Customer Reviews for

Proof of the Afterlife: The Conversation Continues

Average Rating 4.5
( 16 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2013

    This book was a true roadmap of how to live your life and what i

    This book was a true roadmap of how to live your life and what is truly important! Sometimes the reader needs to be reminded that being charitable and serving others benefits far more than what we want. It clearly shows we can get everything in the afterlife that we want if we just help enough other people get what they want. If we follow the teachings of the book rather than the details of what eternity looks like we achieve our ultimate goal. Please remember the author receives no financial profits from this book due to his vow of poverty! This greatly enhances his credibility! A must read for young and old! 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2012

    THIS BOOK WILL MOVE YOU TO ACTION This book is more about how we

    THIS BOOK WILL MOVE YOU TO ACTION
    This book is more about how we live our lives in the present than what happens to us after we die. That's really what living a life inspired by compassion is all about. Brother Gary shares his experiences in a warm and loving manner that focuses on how we can, as imperfect human beings, make the most of our humanity. This book is a must read for anyone who had a less than perfect childhood or anyone whose looking for meaning in there lives that goes far beyond bank accounts and material possessions. Love, mercy, forgiveness-these are the compassionate keys that can open up our hearts to share the very best of ourselves with the rest of the world. Much thanks goes to Brother Gary for sharing his deeply personal journey with us. READ THE BOOK---AND BE INSPIRED!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 7, 2011

    Blessed are the Broken

    Through Brother Gary Joseph, it seems that God is giving us the message that mercy is at the heart of heaven. This book smacks of the consistent theme found in the writings of Flannery O'Connor (and, actually, the Gospel!): those who "make it" to heaven are not always the well-kept-together "nice" people who pay their bills on time and sit in the pews each Sunday. Brother Gary's experiences with the other side reveal a heaven populated by addicts, homosexuals, the messy, the broken. In other words, the people Jesus hung out with when he walked the earth. And the costs of a ticket into this heaven? Forgiveness. Mercy. Charity. Proof of the Afterlife leads to the realization that gossip can be just as deadly to the soul as premarital sex. A good wake-up call for us regular church-goers, this book lingers long after it's put down, instilling both a sense of hope and a call to profound conversion.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 4, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    An incredible journey of faith and the proof of the eternal life that awaits us.

    Proof of the Afterlife is a very comforting book and Brother Joseph is sincere throughout his depictions of his encounters and in his relationship with his family and close friends. This leads me to believe he truly has had all these experiences, as he has written in his book. Soon after his life-after-death experience Gary started to have apparitions, dreams and other out of this world things happen and continue for many years of his life, which he documented. Br Joseph was raised in a very dysfunctional family, with a controlling father, an abusive brother and a mother who never stood up for herself. Gary explains about his struggle to understand and forgive his parents and his brother, all who are now deceased. His greatest conflicts were with his father, who even disowned and refused to visit his own son, Gary's brother, while he lay dying. As his father grew older Gary later tried to get him to have a relationship with God, especially before his father passed on. I found this part of the book to be very emotional and difficult. Br Joseph chose to write and share about his life and this incredible journey, not only to show how he found peace during the most difficult times in his life, but also so others could find comfort in knowing there is life after death. That we may know their is a God who loves us all, even if we think we are not deserving of that love.

    When a member of the clergy comes to mind, whether it be a Nun, Priest, Father, Bishop, Cardinal or a Brother like Gary, I have never felt the need to wonder if maybe their parents or brothers or sisters also believe in God. It has never really crossed my mind until I read this book, and now for some reason I find the need to give it thought. God chose Gary to speak directly to, yet he is just like anyone else on this planet. Br Joseph is a sinner like us all, and he makes it a point many times throughout the book. I clearly understand the way Br Joseph explains how God may speak to someone. Whether it be through a dream, in our daily thoughts, however I had a problem understanding the locution thing he talks about. Gary gives many accounts throughout the book of being ?in the presence of God and having visits from the other-side. All of which I believe are genuine since he always describes them as being peaceful and always giving him guidance and understanding. Having studied and read hundreds of accounts of afterlife experiences. It has been well documented by many that do cross over and then coming back to life do keep a spirituall connection to that other-side and even continue to have visits and unusual experiences. Proof of the Aferlife is a life changing book and one to share with others. This is a very powerful book and it makes a great read for anyone, atheist, Christian, any believer in God and especially for those who may believe there is no afterlife.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2012

    This book was fantastic-it is just what you are looking for!

