Customer Reviews for

Proof of Heaven: A Neurosurgeon's Journey into the Afterlife

Average Rating 4
( 732 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(340)

4 Star

(140)

3 Star

(102)

2 Star

(59)

1 Star

(91)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

192 out of 219 people found this review helpful.

As a physician and NDE researcher, I highly recommend this book.

As a physician and NDE researcher, I highly recommend this book. Dr. Alexander's book, like Dr. Mary Neal's book, "To Heaven and Back," includes the important elements of an NDE, including recognition of being in a different dimension, meetings with unusual b...
As a physician and NDE researcher, I highly recommend this book. Dr. Alexander's book, like Dr. Mary Neal's book, "To Heaven and Back," includes the important elements of an NDE, including recognition of being in a different dimension, meetings with unusual beings, feelings of being accepted and welcomed, and a realization that we are all part of the universe, and carry divine universality in us at all times. Dr. Alexander includes his own research in this great book, conducted after his NDE, where he shows how he is working through the many questions that his experience engendered. His book also shows how he, as a physician, had to let go of engrained thinking about the possibility of NDEs and his colleagues skeptical views of NDE, after surviving his own NDE. A masterful book, beautifully written, and sure to become a classic of true NDE literature. Recommended for all who really want to learn about a true NDE, and about current scientific thinking about NDEs and the directions that NDE research is taking. It is wonderful that, like Dr. Neal, Dr. Alexander does not focus on "religion" in the books. It is interesting to note that the survivors of NDEs do not usually focus on religion as being important. Instead, based on years of talking to them, survivors of true NDEs have moved beyond religion to focus on compassion and humanity, as they have report that there is no religion in the afterlife, but there is a higher consciousness that we are all one, and that goodness and light live in the community of universal consciousness, which erases the people-made divisions of "religion." Please note that to date, no survivor of a true NDE has returned to promote only their religion, or to become hysterical if someone dies and is not a member of that same religion. Survivors of a true NDE report the opposite, and that we are all important in the afterlife, with an emphasis on the divinity found in all of us. Anyone using a story of NDE phenomena to promote their personal view of religion is being misleading, as that is simply marketing with a view to making money, and not truthful reporting of an NDE to increase knowledge and respect for all.

posted by TiredofGarbage on November 13, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

113 out of 409 people found this review helpful.

Disappointing

If you are a Christian and loved "Heaven is for Real" and are expecting the same thing you will be disappointed. In my opinion, this experience is in several ways, not scriptural. In fact, the Bible is not cited that I can recall. In this account a large part of heaven ...
If you are a Christian and loved "Heaven is for Real" and are expecting the same thing you will be disappointed. In my opinion, this experience is in several ways, not scriptural. In fact, the Bible is not cited that I can recall. In this account a large part of heaven was darkness and there was no mention of meeting Jesus. Might make the beginnings of an episode of "Fringe" though. I certainly would not recommend to a Christian that is not grounded in Scripture.

posted by Anonymous on October 28, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 340 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 17
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2012

    As a physician and NDE researcher, I highly recommend this book.

    As a physician and NDE researcher, I highly recommend this book. Dr. Alexander's book, like Dr. Mary Neal's book, "To Heaven and Back," includes the important elements of an NDE, including recognition of being in a different dimension, meetings with unusual beings, feelings of being accepted and welcomed, and a realization that we are all part of the universe, and carry divine universality in us at all times. Dr. Alexander includes his own research in this great book, conducted after his NDE, where he shows how he is working through the many questions that his experience engendered. His book also shows how he, as a physician, had to let go of engrained thinking about the possibility of NDEs and his colleagues skeptical views of NDE, after surviving his own NDE. A masterful book, beautifully written, and sure to become a classic of true NDE literature. Recommended for all who really want to learn about a true NDE, and about current scientific thinking about NDEs and the directions that NDE research is taking. It is wonderful that, like Dr. Neal, Dr. Alexander does not focus on "religion" in the books. It is interesting to note that the survivors of NDEs do not usually focus on religion as being important. Instead, based on years of talking to them, survivors of true NDEs have moved beyond religion to focus on compassion and humanity, as they have report that there is no religion in the afterlife, but there is a higher consciousness that we are all one, and that goodness and light live in the community of universal consciousness, which erases the people-made divisions of "religion." Please note that to date, no survivor of a true NDE has returned to promote only their religion, or to become hysterical if someone dies and is not a member of that same religion. Survivors of a true NDE report the opposite, and that we are all important in the afterlife, with an emphasis on the divinity found in all of us. Anyone using a story of NDE phenomena to promote their personal view of religion is being misleading, as that is simply marketing with a view to making money, and not truthful reporting of an NDE to increase knowledge and respect for all.

