Customer Reviews for

Promises in the Dark (Shadow Force Series #2)

Average Rating 4
( 68 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(34)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 69 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2011

    Disappointed

    I enjoy reading books about Black Ops, Navy Seals, & Delta Force, so when I came across this author I thought I would give it a try. Total disappointment. The story was too long and drawn out. I had no connection to the characters or the story. Actually there were 3 separate storylines, and still it didn't capture me. It was a struggle to finish this book hoping it would get better, and it didn't. I will stick to Cindy Gerard books, her black ops stories are more interesting.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2013

    .

    .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2012

    Fear Pack territory

    Fear Pack territory. Get out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2012

    Great book

    Just as good as the first one in this series. Can't wait to read book 3.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2012

    Grrrrreat!

    Read the first book and thought that was great! This book was just as great - action packed, lovable characters and a nice amount of steamy love parts, without getting too raunchy or going over the top! Making this critique short because I can't wait to read the third book in this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2011

    good series

    Easy read but a little light on character development

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2011

    love it!!

    i am only on book 2 but i am in love with this series.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    First book was better

    I had been somewhat anticipating reading Promises in the Dark, the story is based around Zane and Olivia (who had been kidnapped in the previous book). Zane has been searching for Olivia for the past 6 months that she's been gone and has now found her. Only to find out that she doesn't want to be rescued. She is avoiding DMH (her kidnappers) while on the run and feels that if she was to go home, it would put everyone around her in danger. While Zane is away, Cael also manages to find love in the form of a computer specialist, who also happens to be suspected of cavorting with DMH on the side. A third side to the story is that of Tristan and Rowan, both of whom are originally with the army and end up in Africa at a merc training / missionary relief camp.

    I thought that this book had a lot of potential, and I still enjoyed reading it. However, there were some flaws that just ruined parts of the book for me.

    1. There was too much sex in the book. Completely unnecessary, it was as though the author was trying to lengthen the book with as many love scenes as possible. None of the sex scenes, fortunately, were too graphic or erotic.
    2. I was actually really enjoying Cael and Vivi's story...up until they had sex. OMG...one second he has her handcuffed to a chair and is interrogating her (she is crying and upset during this whole episode). And then once he FINALLY believes her innocence, they don't even have a conversation about the whole 'distrust and captivity' before he unwraps her towel?!?!? I found it incredibly difficult to relate to Vivi in this scene, in the book, it made it feel more like rape because of the situation that they were in. And yet Vivi doesn't feel the need to make Cael work for her forgiveness or her trust. It even seemed completely outside of Vivi's character to completely forgive Cael on the spot. I found it nearly impossible to be rooting for this couple because of this. The first half of the book they did great, but then my support of their love got trashed by both of their attitudes during the whole kidnapping scenario. Cael's story could've been told MUCH better than it was.
    3. Vivi's character seemed to clash with itself. At some points she's brave and shows some real strength. And then other times she has no backbone whatsoever and practically begs at times when she should be standing up for herself.

    Aside from these issues, I still enjoyed the book. One the positive side, I really enjoyed Tristan and Rowan's story (aside from the random alpha male scene that first occurs in the tent). The author also did a great job with Zane and Olivia's story, you really bond with those characters. Stephanie Tyler does a great job with world-building and bringing the reader into the situation. I will still read the next book in the series and can only hope that the next book finalizes the story of Vivi and Cael and that both of them will grow some balls and stand up to each other!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 13, 2010

    Well worth your time!

    I was looking forward to this book coming out after reading the first book. As usual, it had many dips and dives that you would not expect. I truly enjoyed this book and am looking forward to the third book in June 2011. If you like suspense, little bit of drama and strong characters. This is the book for you! :) Enjoy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2010

    Good read, definitely looking for #3 shadow force series

    couldn't wait to read this one since Stephanie Tyler's Lie with me was GREAT. This one was really good too but I like the first one better.
    still you can't go wrong with this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 4, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    an action-packed tale with a strong romantic element

    The Dead Man's Hand (DMH) terrorist cell kidnapped Dr. Olivia Strohm to teach a lesson to those who defy them; the doctor blew up one of their illegal organ transplant facilities. They tortured her and pumped drugs into her in order to keep her under their control while warning away other opponents. However, they failed to anticipate her inner strength as she escapes from captivity.

