Customer Reviews for

Proof of Heaven: A Neurosurgeon's Journey into the Afterlife

Average Rating 4
( 766 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(361)

4 Star

(143)

3 Star

(106)

2 Star

(62)

1 Star

(94)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

199 out of 227 people found this review helpful.

As a physician and NDE researcher, I highly recommend this book.

As a physician and NDE researcher, I highly recommend this book. Dr. Alexander's book, like Dr. Mary Neal's book, "To Heaven and Back," includes the important elements of an NDE, including recognition of being in a different dimension, meetings with unusual b...
As a physician and NDE researcher, I highly recommend this book. Dr. Alexander's book, like Dr. Mary Neal's book, "To Heaven and Back," includes the important elements of an NDE, including recognition of being in a different dimension, meetings with unusual beings, feelings of being accepted and welcomed, and a realization that we are all part of the universe, and carry divine universality in us at all times. Dr. Alexander includes his own research in this great book, conducted after his NDE, where he shows how he is working through the many questions that his experience engendered. His book also shows how he, as a physician, had to let go of engrained thinking about the possibility of NDEs and his colleagues skeptical views of NDE, after surviving his own NDE. A masterful book, beautifully written, and sure to become a classic of true NDE literature. Recommended for all who really want to learn about a true NDE, and about current scientific thinking about NDEs and the directions that NDE research is taking. It is wonderful that, like Dr. Neal, Dr. Alexander does not focus on "religion" in the books. It is interesting to note that the survivors of NDEs do not usually focus on religion as being important. Instead, based on years of talking to them, survivors of true NDEs have moved beyond religion to focus on compassion and humanity, as they have report that there is no religion in the afterlife, but there is a higher consciousness that we are all one, and that goodness and light live in the community of universal consciousness, which erases the people-made divisions of "religion." Please note that to date, no survivor of a true NDE has returned to promote only their religion, or to become hysterical if someone dies and is not a member of that same religion. Survivors of a true NDE report the opposite, and that we are all important in the afterlife, with an emphasis on the divinity found in all of us. Anyone using a story of NDE phenomena to promote their personal view of religion is being misleading, as that is simply marketing with a view to making money, and not truthful reporting of an NDE to increase knowledge and respect for all.

posted by TiredofGarbage on November 13, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

114 out of 414 people found this review helpful.

Disappointing

If you are a Christian and loved "Heaven is for Real" and are expecting the same thing you will be disappointed. In my opinion, this experience is in several ways, not scriptural. In fact, the Bible is not cited that I can recall. In this account a large part of heaven ...
If you are a Christian and loved "Heaven is for Real" and are expecting the same thing you will be disappointed. In my opinion, this experience is in several ways, not scriptural. In fact, the Bible is not cited that I can recall. In this account a large part of heaven was darkness and there was no mention of meeting Jesus. Might make the beginnings of an episode of "Fringe" though. I certainly would not recommend to a Christian that is not grounded in Scripture.

posted by Anonymous on October 28, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 766 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 39
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2012

    As a physician and NDE researcher, I highly recommend this book.

    As a physician and NDE researcher, I highly recommend this book. Dr. Alexander's book, like Dr. Mary Neal's book, "To Heaven and Back," includes the important elements of an NDE, including recognition of being in a different dimension, meetings with unusual beings, feelings of being accepted and welcomed, and a realization that we are all part of the universe, and carry divine universality in us at all times. Dr. Alexander includes his own research in this great book, conducted after his NDE, where he shows how he is working through the many questions that his experience engendered. His book also shows how he, as a physician, had to let go of engrained thinking about the possibility of NDEs and his colleagues skeptical views of NDE, after surviving his own NDE. A masterful book, beautifully written, and sure to become a classic of true NDE literature. Recommended for all who really want to learn about a true NDE, and about current scientific thinking about NDEs and the directions that NDE research is taking. It is wonderful that, like Dr. Neal, Dr. Alexander does not focus on "religion" in the books. It is interesting to note that the survivors of NDEs do not usually focus on religion as being important. Instead, based on years of talking to them, survivors of true NDEs have moved beyond religion to focus on compassion and humanity, as they have report that there is no religion in the afterlife, but there is a higher consciousness that we are all one, and that goodness and light live in the community of universal consciousness, which erases the people-made divisions of "religion." Please note that to date, no survivor of a true NDE has returned to promote only their religion, or to become hysterical if someone dies and is not a member of that same religion. Survivors of a true NDE report the opposite, and that we are all important in the afterlife, with an emphasis on the divinity found in all of us. Anyone using a story of NDE phenomena to promote their personal view of religion is being misleading, as that is simply marketing with a view to making money, and not truthful reporting of an NDE to increase knowledge and respect for all.

