BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Promise of the Wolves (Wolf Chronicles Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 222 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(149)

4 Star

(29)

3 Star

(20)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(17)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

26 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

Finally!

Finally a series about wolves! ( The kind that don't turn into hairy men at night)This is the best book I have read in my life! I would reccomend this book to anybody 9 years or older! Thank you so much Dorothy Hearst!

posted by Kaalathewolf on July 30, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Wolves

I liked the book. It was different taking on the mind of a wolf, and interesting to go through the day to day activities that the allowed you to in the day of a wolf. It actually seemed human in a way.

posted by Rosey561 on September 12, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted November 27, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Very good.

    Very good book. I was lucky to have found a signed copy at the book store:) I thought the writing was amazing and was very unique having the view point of the wolf. I'm looking forward to the next book:)

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2010

    Promise of the Wolves

    Did not expect to like it as much as I did. I felt myself being drawn to the wolf characters. Enjoyed it and so will you if you liked Watership Down or the Redwall books by Brian Jacques.Appropriate for all ages.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2014

    Pity Party for Wolves

    Being from the Montana, North Dakota, Wyoming area; most of us are sick and tired of the billions of dollars spent on protecting, promoting, and pitying the wolf population. To me, that's what this series is about. HOWEVER, Ms. Hearst is a very good story teller, so for that alone, her books deserve a four-star rating.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2014

    If you love wolves, it's a great read!

    I was looking for something light to read and enjoy. So I wasn't expecting much. It turned to a great read that quickly sucked me in and I quickly jumped up to read the next book. She tells the story from a wolf's point of view, which at first, it was a little odd since wolves aren't as eloquent in words as humans and also just view things differently. But at the same time, it's what draws you in and you feel like you're really part of the "pack". If you love wolves (or dogs) and enjoy the story of the balance of nature and humans, then this is a great book for you.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2014

    Excellent book.

    Teaches oneself not to take what we are taught as the absolute truth. But to learn from others and use your life experinces to make the correct choice.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 12, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Suprisingly Interesting

    This was sort of a last minute purchase to zero out the balance of a gift card I had, it happened to be on the clearance table right after you enter B&N. The cover & title caught my eye; plus at 5.00 $ ( and a quick browse ) I put it in my basket not sure if I would get it or not. I don't regret the purchase, it's a unique story, a "quiet time" book. I won't spoil it by telling any of it, but I enjoyed this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2014

    :-D

    Want to read.))Luna strode in.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2014

    Badass wolf pup had me hooked!

    Very intriguing storyline from start to finish. Lovable characters, all of them even the naughty ones. Could not put down once I read the first page. I love it when the main character is a tough, good hearted and resilient female entity. And wolves are just cool in general.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2014

    I really enjoyed this book! I can't wait to read the next ones i

    I really enjoyed this book! I can't wait to read the next ones in the series! Not a difficult read, and a story that's easy to get involved in.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2014

    Mist

    Here eat this she barks to Emmett nudging a juniper berry towards him. ( sorry if your character is a girl)

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2014

    Kauhi tam

    I would like it if i cloud buy this book cause alot of you said its great

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    For Fans of Clement-Davies

    This book was a random wolf lover's pick for me, and I was thoroughly impressed. A little slow in the beginning it quickly picked up and kept me hooked up until the very end! The story line is predictable, but the relationships and pack mentality keep you intrigued and there are little twist that keep you reading just a little bit faster. I am eagerly awaiting Secret of the Wolves, the second in the Wolf Chronicles Series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2012

    I havent red this book, but is it like The Sight....? Bc i lik the sight a lot bc i luv wolves

    Love wolves

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2