Customer Reviews for

Promise of the Rose (De Warenne Dynasty Series)

Average Rating 4.5
( 45 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(25)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Good, but not great

I think I need to stop picking up books set in early time periods like this because there's a creep factor for me when the heroine is 16 and the hero is twice her age. It was a great story, but I felt like all the bitterness, anger, and fighting went on for way too long...
I think I need to stop picking up books set in early time periods like this because there's a creep factor for me when the heroine is 16 and the hero is twice her age. It was a great story, but I felt like all the bitterness, anger, and fighting went on for way too long. It was dragged out. But, nevertheless it was a good story and wasn't a waste of money.

posted by lovebug9288 on May 17, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Is this love?

I enjoy Brenda Joyce's historic novels more than anyone else's but I was a bit baffled by Mary and Stephen. Just becuase is fiction doesnt mean it needs to be fantastical and it seems that in reality it would be impossible for a woman (no matter how sexually denied she ...
I enjoy Brenda Joyce's historic novels more than anyone else's but I was a bit baffled by Mary and Stephen. Just becuase is fiction doesnt mean it needs to be fantastical and it seems that in reality it would be impossible for a woman (no matter how sexually denied she has been) to fall so utterly in lust with a scary stranger that kidnaps her and who happens to be the enemy of her country.

It was hard for me to like the plot with Mary wasting time arguing over unimportant thing but caving without a word when things really mattered. Is love supposed to be about a loss of dignity, pride, family, convention, shame, honor and everything else? I am all for uncontrollable passion but is so much more believable if the character at least TRIES to controll it, but the trial and tribulation of forbidden lust is completely non-existent in the story because there is no control, no deprivation. Everyone knows long term gratification after self-denial is much sweeter than instant gratification, so even though the tension tried to be conveyed in the story suggest that she is fighting her lust, her passions and her love, the reality is she really doesnt.

In her stories it always seems like the women are the ones that have always something to prove to the hero, even though is the hero the one doing all the messing up. Mary constantly tried to prove her loyalty to Stephan to no avail when HE should've been the one proving himself to her, since HE is the one that took her from her family and attacked her country.

I was left with an odd sense of dissatisfaction, like I was waiting more from him. I was waiting for him to deserve her. I was waiting for him to make SOME sacrifice since she had sacrificed EVERYTHING for him, principles, family, patriotism, etc.

posted by romance_addict82 on August 18, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted July 21, 2011

    I enjoyed reading this book.

    I enjoy reading books from this time period and a brief note to lovebug9588, Mary was sixteen and Stephen was twenty-three. Obviously not twice her age.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 18, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Is this love?

    I enjoy Brenda Joyce's historic novels more than anyone else's but I was a bit baffled by Mary and Stephen. Just becuase is fiction doesnt mean it needs to be fantastical and it seems that in reality it would be impossible for a woman (no matter how sexually denied she has been) to fall so utterly in lust with a scary stranger that kidnaps her and who happens to be the enemy of her country.

    It was hard for me to like the plot with Mary wasting time arguing over unimportant thing but caving without a word when things really mattered. Is love supposed to be about a loss of dignity, pride, family, convention, shame, honor and everything else? I am all for uncontrollable passion but is so much more believable if the character at least TRIES to controll it, but the trial and tribulation of forbidden lust is completely non-existent in the story because there is no control, no deprivation. Everyone knows long term gratification after self-denial is much sweeter than instant gratification, so even though the tension tried to be conveyed in the story suggest that she is fighting her lust, her passions and her love, the reality is she really doesnt.

    In her stories it always seems like the women are the ones that have always something to prove to the hero, even though is the hero the one doing all the messing up. Mary constantly tried to prove her loyalty to Stephan to no avail when HE should've been the one proving himself to her, since HE is the one that took her from her family and attacked her country.

    I was left with an odd sense of dissatisfaction, like I was waiting more from him. I was waiting for him to deserve her. I was waiting for him to make SOME sacrifice since she had sacrificed EVERYTHING for him, principles, family, patriotism, etc.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2009

    The best book I have read in a very long time

    I loved this book. I could not put the book down and read it the whole way through. It was exciting and kept me interested the whole book. There was sadness, happiness, angry and ultimately love. This book will definitely end up with a few others that I find the best so far. Brenda Joyce is a great author and I have been buying more of her books and find them all very interesting and keeps me on the edge of my seat. A MUST READ....

