Customer Reviews for

Promissory Payback (Jane Perry Series)

Average Rating 4
( 23 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 9 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted October 30, 2011

    Live To Read

    This short detective story relates the mysterious killing of an unsympathetic victim, Carolyn Handel. Through dialogue, the reader learns about the self-centered victim's personality and illegal financial dealings. The suspects are down on their luck - or champions of charity. When the swearing,smoking, observant, on-the-wagon, detective, Jane Perry solves the crime, the reader will not be surprised at the wrap up.

    This crime novelette is satisfyingly short. It harks back to the thirty-minute detective radio shows of the 1940's. The detective is hard-boiled but likeable. The characters are caricatures;they are bluntly sweet, obstreperous, irritating etc. Teens and adults who enjoy crime mysteries will be glad they picked up and finished "Promissory Payback" during a break from class or while riding home on the train.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2013

    Highly Recommended

    I really liked these little short stories. I got them for $.99 and although they are short, they are great. If you like Jane Perry's character, as I do, you love these. The characters are believable and you don't get bogged down in a lot of details that aren't necessary to the plot.

    I'm becoming a true Laurel Dewey fan.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 19, 2011

    Intense Short Story

    This was a great suspense. I really enjoyed trying to figure out things along with Jane. There were a couple of twists and turns, although I didn't think the outcome was all that shocking, but it was a good mystery.

    The publisher provided me with a copy of this book to review for a blog tour. This did not influence my thoughts and opinions in any way. All opinions expressed are my own.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 15, 2011

    Great Read!!

    PROMISSORY PAYBACK by Laurel Dewey
    Published by The Story Plant
    ISBN-10: 1611880076
    ISBN-13: 978-1611880076
    At the request of The Story Plant, a PDF EBook Edition of a double novelette, Promissory Payback and Unrevealed were provided, at no cost to me, for my honest opinion.

    Synopsis (from publisher): In PROMISSORY PAYBACK Jane is called in to investigate the gruesome murder of a woman who profited greatly from the misfortunes of others. The case leaves Jane with little question about motive...and with a seemingly endless number of suspects.

    My Thoughts and Opinion: This was my first introduction to both this author, Laurel Dewey and character, Detective Jane Perry. Although it was only 80 pages, I instantly knew that I had been missing out on a very talented author. Within 80 pages she made the characters come to life and "transported" the reader into the plot. The writing style was fluid and very descriptive, which made it quite easy to create my own vivid visualizations as if I was watching a movie. The novelette was a stand alone read but gave hints of giving the reader to want more and to know more about this tough, street smart, but sensitive detective.

    My Rating: 4

    As for marketing, in my opinion and this is only my opinion, this would be a perfect solution for those times when a reader is one of those reader's slumps. It is a quick, yet detailed, descriptive, gripping story line. It would also be good for those times when you need to purchase a "small gift" such as a hostess gift, get well visit, teacher's gift, a little something, etc.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Encompassing!!

    This wasn't the encompassing mystery that you generally find in a Jane Perry novel but it's one I'll be thinking about for quite a while. It wasn't the intensity of this novel that drew me in but instead the characters. The ending, while not shocking, was one of those that makes you rethink your views.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2011

    Packed with emotional vengeance

    Promissory Payback is a short crime story following Detective Jane Perry's investigation into the murder of the much-hated Carolyn Handel. It is difficult to find someone who wouldn't want to kill the self-obsessed money-grabbing sixty year old who made her living out of other people's suffering. Though absent from the action, Carolyn Handel still twists and manipulates emotions from beyond the grave.

    "Evil requires the sanction of the victim" is Jane Perry's motto. In her life victims are in a situation of their own doing. If someone wants to kill you it's because you have done something so terrible you deserve it or because you are too weak to fight them off. Be strong. If not carry a gun.

    Dewey paints Jane Perry with all the colours of feminism. A strong woman who loves her gun and who takes yoga only to keep herself flexible in order to catch the 'perps'. Perry despises other women, predominantly for their 'cattiness' and doesn't seem to respond well when they try to bond with her. Forming friendships with women seems to Perry to leave oneself vulnerable:

    "Jane deduced this was how the trap was set between all women - cradle you in the disingenuous arms of familiarity and then hover until you become vulnerable."

    Perry remains suspicious and detached from every character in the novel as one would expect from a murder investigator. However during their first interview each potential suspect falls foul of verbal diarrhoea and spews incessant facts about themselves. This seems unusual for a first conversation with a stranger, especially when that stranger is a detective.

    Snappy dialogue exchanges propel the story forwards with a gripping pace. A lot is revealed about each character from what they say; any gaps are filled in with Perry's impeccable intuition. Her skills at reading people do border on omniscience at times which is distracting. Long descriptions and the occasional runaway sentence make for awkward reading at the beginning of the story and the abundance of clues does dilute the suspense at times. However the ending is powerful and packed with the emotional vengeance of Carolyn's greatest victim.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 4, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A Help-Filled Ending!

    Detective Jane Perry is a no-nonsense, gritty investigator who believes a loaded gun is what keeps you both flexible and safe. However, the victim she is about to witness will make her come close to losing her latest meal. Carolyn Handel is a 62 year-old woman found with the word "karma is a b--ch" across her back and her mouth stuffed with a strip of paper in her mouth with the words "Promissory Note" on it, along with a chair clearly placed to be facing the unfortunate but obviously fearful victim. Not pretty at all!

    It seems that Carolyn was in the habit of losing people's money, in the recent past several well-meaning friends who had no idea they were being taken in by a scam. But who could it be among the people Detective Perry begins and continues to interrogate as potential perpetrators of this horrific murder? Usually one can predict "who done it" within a relatively short period of time, but this is not the case at all.

    Laurel Dewey has spun a short but potent mystery thriller that gradually reveals startling and unsuspected clues evolving into quite a surprising solution that will amaze readers. The perfect crime rarely exists. Here, however, it comes close only because of the links missed behind the planned end of Ms. Handel but quickly ascertained by the sharp, quick-thinking detective.

    Very nicely and cleverly done, Ms. Dewey!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 9 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1