    192 out of 219 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2012

    I LOVE this book! Dr. Alexander's story is gripping. I started

    I LOVE this book! Dr. Alexander's story is gripping. I started reading the book last night, and it was very difficult to stop! His writing makes reading almost effortless, and he tells his story as if he were there talking to me. The scientific information is written so that it is very easly understood. I'm very much looking forward to reading the rest of the book!

    140 out of 153 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2012

    Do your research

    Before you write long reviews, please:
    A. Read the book
    B. Offer your opinion on behalf of science when he conferred with many in his field to purposely disprove what happened to him.
    C. Pretend that you are smarter than he is.
    D. Bring religion into this discussion when he clearly does not. E. Open your closed mind to other possibilites. You sound like a fool.

    114 out of 292 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2012

    Leap of Faith

    I am a nurse, so I was able to follow alot of the physiology and the medical challenges Dr. Alexander use to describe his experience. For me, what was most compelling about this book is recognizing how difficult this was to write in light of the fact Dr. Alexander had spent a lifetime substantiating findings with facts; then having only his word to tell others about this incredible experience. This book makes me want to know more about this God that Dr. Alexander now knows so intimately. I came away a little envious of the experience - how absolutely blessed he was to get this opportunity. Thank you Dr. Alexander for sharing this experience.

    107 out of 118 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2012

    A very important book!

    I've been studying quantum mechanics for a while, and this book is right on. I would venture to say, life changing. And if you've ever suffered a great loss, this book will give you great comfort.

    98 out of 106 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 28, 2012

    Possibility

    The only thing that stopped me reading was the need to wipe my eyes. My tears were blurring my vision. Though—especially if you are in the medical profession—you still might not believe in heaven, I don't think it's possible for anyone to read this book and not believe in love.

    51 out of 65 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2012

    Wonderful!

    This, is an awesome book!

    31 out of 55 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2012

    Easy to read and understand

    Sweet story of unconditional love.

    29 out of 45 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 10, 2012

    A truely remarkable book written by a remarkable man. Dr. Alexan

    A truely remarkable book written by a remarkable man. Dr. Alexander is a highly educated and respected Neurosurgeon and as such his thought process is based in scientific fact. His story is amazing and miraculous to say the least. He presents his experiences through a Doctor's scientistific eyes and does it so that the average person understands and can believe. He is able to present the vastness of the universe and the connectedness of all that it entails. His book is truely his testament and answers some of life's greatest questions.

    *This was a GoodReads win

    24 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2012

    This looks really good!

    I read a section of it in newsweek and i would love to buy this book!

    22 out of 62 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2012

    Wonderful book!

    You will get the most out of it if you read it with an open mind.

    11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2012

    Amazing. I just finished reading this book and could not put it

    Amazing. I just finished reading this book and could not put it down. I have read several NDE stories and this is by far the best yet. I say this because he has written his experience in great detail and I felt as though he was being 100% honest about his experience and truly wants to share that experience with others to help them.

    7 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 13, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    When Dr. Eben Alexander, M.D. went to bed On 9 November 2008 his