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Good, but not great

    I think I need to stop picking up books set in early time periods like this because there's a creep factor for me when the heroine is 16 and the hero is twice her age. It was a great story, but I felt like all the bitterness, anger, and fighting went on for way too long. It was dragged out. But, nevertheless it was a good story and wasn't a waste of money.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    a wonderful historical romance

    This book is a wonderful historical romance that will keep you cheering on the characters for a happy ending from the beginning to the end. It is a wonderful asset to the De Warrene Dynasty that Brenda Joyce has created. Good luck putting it down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2007

    A Good Read....

    I am a really picky medieval romance reader...but I truly enjoyed this story. The only thing that I've found to be disappointing is that I haven't found a sequel. I'd love to see what became of Doug McKinnon, Geoffrey de Warenne and Stephen's other brothers as well as his little sister Isobel. Overall, I would definitely recommend this as good read and I appreciate how Brenda Joyce tried to stay as true to the historical facts as possible.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2014

    THE WAY IT WAS - EXCELLENT

    Mary is a perfect example of how women were tolerated and used for centuries. She was actually novel in her attempted adventures from the beginning with Doug Mackinnon and continuing on with her challenges to her father Malcom and Stephen her husband. I did not like her being hit by Stephan but, again, that's the way it was. Finished it in one day. LORRAINE

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2013

    Spoiler

    I like her stories for the.most part. The problem with this book was Stephen not listening to a word she said and his infedility! Mary suffered this whole book and while the book described him as being sorry, he never really said it. He should have gotten on his knees and begged for her forgiveness

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2012

    Just No

    I couldnt finish this book! The heroine was so annoying! I wanted to slap her! I was surprised because I loved The Conqueror

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2012

    Loved it!

    I really loved this book, its was a great read!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2010

    Please release this as an ebook!

    I want this entire series on an ebook! Please!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2009

    A GREAT BOOK

    I love all Brenda Joyce books, all I can say once you read this book you will go back to find and read all of the DeWarenne Family books

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2008

    STEAMY!!

    This is one of the best books I've ever read!! Brenda Joyce is amazing in this follow up to The Conquerer - Stephen is one of the best heros because of his strength and vulnerability. You will not be able to put it down. I've read it a few times and every time is just as good as the first time I read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2006

    Loved it!

    I read this book a few years ago and I loved it! I have re-read it many times since and will probably continue to do so. This was my first novel by Ms. Joyce and I was not disappointed! The only hang up I had was that Mary kept running away. Well, only twice on her own and one of those times her intentions were noble, but still! I was like, girl, give it a rest! But that wasn't enough to give me any sort of a negative opinion. Bravo, Ms. Joyce!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2004

    a must read!

    along with the other reviewers, i agree this book is truly captivating. it captures the reader into its world of love and intrigue. never have my eyes been opened to such an amazing book. highly recommended for romantic readers such as myself. i love stephen's dark character and mary's quick tongue...they are such a cute couple that i wish other authors were to create characters such as these two!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2002

    ABSOLUTE CAPTIVATING!

    Never has a book kept me on edge as this one has. Stephene de Warenne with his rough exterior & soft hear becomes absolutely endearing, as does Princess Mary with her stubornness & pride. This was so much more than a romance novel. I am now reading it for the second time in three years and am finding it just as captivating as I did the first time. I highly recommend it!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2002

    Romance is GOOD

    I loved this book! It was so good, and I couldn't stop reading it. The only thing I regret is not reading 'The Conquerer' before reading this. I didn't know there was a first book before this, but there's nothing really having to do with either book, so it was ok. I LOVED THIS BOOK! STEPHEN IS AWESOME, AND MARY IS SO CLEVER AND INTELLEGENT!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2001

    WOW WOW WOW !!!

    I loved to read this book, and I could not put it down until I finished it. The plot is very interesting, you never know what is going to happen and the love story between Stephen and Mary is beautiful. I highly recomend the reading of this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2000

    Ugh Can We Say 'Captivating'?

    My girlfriends and I have our own personal library going- You know? Trade books, read them, and the giggle about our favorite parts over coffee. So Imagine my delight when one of my friends thrusts this book at me and says 'A definite MUST read...Get to it!' Needless to say, I was spellbound. I didn't put it down until I'd read it from cover to cover. Never in my life have I shed so many tears or felt the same colliding emotions as a character in a book. But that's just it- they were no longer just characters. They were real and alive. It's one of those books that's not going anywhere until I've read and reread it several times. So, what are you waiting for? Get to it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 1999

    This book is great!!

    When I first read this book, I was intrigued and interested in it. I couldn't believe that so many people could say that it was boring and rated it 1 star only, but to me, this book is my favorite! I read it over and over again, and I thought I would never get tire of this book, so then I went to the bookstore and own one for myself. This book is very amusing, it made me laugh when im reading it, and it has a great history to it and i think i would never find another great book like this again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3