P.I., “you must be…sensual, cute, adorable, cunning, clever, and so much more…[It] requires a computer, a car, and a reliable bladder.” (409)


    Then Riley, a 17-year old girl, comes in, claiming she may have been molested at a slumber party. The case is on for Dani.


    The whole thing was mostly written is a back-and-forth conversational tone with Dani asking the questions and her receiving short, quick answers (this was an interrogation, after all.)


    “Every predator I’ve ever met had a Jekyll and Hyde personality…I need the photos. They’re as critical as Monika Lewinsky’s dress. Without the dress, there was no affair.” (1517) Each new clue brings the perceptive Dani closer and closer to the truth. What the heck happened on that night? You just have to know!


    Narrated in Dani’s sarcastic and brazen voice, this book is a quick mystery and good for a laugh. It was like reading her journal—she was basically talking to it (or the reader, actually.) Dani Ripper was the female Holden Caulfield; she had the same humorous, snappy quips as Lorelais Gilmore, but in a more crude and cynical way. She was good—a sure spit-fire!


    At first, I thought we weren’t going to know what happened on that tape, after finally getting our hands on it. I thought, “What a rip!” But it turns out it was just Dani’s way of making a bad joke to the reader. So not funny. I liked that she didn’t go into graphic detail about what happened. I never would’ve anticipated the way it ended.


    Wildly entertaining! I want to read more Dani Ripper mysteries/cases.



    Up next in the series: Call Me (on my TBR list)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2013

    GREAT book

    I did not want to put it down. It was one of the best books I have read in a while. Will try to read more by John Locke.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2013

    So far so good!!!

    Reading the sample is intrasting wish i could get it for free ughh really want to kn more :-\ does anyone know where to go online to get it for free

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2013

    Another great John Locke novel

    This is a great story about a female private detective that has a lot of excitement and interesting twists and turns. Like all John Lock novels, you will not be able to put it down after you start to read it until you reach the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2013

    Great read

    I really liked the plot and the writing style. I will agree that it read like a movie plot, but i read it non-stop. I coul not put it down. Every time i thought i had it figured out, the plot turned.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2013

    No name

    Not bad, but the ending was the whole story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2013

    Awesome

    Couldnt put it down. Literally.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2013

    Not good

    I couldn't even finish it. Glad i didn't pay money for it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2013

    Not what I expected it to be

    This book was not what I expected it to be at all. The end made the book when it was all wrapped up and you had all the answers to the questions. However I wasn't the biggest fan of the writing style. It was lots and lots of conversations back and forth between characters. I felt like it was written more like a movie script otherwise I would have given it 4 stars. Wasn't a bad book in general though...didn't see the end coming.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2