    Olivia goes cold turkey by herself to rid the drugs from her system while hiding and surviving in the bush near Kambia, Sierra Leone for three months. Part of a failed SEAL rescue mission and having heard her screams while Olivia was held prisoner by DMH; Zane Scott takes leave from the Navy to search for her in order to bring her home to the States. However when he finds her she shocks him with a frying pan and when she hesitates about going home. Before he can learn why, DMH psychopaths are gunning for them. On the run, Zane knows the only way to keep Olivia safe is to destroy DMH.

    The second Shadow Force suspense thriller (see Lie With Me) is an action-packed tale with a strong romantic element as the would-be rescuer is half in love with the good doctor even before they have met in person. The story line is fast-paced from the moment Olivia beams Zane in the head with the frying pan and never slows until a final hypothermic confrontation with DMH. With the wonderful African locale, Stephanie Tyler has served back to back aces while also setting up the next entry.

    Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Phenomenal Delta Force/Navy SEAL Romantic Suspense

    PROMISES IN THE DARK is Book #2 in New York Times author, Stephanie Tyler's amazing Shadow Force military romantic suspense series for Dell and will not disappoint her fans (Dec. 2010). "In Sierra Leone, Africa Navy SEAL Zane Scott takes a leave of absence from the SEALs to find and rescue Dr. Olivia Strohm, an organ transplant surgeon from the U.S., who was kidnapped by Dead Man's Hand an extremist organization with U.S. roots. However, DMH has now branched out globally specializing in guerilla warfare in America, funding terrorist training camps, dealing in human and drug trafficking and black market organ transplants that they were forcing Olivia to perform. Zane has been haunted by Olivia's screams when she was kidnapped by DMH while helping his oldest brother, Dylan on a dark ops to rescue a former CIA agent, who was being held captive and tortured. Zane goes to Olivia's apartment to obtain a photo of her and discovers they have something in common since she was abducted as a child at age 9 for several weeks and Zane was sold in Sierra Leone at age 11 to his Scott American parents after living on the streets for several years. When Zane arrives in Africa he finds out there's been a bombing at the local clinic where Liv was performing surgeries and everyone is presumed dead. His sources tell him she is now on the run and he finds her hiding out in a remote town doctoring the natives in exchange for food and shelter. Olivia is not happy with being rescued by Zane since she wants to stay presumed dead to protect herself and her parents from DMH. Zane tells her she's already been discovered when he has to kill a man outside Liv's shelter. What they don't realize is the man was DMH's leader, Elijah Killoran's cousin, who had forwarded a photo of them together before he died and the sooner they get to Zane's prearranged rescue point the better. However, while on the run in the jungle their passions collide during a violent thunderstorm. Back home in the U.S. Zane's middle brother, Caleb, a Delta Force Army Ranger is also battling DMH by protecting Vivienne Clare, a computer tech genius, who has followed in her father's footsteps developing software to protect nuclear facilities, who worked first for the government and when he was fired for the private sector. Unfortunately Vivi's father's work went uncompleted before he died since he was unable to perfect a safeguard where the software couldn't be used to disable existing nuclear plants. Vivi had hoped to work for Homeland Security but since she inherited her father's debt the military is convinced she has sold out to DMH. However, in reality her life is really in danger by DMH, who has stolen the security program from her father but needs Vivi to complete it. The go-by-the-book Cael doesn't know what to make of Vivi and her blue-tipped hair but he's extremely attracted to her. Stephanie Tyler's talent grows by leaps and bounds with her cleverly written Shadow Force series. PROMISES IN THE DARK is a phenomenal military romantic suspense and also promises great things to come for the rest of the Shadow Force series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 69 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4