    199 out of 227 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2012

    I LOVE this book! Dr. Alexander's story is gripping. I started

    I LOVE this book! Dr. Alexander's story is gripping. I started reading the book last night, and it was very difficult to stop! His writing makes reading almost effortless, and he tells his story as if he were there talking to me. The scientific information is written so that it is very easly understood. I'm very much looking forward to reading the rest of the book!

    143 out of 156 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2012

    Do your research

    Before you write long reviews, please:
    A. Read the book
    B. Offer your opinion on behalf of science when he conferred with many in his field to purposely disprove what happened to him.
    C. Pretend that you are smarter than he is.
    D. Bring religion into this discussion when he clearly does not. E. Open your closed mind to other possibilites. You sound like a fool.

    116 out of 297 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2012

    Disappointing

    If you are a Christian and loved "Heaven is for Real" and are expecting the same thing you will be disappointed. In my opinion, this experience is in several ways, not scriptural. In fact, the Bible is not cited that I can recall. In this account a large part of heaven was darkness and there was no mention of meeting Jesus. Might make the beginnings of an episode of "Fringe" though. I certainly would not recommend to a Christian that is not grounded in Scripture.

    114 out of 414 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2012

    Leap of Faith

    I am a nurse, so I was able to follow alot of the physiology and the medical challenges Dr. Alexander use to describe his experience. For me, what was most compelling about this book is recognizing how difficult this was to write in light of the fact Dr. Alexander had spent a lifetime substantiating findings with facts; then having only his word to tell others about this incredible experience. This book makes me want to know more about this God that Dr. Alexander now knows so intimately. I came away a little envious of the experience - how absolutely blessed he was to get this opportunity. Thank you Dr. Alexander for sharing this experience.

    107 out of 118 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2012

    Good read

    This is a nice read for those that cling to the idea that nde's are brain chemistry at work and scoff at the idea of life after death. Clearly the authors brain was gone... yet they still scoff and deny.

    I was hoping to read more about his nde experience but the book was written to try to inform "scientific" types that nde's are real...too much talk about his illness and family....not enough about what he experienced beyond. I was expecting more but understand why he did so...

    I am always amazed how some are so big inside that they can't see beyond themselves. They close themselves off to possibilities beyond man and his ideas....this is a good book for those very people ...to at least entertain the idea that the universe is beyond the human mind and always will be ... man's science flip flops constantly...God does not. The scientists cant cure the common cold but decided that nde are all in the mind...i wonder what fool or group of fools decided to put that into the textbooks.

    Tg for people that are willing to go against the crowd or we would still be living on a flat earth ..this author did a fine and honest job of telling what he learned ...outside of man's ever changing, flawed textbooks..

    101 out of 115 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2012

    A very important book!

    I've been studying quantum mechanics for a while, and this book is right on. I would venture to say, life changing. And if you've ever suffered a great loss, this book will give you great comfort.

    99 out of 108 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2012

    Huge Disappointment.

    I couldn't wait to read this book. Being a medical practicioner myself, I was excited that the author was a practicing neurosurgeon who, by his own admission was lacking in faith. What I expected was a convincing monologue on why he could really prove the existance of an afterlife. What I got, instead, was a treatise on meningitis and ICU psychosis along with a life's history and confessions of insecurity about being put up for adoption by parents who later married and had other children. Dr. Alexander's description of heaven was minimal, inadequate and bizarre. Don't waste your money.

