Customer Reviews for

Proof Positive (Amanda Jaffe Series #3)

Average Rating 4
( 22 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(7)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2006

    Almost a 5 star

    I was lucky enough to have many, assorted, advance reader's copies to read this summer. I would have to say this has been my favorite. Very creative, wonderfully written... my only complaint is based on happenings toward the end of the book. Some steps taken by a lead character and the villain weren't really plausible. Well, to be fair.. I guess a villain can/will do what ever he wants..but, knowing that a madman is a madman wouldn't a seemingly smart individual make some decisions based on that??? I don't want to give anything away! Keep up with the details, this author really ties everything up nicely in the end. I hope my grumpy complaint doesn't deter you from reading this. It is worth your time.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2006

    His Best Book Yet

    I couldn't put this book down, wished it had been longer, read it in a day and a half.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    FIRST-RATE FORENSIC FICTION

    Fans of forensic fiction, don't miss this one. With his 12th novel and the third featuring Portland attorney Amanda Jaffe, former criminal defense attorney Phillip Margolin paints a suspenseful, disturbing picture of what can happen to crime scene evidence. With a narrative episodic in nature Margolin captures readers at the outset and holds them in thrall until the final page. Defense attorney Doug Weaver isn't having a particularly good day. He has had to witness death by lethal injection of one of his clients, Raymond Hayes. Accused of killing his widowed mother, it doesn't take the jury long to exact the death penalty. Doug believes in his client's innocence, and feels he messed up the defense. Seeing Raymond put to death is more than he can handle. This same death is a time for jubilation for crime scene investigator Bernard Cashman. Receiving a telephone call notifying him of the death and thanking him for his testimony 'that nailed Hayes' made Cashman's chest swell with pride. This was, indeed, an occasion, his testimony had now put three men on death row, and he kept a scrapbook of his achievements. To celebrate he 'uncorked a bottle of La Grande Dame 1979' and then prepared a blini spread with banned Caspian Sea beluga caviar. Next, we're introduced to Vincent Ballard, a junkie, who supports his habit by spying for Portland drug lord, Martin Breach. When Ballard is found dead, Cashman is one of the first on the police protected scene. Attorney Frank Jaffe owes Breach, so he doesn't hesitate to defend one of Breach's men who is accused of the junkie's murder. Doug Weaver's luck seems to improve when he frees Jacob Cohen, a homeless evidently delusional man, who has been charged with failing to register as a sex offender. But his good fortune soon runs out when Cohen is arrested for the brutal murder of a woman. Margolin ties all of these threads together with the skill of a surgeon, while presenting shocking details of forensic evidence and the horrifying plotting of a deranged mind. Another can't-put-down thriller from Margolin. - Gail Cooke

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2006

    Chillling Hitchcockian thriller

    Oregon state crime lab forensic expert Bernie Cashman is the recognized expert, a magician who seems to conjure up the impossible PROOF POSITIVE that sends many suspects to jail. He is the best at insuring a conviction. However, there is one slight drawback to Bernie¿s methodology. He has no moral compunction to faking the evidence that sends those he believes are guilty to prison. No one realizes that Bernie has become judge and jury as his results has made him the centerfold for those tough on crime. --- However, his lesser colleague Mary Clark stumbles on Bernie¿s rigging the proof. Used to being adulated as a God, an irate Bernie knows he must rid the world of this do-gooder, but also needs a culprit, whom he finds in unhinged Jacob Cohen, to take the fall. Oregon defense attorney Amanda Jaffe takes on homeless Jacob as her client. His case though not related in any sense to another still seems familiar with the link being Bernie. Amanda investigates not realizing that this CSI is willing to kill anyone who tries to kick him off his pantheon perch on the top of Mount Olympus. --- In many ways Bernie stars in this crime thriller as his fascinating in a macabre way actions and rationalizations are the focus of the tale even more so than Amanda is. Amanda remains an intriguing protagonist (see TIES THAT BIND and WILD JUSTICE) as her personal problems simmer (thank goodness) in the background. Using a macabre twist on the CSI adulation theme, Phillip Margolin provides a Hitchcockian thriller that readers will relish. --- Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 23, 2014

    I am running behind on my reviews, and had to reread the blurb o

    I am running behind on my reviews, and had to reread the blurb online to remind myself what this book was about. That statement summarizes my opinion of the book – it held my interest at the time, but was quickly forgotten when I’d reached the end. It was neither so good nor so bad as to leave a lasting impression in my memory. (At least it left enough of an impression that the brief reminder was enough to bring the highlights back to mind!)

    RATING: As middle of the road 3 stars as you can get.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2006

    Great Read

    I loved this book. He never disappoints me.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2006

    Loved it...

    I got an advanced readers copy of this book and loved it. It has alot of twists and turns and I loved the characters. Great beach book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2