Customer Reviews for

Promises Prevail

Average Rating 4.5
( 101 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(73)

4 Star

(19)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 73 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted December 24, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Very Real!

    This was such a good story. Very real and very moving. I felt bad for all the bad things that happened to Jenna before Clint. I can't wait to read about Rev. Brad.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 10, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent

    I really enjoyed reading this series, I hope that there will be more, would like to find out what happens with Jackson, Nidia, Brenna, and Red Gray. I have told my daughters that they needed to read this series

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Escape into this hot historical book

    Amazing hot, historic book. This book hooked me from the start and sucked me into its pages. What a great escape from the day to day demands of work, motherhood and marriage. Thanks for the break from reality!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 10, 2011

    GREAT!!!

    I love how this author can take me away and make me forget laundry, dishes, and sometimes even kids. Always sad to see the end of her books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 11, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    THIS Book was MUCH Better!

    Clint and Jenna are quite believable as a couple in the Wyoming 1800's. Although the women are supposed to be meek and do whatever the hubby tells them to, Jenna comes out of her shell quite nicely in this 3rd installment of the "Promises" western series. And from what Jenna experienced when she was younger, she emerged much stronger, due to her inner strength and due to Clint's help. Definitely an excellent read!!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2005

    To be held safely...

    I cannot think of a single reason anyone would not like Promises Prevail. I was so utterly captivated by Jenna's chance for happiness, I could not look away--not even when hearts were breaking all over the place (mine included). You know that feeling that overcomes even the strongest (intellectually, emotionally) women at times? The one that makes you literally want to crawl up and into a man that makes you feel safe? The trace of hope you hold (along with your breath) when you think you've found that man, that safety? Then the relief you feel--however tenuous at first--once you get there? That is how this story made me feel from nearly the first page. It's that ability to move me, to draw me into a story so deeply that I actually hold my breath here or laugh out loud there...it's that ability that makes Sarah McCarty undoubtedly one of the best authors I've ever read. There will never be a story published by McCarty that I will not read.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2015

    Must Read

    Great Book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 6, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Awesome book, but make sure to read the rest of the series so yo

    Awesome book, but make sure to read the rest of the series so you don't miss out on any of these great books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2013

    Moving

    Another great read by this wonderful author. Will be reading Brad story next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2012

    The best book, yet!!!

    I just LOVED this story!!! I have enjoyed this author's novels & look forward to new ones in this series; however, I can't imagine any book topping this one!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2012

    Victoryclan

    Will prevail!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 19, 2012

    GREAT!

    Love this one the best so far. Love Sarah McCarty!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2012

    HOT LOVE

    This was an excllent read promised suspence, and erotica LOVE.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2012

    Another good book in the series

    This is the 3rd book in the Promises series.

    I have to admit it, I'm a sucker for a hot alpha male in a cowboy hat. I liked Clint from his appearances in the first two books, and I loved him in this one.

    Just like the other two, there's some pretty hot, toe-curling sex scenes in this book, but not as many and not as rough. Clint and Jenna like it just a bit more gentle than the previous couples. Jenna brought more baggage with her than the heroines in the first two books, and she needed a gentler hand because of it.

    One of my favorite parts of this book was the way Jenna and Clint built their family - by choice rather than by blood. They both have a soft spot for the hurting (although Clint's is a lot harder to see than Jenna's), and the idea of family and community was much stronger in this book than in the other two.

    I was not pleased with the way Jenna put herself in danger toward the end of the book. It didn't seem to gel with her character, and therefore sort of threw off the flow of the story for me. However, it was still a really good book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2012

    Susan Q.

    Loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Enjoyable read

    I liked this entire series. This was my favorite.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Oh boy...and I thought Cougar was yummy.

    Clint even outdoes Cougar, plus the heroine is NOT perfect. She's been abused, has a bad leg, and has fears of men because of her past marriage. The sex of course is ultra hot. This one is a definite KEEPER.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2005

    Another fabulous book by Sarah McCarty

    Sarah McCarty has done it again! If you love westerns, romance, great characters and plots that draw you into the story and don't let go until the last word is read, then you need to buy Promises Prevail. The heroine Jenna is a character who initially seems so beaten down and vulnerable by everything that has happened to her, but through her love of Clint and his strength begins to recognise her inner strength. Clint is the kind of man most women want to fall in love with. Strong, compassionate,gentle and protective, but without being overbearing. I found myself laughing and crying while reading this book. I loved this story and can not wait until Ms. McCartys next book is out!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2005

    Another amazing love story from Sarah McCarty!

    When you read the first page of Promises Prevail, you get a general feeling for the story, and it gets better and better with every page you turn. Clint is a hero like no other I've ever read about. He sees himself as flawed when in reality he is a remarkable man who cares deeply and loves possessively those who are lucky enough to be close to him. Jenna has been through so many trials and tribulations in her life, it's amazing she's come out of them sane. She's a remarkable woman, who with the love and support of a good man(Clint) finds her true inner strength. In Promises Prevail, the incredibly talented Sarah McCarty weaves a breathtaking tale of strength, determination, compassion, and love that goes beyond spectacular. Promises Prevail will have you laughing, gasping, sighing, and crying. The range of the emotions within this book goes beyond anything I've ever read. The story of Clint and Jenna in Promises Prevail is like no other, and one I won't ever forget.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2005

    Worth reading over and over

    'She was so open and so vulnerable. She filled him with the need to give her the world, while at the same time wanting to shelter her from it.' Promises Prevail is the third in the Promises series. Clint is every woman's dream man and Jenna is the woman he loves. She has been so abused by all the men in her life (before Clint) that Clint has his work cut out for him. But he's equal to the task and we get to come along for the ride - and a hot one it is! Sarah McCarty has no equal for writing erotic romance.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 73 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4