    When Dr. Eben Alexander, M.D. went to bed On 9 November 2008 his back was achy, when he awoke the next morning at 4:30, the pain was severe.  By 9:30 of that morning he was in a coma.  What began as a small discomfort was the early onset of a deadly disease.   When an otherwise healthy individual contracts spontaneous E. coli bacterial meningitis (a 1 in 10,000,000 occurrence), spends seven days in a coma and fully recovers (90% of the individuals who suffer this malady die, the remaining 10% remain in a sustained vegetative state), “miracle” is the only fitting term.   The fact of his survival remains unprecedented in the annals of Medical Journals.  What is most remarkable, however, was what he experienced while in the coma.  Dr. Alexander is convinced that he spent those seven days in a place “more real” and  “more beautiful,” where he learned without limits or filters of matters that will take him “the rest of his life to sort out,” and which he understood Love is the core of the universe; he visited what is commonly called “Heaven.”  
    His difficulty in describing exactly what he saw was a matter of limited speech. (How does one describe chocolate to one whom has never tasted that treat?  How to relate the vastness of the Grand Canyon to someone who has never seen a valley?  These are the difficulties Dr. Alexander faces in trying to relate his experience.)  He possesses the intelligence, the vocabulary and the ability to relate difficult concepts clearly (he has been a medical researcher and neurosurgeon for over 25 years) yet he is greatly limited to the use of inadequate tools to detail the glories he saw.  The description he was able to present caused my heart to race – THAT is how magnificent what he saw was.  
    After he recovered he researched Near Death Experiences, a field of rich documentation, spanning decades and multiple cultural strata, that he has ignored because he “knew the about NDEs without caring about the facts.”  The last 50 pages of the text are devoted to his speaking of the medical validation of his experience.  As a skeptical scientist, he knows the difficulty before him as he speaks to his fellow scientists of what he learned.  He argues a strong case. 
    As a therapist, I was skeptical of many of the events/details Dr. Alexander posits in this book.  His was a VERY sick brain, under unimaginable stress.  I have seen what that organ can make up when people are under far less stress.  His ending the book addressing many of the questions I pondered was a help.  His brain, according to his illness, was not stressed, the parts of his brain that “caused” him to be human “WERE OFF LINE,” they were unavailable to create hallucinations/dreams/logic.  In other words, he was not capable of making up the elaborate events during his illness.
    As a Theologian, much of what he said resonated deeply within me.  His speaking of all things being connected, of his “being a part of all there is,” reminded me of some of the profound Spiritual moments in my life.  I want to believe there is a place where my Grandfather Stonecypher can hear, where my Mom-by-Marriage can remember my name, where my Uncle Ted can see.   A place, as the old hymn states, “of quiet rest, near to the heart of God.”   A home where the greeting is, as it was for Dr. Alexander:
    “You are loved and cherished, dearly, forever.”
    “You have nothing to fear.”
    “There is nothing you can do wrong.” (p.41)
    That is the message of hope upon which my theology stands.  

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2012

    Very compelling!

    Those who scoff, clearly have not read the good Doctor's credentials. Respected, honest and board certified ; I can't imagine why some doubt or seriously believe their doubts should even be given second thought.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2013

    HEAVEN EXISTS!

    I have always believed in heaven, but wondered if it was the paradise outlined in the Bible. Each pastor who spoke about Heaven had his/her own interpretation of what it might be . . . mansions prepared for us, etc., etc. When my mother passed away 4 years ago, I again wondered what Heaven for her would be. After reading Dr. Alexander's book, I am pleased to say that I now believe that Heaven is Paradise for my mother, who very much deserves it. I know that she is at peace and able to sing her own joy filled song. Thank you Dr. Alexander for sharing your experience.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2012

    Medical professional

    As an ICU nurse, I found this book very accurate and interesting. I have had many pt's speak of such experiences and also have many wake up with ICU psychosis. Easy to read, and not too technical.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2012

    Wow

    Im thirteen and want to read this book

    5 out of 43 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2012

    Review by Marcia G.

    This is about the fifth such book I've personally read. It is a very, very good book - quite excellent in fact!!! You need to be halfway intelligent to obsorb its contents, however, since it was written by a very intelligent doctor. I think the most telling thing about it is the awe expressed by Dr. Alexander. What I mean is that for most of us "average" people, believing in heaven isn't such a stretch, but for him it seemed incredulous that conscienceness exists beyond the confines of the physical body. Such is the mindset of the scientific community. This is why Jesus said you must become like a child in your belief because little children can believe anything. They don't yet have their earthly intellect to limit them. That being said, this is exactly what makes this book so authentic and convincing. I' m going to send it to my atheist daughter and pray for a conversion!!!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 8, 2013

    Couldn't put it down. My family and I recently lost our loved o

    Couldn't put it down. My family and I recently lost our loved one after he was in a coma for seven days in a large hospital in Boston. Much of what Dr. Alexander described as his physical experience of coma accurately reflected what we saw. Dr. Alexander explained how coma patients are in and out of this world...and i saw and felt that. What was amazing to me was what Dr. Alexander explained was happening to him during this time. I am comforted hoping that Eben's experience is what is in store for all of us and it is all about love. I will strongly recommend this book to my siblings who are grieving because it brings such hope.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 11, 2012

    Highly Recommended.

    I found the book fascinating, especially since he is a man of science.
    Dr. Alexander confirms my own beliefs about an afterlife.
    I believe I caught a glimpse of this beautiful world after the death of my daughter.
    I think it will inspire a great number of people to rethink their beliefs.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 340 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 17