    91 out of 134 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2012

    What proof

    I was anxiously awaiting the arrival of this book only to be disapponted after reading it. If i wanted to know so much about mengitis we would not have bought it but we wanted to know about his out of body experience to heaven, not much of that in this book. Most of the contents of the book is the index which relates to the books the author read before publishing his own. Many of those books offer a farther in depth view of what proof there is of heaven than this book leads me to believe. If you want an autobiography of a neurosurgeon's life who was adopted and survived a deadly disease, this for you. I would suggest other books for stronger proof that heaven is for real.

    65 out of 99 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2012

    Still looking for the proof

    Still looking for the proof....The author does bring religion in to this as he not only leaves out Christ in his experience but refers to God as "Om", which is a mystical entity in Hinduism..Gods name is "I Am"...plus heaven was closed? Maybe to you......the key to open the gates of heaven is to accept Christ as you saviour...

    64 out of 219 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 28, 2012

    Possibility

    The only thing that stopped me reading was the need to wipe my eyes. My tears were blurring my vision. Though—especially if you are in the medical profession—you still might not believe in heaven, I don't think it's possible for anyone to read this book and not believe in love.

    51 out of 65 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    From the reviews I thought this book would be controversial, but

    From the reviews I thought this book would be controversial, but I found it to be highly enjoyable. I guess some people know exactly how "heaven" is "supposed" to be... I thought this book was both thought provoking and well written, and I would recommend it to others who choose to live with a scientific, and ever expanding, open mind.

    35 out of 36 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2012

    Wonderful!

    This, is an awesome book!

    31 out of 55 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2012

    Easy to read and understand

    Sweet story of unconditional love.

    29 out of 45 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2012

    No science or logical reasoning

    No real scientist would find the "proofs" in this book worthy of a second glance. Feelings and anecdotes are not data. Every single case of NDE can be explained by the chemistry of the brain. This book is wishful thinking.

    29 out of 177 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 10, 2012

    A truely remarkable book written by a remarkable man. Dr. Alexan

    A truely remarkable book written by a remarkable man. Dr. Alexander is a highly educated and respected Neurosurgeon and as such his thought process is based in scientific fact. His story is amazing and miraculous to say the least. He presents his experiences through a Doctor's scientistific eyes and does it so that the average person understands and can believe. He is able to present the vastness of the universe and the connectedness of all that it entails. His book is truely his testament and answers some of life's greatest questions.

    *This was a GoodReads win

    25 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2012

    I struggled through the first 98 pages and then regretted ever p

    I struggled through the first 98 pages and then regretted ever purchasing the book. Not the kind of book if you are looking for something inspirational about someone's near death experience or "views" of heaven. The constant references to the Worm's Realm were creepy and reminded me of a Steven King Sci Fi movie or some horrible type of nightmare. Deleted it from my Nook....

    23 out of 51 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 30, 2012

    Dr. Alexander's "proof" is a self-report of a mystical

    Dr. Alexander's "proof" is a self-report of a mystical experience he had. To believe that what he says if "proof of heaven" you have to believe that his self-report is true. The self-reported events occurred while he was unconscious in the hospital, and when he awakened from that unconsciousness he experienced a kind of "ICU psychosis" that he eventually recovered from. Additionally, he states that his NDE (near death experience) was more profound that anyone else has ever had. Exactly how could he know that? What he has to say could have been said concisely in one chapter, but he has added enough fluff to make a book out of it. He notes that he is still gaining additional understanding of his profound experience, so I am guessing that there will be another book with more supposed insights. I am both a spiritual and cynical person, and I am not convinced that this is not just another attempt to make money by feeding on people's fear of death and sense of unknowing about what does or doesn't happen after we die.

    22 out of 37 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2012

    This looks really good!

    I read a section of it in newsweek and i would love to buy this book!

    22 out of 62 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2012

    luv to read

    Exciting but only for the open minded If you are a searcher you will be fascinated and uplifted

    20 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 766 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 39