Customer Reviews for

Promise of Blood (Powder Mage Trilogy #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 44 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(29)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted April 20, 2013

    I am not an avid reader of the fantasy genre by any means, and i

    I am not an avid reader of the fantasy genre by any means, and in fact my wife picked the book up for me. I read the back cover and it sounded interesting so I started reading the book. What a great story! I thought the descriptions painted a very clear picture of the world of the Nine Kingdoms without bogging down the story and the maps in the front of the book were an excellent addition. I thought the characters were well developed and I felt that I really got to know them by the end of the book. The ideas put forth were unique and the different kinds of magic used by the characters was easy to understand even for someone not used to reading fantasy books. The story itself builds and builds, there are twists and mysteries, and in the end you are definately wanting more. I can't wait for the second book of the trilogy! I would recommend this book to anyone who loves a truly good story. I wouldn't be surprised if this book was made into a movie or tv mini-series. To Brian McClellan, the author, I say well done........GREAT first book.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    I have never been a big reader of fantasy at all but my friend g

    I have never been a big reader of fantasy at all but my friend gave me this book and when I first read the back of the book it did not look interesting at all.  I took a chance at it and read the first few pages and within 5 pages I was hooked.  Now that I finished the book I can honestly say it was one of the BEST books I ever read it has a story line of limitless possibility's with surprises around ever corner. There was not a moment in the book that I was bored. In the story you get to know every character and be interested in every detail of there life and if one of them dies its like losing a friend. In this book there is not a simple enemy and good guys because all sides are fighting for what they believe in and you truly don't know what side is better when it comes to all out war It throws together civil war era technology, magic and mid-evil monarchy kingdoms.  It is a great book and I HIGHLY recommend it to anyone looking for a new kind of book to read or if your interested in fantasy's YOU NEED THIS BOOK!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2014

    A juicy read with enough tasty meat on the bone for sci-fi and fantasy aficianados alike...

    As a voracious reader, primarily within both fantasy and sci-fi genres, it is not an exaggeration when I say that i've literally read houndreds of novels over the last forty years. Over that span I've read someaz amazing stories that are the pinnacle of their genres; unfortunately novels of that calibre are too far and inbetween. There are many more that are disgraces - some so bad that I actually get mad that they were published, and that I had the misfortune of being exposed to their tripe. The vast majority of them fell somewhere inbetween - basically readable, but wholly forgettable.

    Overall I find most fantasy novels follow the same basic, boring plot, usually with one or two literary cheap tricks that allows the author to convince himself that his novel is different. It is rare to find a fantasy, or fantasy/sci-fi blend, that brings something new, fresh, and fully realized into the genre; finding a first novel from a new author that does this is truly rare indeed. So it was a true joy to find this first novel that completely exceeded my expectations.

    The absolute best of these high caliber, outstanding novels smoothly pull the reader into their mileu ins such a way that reading them is not only effortless, they immerse the reader in such a way that it feels more like you're watching a movie that is playing in your head, rather than reading words on a page. This first installment of McClellan's Powder Sage Trilogy not only delivers in such a way, it does so in spades.

    I'm not going to provide a detailed synopsis - this has already been done by other reviewers, and it has been done very well. Instead I simply wanted to add my voice to the (nearly) unanimous chorus of praises from the other reviewers.

    Simply put, if you're a fantasy/sci-fi fan, you owe it to yourself to get this novel immediately; and if you're just someone who likes to read a well-told story, I promise you that you can't go wrong picking it up as well.

    Who knows? This is the type of novel that just may turn you into a fantasy/sci-fi fan as well!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2013

    Already Loving It

    I haven't even finished this book yet and I've already bought the next in the series. The characters are well developed without giving to much away to quickly, and the writing is strong overall. It has also been refreshing to read a book in this genre with new ideas that I haven't seen before (or at least have not been overdone).

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2015

    Great

    Great

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2014

    Gripping

    Interesting use if magic. Cannot wait to read more about this world.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2014

    Amazing New World

    The author has crafted a beautiful world and the characters are ones you would like to get to know (and perhaps sit down and have a beer with).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2013

    Snorting powder

    Damn good book !

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2013

    Great novel

    Great novel, highly recommend to anyone who likes fantasy books. One of the best I've read in a long time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2013

    Solid read

    Worth reading

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2013

    Best emerging author i have read in some time.

    A unique blend of fantasy and technology. A truly imersive world has been created here. It was a magnificent and addictive read. I cant wait for the next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 21, 2013

    Intriguing First Novel

    Field Marshall Tamas leads a bloody revolution to overthrow the king for the good of the people. The coup begins a chain of events, starting with an old legend and ending with the return of a saint, that could lead to the destruction of the world. Can Tamas and his allies prevent this?

    A bit uneven in places, the book as a whole is a wonderful story and a great first novel. Highly looking forward to the second book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 25, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    This is my kind of fantasy, nonstop! Recommended to fans of Brandon Sanderson & Ken Scholes.

    We learn right away why and who overthrew the King. But there was mor in the works as well that muddy up the outcome of the land. With each page the story grows deeper, the world sharper and bigger, the magics defined. This is how fantasy is done. Everything with each word and interest is held with whats to come.

