Customer Reviews for

Promises to Keep: A Novel

Average Rating 3.5
( 156 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(47)

4 Star

(49)

3 Star

(29)

2 Star

(17)

1 Star

(14)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

I cried and laughed out loud on the same page.

I really enjoyed this book. I did find it a little slow to get the sisters straight, at first, but as I got into a couple of chapters, I found myself into their lives; the characters developed as real people.

I held my 2 year old daughter a little closer after I read...
I really enjoyed this book. I did find it a little slow to get the sisters straight, at first, but as I got into a couple of chapters, I found myself into their lives; the characters developed as real people.

I held my 2 year old daughter a little closer after I read it, but I did turn Mickey Mouse on for her,so I could finish the book.

Very heartwrenching - as life is - good job writing, Jane.

posted by Dean41 on July 20, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

yawn....

I have read every book by Jane Green and loved them. This one-not so much. The story line was not original and it was very weird to have recipes in between the chapters.Even if this book was a homage to her friend who passed away-it still was not a good read
Don't wast...
I have read every book by Jane Green and loved them. This one-not so much. The story line was not original and it was very weird to have recipes in between the chapters.Even if this book was a homage to her friend who passed away-it still was not a good read
Don't waste your money

posted by cupid92 on July 12, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    So-So

    I've read all of Jane Green's books and this was not one of my favorites. The plot line rambles on between too many characters, from too many perspectives and it becomes a little boring to try to keep up. The outcome was predictable and anti climactic. It is honorable that this was written as a tribute to her friend, but she's definitely done better.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2012

    Good, but like earlier works better

    I agree with the points of many of the reviewers here - recipes were a little misplaced - the main character was not a chef or restaurant owner - but they looked good! The story was good, although I did not understand what seemed to be an attack on mothers without children (when writing about the best friend) that seemed to come out of nowhere...seemed like the author wanted to stick it to anyone who ever found her children annoying perhaps-? Anyway, it took a lot of courage to write a story like this about a close friend dying of cancer. This was probably a very difficult story for the author to tell, and for that I applaud her (not that she should care if any one of us gives our approval or not). The story was heart-wrenching, and told well.

    I really loved Bookends. That has been my very favorite novel of hers. I hope she can write a book like that again. But maybe with life's shifts and changes, novels like this one are the direction. But we won't know unless we keep reading her work. :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    not as good as the older novels

    I love Jane Green, have read most of her novels. I find that her newer novels seem to lack that witty British humor that I truly loved about her style. If you want to read some really good novels by Jane Green, pick up the older ones like Jemima J, Mr. Maybe, Babyville, Bookends, To Have and To Hold. I just found this novel to be a bit boring at times.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 10, 2010

    Did the publisher ever read the book?

    Why does the description from the PUBLISHER say the following? The lives of these colorful characters intersect when they each receive a shocking note that summons them together for one extraordinary summer in Maine and changes their lives forever. This novel is about the hard choices we have to face, about having to be your parents' child long after you've grown up, and about the enduring nature of love. What shocking note? What summer in Maine? Callie's mother was from Maine, but the story takes place outside NYC. What's up, Penguin??! I've also noticed that even though Jane Green has moved her characters to America, British-isms have seemed to follow: garden (yard), icing sugar (confectionary sugar) to name a couple in this book; there were lots more. I remember the expression 'chalk and cheese' used by an American character in another novel. Nit-picky, I know, but seems a little sloppy in the copy editing department. I've enjoyed all of Jane Green's books, although I found this one a little predictable, it was a moving tribute to her friend.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2