    We have four Point Of Views we follow. Neat having a mystery investigation going on while a war as well. We get all seats as the reader on the war front, in the investigation, the Royalist, and the man who lead the coup. Adamat, the investigator looking to get us the history information and also a few possible leads on who's behind the troubles from another kingdom as trouble finds him. Tamas, the Field marshal who set the coup in motion. Taniel, Tamas's son and weapon. Nila, a wash maid who has found herself with one child who's to be dead with the rest of the nobility.

    The magic is catching here. I love the feel with the powder mages and their ability to take powders to influence powder and bullets. The key - gun powder. But it's neat. There are different magics here as well. The Privileged are an interesting group that we constantly learn secrets from and of another mysterious group. The Privileged seem to be at odds with the powder mages and a bit on the opposite realm of magic. They have what feels as traditional magic in terms of fantasy and gods. Then there is the gods that left the world as well. There was a strong magic there.

    The story. I'm stuck on the idea. the man who kills the king and any chance of distant heirs for the good of the people. Only to still have people loyal to the kings line and an even stronger reason for why the Kings line has been here since the beginning of time. For me this story showed a side we don't always see and I enjoyed it. I can see the right and wrongs in what is being done, but as a reader I'm seeing both sides of the story. The characters aren't. And this makes a grey line that is amazing to follow. I think this is the part that made the story all that much sweeter for me to read. By the end, we learn what the truth of the world is with their gods. And it could create more issues and troubles than any had ever imagined.

    What happens after the King and nobles are overthrown? This is it! Loved the feel of different magics and gods here. Loved the fantasy action and wars. This is highly suggested to fans of Brandon Sanderson and Ken Scholes. This is another amazing story of the fantasy I love, and how it's done.

    Are the Gods and the stories real? I love what Tamas learns, and means troubles for him and the world - to come. Ooooo to see what's to come!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 19, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Eduardo Aduna for Readers' Favorite Promise of Bloo

    Reviewed by Eduardo Aduna for Readers' Favorite

    Promise of Blood, the first book of Bryan Mclellan's The Powder Mage Trilogy is one of the best fantasy debuts of 2013. Set in the aftermath of a successful coup d'etat, the novel follows the fates of a ruthless usurper, his marksman son, and a skilled detective as they weather the political storms that wrack the kingdom. Betrayal and murder lurk in every corner as individuals and groups, with their own insidious agendas, squabble over the ruins of Adro. Amidst the chaos, Tamas, Taniel and Adamat must make unlikely alliances and break long-standing bonds in order to stop a god from annihilating their country.

    Promise of Blood is a tightly-written and magnificently crafted work. For me, an author's ability to create a world isn't in what he or she shows, but at what the writer hints at and hides. Brian Mclellan crafts a book with explosive characters, a great setting, and a magnificently woven plot. But there is still a richness in the material waiting in the shadows, the ones hinted at in bits and pieces found in the character's dialogue, which makes the Nine Kingdoms all too real. From start to finish, the book is a dusty journey undertaken at breakneck speed. Starting with the aftermath of a coup is perhaps one of the best ways to start a fantasy novel. As the dust settles, characters are exposed at their most vulnerable state -- raw, edgy and just plain tired. Then the chaos follows as factions fight over the pieces, all the while unaware that a greater threat looms. 

    Brian McClellan has created distinct characters that have the potential to live on in the fantasy genre's lore. This isn't just true for the main characters. My favorite, Olem, is a bodyguard who loves smoking, can't sleep and has a wicked sense of humor. We have a god who cooks and a priest with a harem. The book has two distinct magic systems with hints of other esoteric practices just over the horizon. Readers will have a grand time imagining themselves as powder mages; snorting gunpowder and guiding flying bullets. An all around fantasy adventure that rejuvenates the genre's tropes instead of just recycling them, the Promise of Blood definitely delivers. If Mclellan keeps this up, Brandon Sanderson, Joe Abercrombie and Brent Weeks better watch out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2013

    I love the world this book creates. I'm all for magic and guns.

    I love the world this book creates. I'm all for magic and guns. The combinations of technology and fantasy always make me giddy. That said, this book isn't Steampunk in its atmosphere; it's too fantasy for that. If it's on the Steampunk meter at all it would be on the very miniscule side. It's more military to me, but who cares.

    It's a very fast-paced book in that it doesn't take the time to really ever info-dump. While confusing at first, I caught on to what things like a powder mage and the Privileged were through the context which is pretty neat. I'm neither professional reader or dumb in that I like being allowed to figure things out on my own without it being too complex that I can't make heads or tails of it.

    ... If that makes any sense.

    I gave it four stars instead of five simply because of one thing: I am picky with my women. I think I liked all of them except Nila. Maybe I'm jealous because Olem liked her.

    (... Olem=<3)

    But I like to think it was more because at this point she seems just more of an add-on. I know she'll play a larger role later. For now, though, it took the whole book to set her up for her story. The other women could have been treated better for my tastes as well.

    Still, I recommend it for anyone that has army-esque fantasy tastes. It's a wonderful book! I hope the second one comes out soon!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2013

    Underrated A Must Read For Fantasy Lovers

    If you are a fan of fantasy this underrated book deserves your attention. The author wanders at the beginning so that may have discouraged some readers but he quickly finds his voice and delivers a great story with enough surprises for even the most jaded readers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Absolutely loved the book!  A new take on magic and an interesti

    Absolutely loved the book!  A new take on magic and an interesting plot line make it a book that is hard to put down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 23, 2013

    Very good book! New and exciting!

    Very good book! New and exciting!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3