    I would like to thank Bro. Gary Joseph for having the courage to share his experiences with all of us. In a very straight forward manner he preesnts what most people search for their whole lives, but don't know where to find it: Proof of the Afterlife. For anyone who has experienced some of the things that he has, his book makes it okay to admit that you have. You will love this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 23, 2011

    Live To Read

    What is it like to die? Many of us will find out, but never be able to tell others about our experiences. This is an interesting novel in that the reader will experience what the author is feeling. The journal entries feel a tad preachy and even a little fake, however, they are intriguing. The reader will enjoy reading about the author's ideas and extrapolations based on his near-death experience. Many biblical references are made, these are explained well-the reader will not be confused or left in the dark. There are pictures in the middle to help explain some of the references and stories the author speaks of. The journals could have used a little more detail, it sometimes seemed that the author was explaining too much rather than letting the facts speak for themselves. Overall, a reader who is interested in this topic would be most likely to enjoy this novel.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    God Encounters: A Story of Love, Mercy, Forgiveness, and Reconciliation

    "Proof of the Afterlife: The Conversation Continues" is a beautifully written account of a most unusual experience. In July of 2005 Br.Gary Joseph made a commitment to establish a dialog and relationship with God as a top priority. Joseph writes to shed light on life-giving communication with God in the midst of commuting, routine activities, and responsibilities to help the reader learn how to hear from God and how to enter into conversation with Him. He helps the reader understand that the results of these conversations are evidenced by: . a growing peace in their heart . an ongoing dialog with God . and a continuing conversation with deceased and living loved ones This kind of experience requires: . a humble heart . an open mind . a spirit of "charity" (love) Brother Gary Joseph s.F.m. draws from dated entries in his personal contemplative journals to relate experiences, reflections, revelations, illuminations, and locutions in his book. He includes his thoughts on miracles of healing, visions, and after death experiences. The author's writing is engaging, sincere, and articulate. His views are influenced by is training and service within the Catholic community. As the story progresses Brother Gary shares incidents and conversations with his father, mother, brother, cousin, and other family members and friends. This is a book for anyone in the midst of family concerns, faltering relationships, or other life challenges. "Proof of the Afterlife: The Conversation Continues" offers hope with a message of love, mercy, forgiveness and reconciliation. In exchange for a fair and honest review I was provided a complimentary review copy of the book by the author. As Reviewed for Midwest Book Review

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 18, 2011

    A thought-provoking tale of the afterlife

    I interviewed Bro. Joseph for an article and I must admit that I was intrigued when I got the assignment.

    His experience is one-of-a-kind and really speaks to those of us that still have doubts that there is indeed a higher being. His narrations are touching, thought-provoking and inspiring. What is more incredible is that he recounts his encounter with amazing clarity and depth!

    "Proof of the Afterlife" is a must-read for believers and non-believers alike. This book will speak to you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 17, 2011

    AN INSPIRATION!!!

    I advise everyone to read this book. Br. Gary's story involving his family and friends relates to our similar situations. Even though we have our difficulties in life, it is reassuring that through our works of Charity, Love, Forgiveness, Compassion and Respect we can help people (living and deceased). Jeremiah 29:13 You will seek me and find me when you seek me with all your heart.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2011

    Hard to Put Down

    I read the book cover to cover in one sitting. The exerience I had was one of the renewal of my faith, increased spirituality, more hope and the true meaning of reconcilliation. I enjoyed it so much, each of my adult children received a copy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2011

    This is a "must read"! I would definitely recommend it!

    Br. Gary Joseph is a gifted write whose locutions and experiences have changed his life's direction. His is an inspiring story of acceptance and forgiveness, and love. Many readers will likely be able to identify with the stories included in this great read. An added bonus is the inspiring prayers and the invitation to be part of a most noble service.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2011

    Thought Provoking and Uplifting!

    I found "Proof of the Afterlife" more than just a story about a near death experience. Brother Gary also shares his journey about learning about forgiveness, love and faith. Through it, one feels compelled to not only reflect on what we can expect from beyond but on the changes we can make today to make life better for us and those we love. I believe Brother Gary's book is a must-read for everyone!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 18, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    Br. Gary's inspiring story of his encounters with the Triune God, the Blessed Mother and various souls who have passed to the next life is nothing short of miraculous! It offers us true hope in a world that can so often seem hopeless or without meaning...may he be blessed for sharing his personal journey with us all! I highly recommend this book!

    PF,
    California, USA

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2010

    It's a True Story and Highly Recommended

    Proof of the Afterlife - The Conversation Continues is a true story about one man's crossing over to the Other Side in September of 2005, when, after an out of control heart arrhythmia at 1:15am, he wakes up dead in the afterlife, and comes back thirty minutes later to tell about it. In the words of his family physician, "Dude, you have been somewhere very few people ever return from." Since that time, this book chronicles his somewhat unusual daily life - one of frequent God-encounters, and visits from the other side by family and friends on a mission to facilitate love, mercy, forgiveness and reconciliation.

    So pick up the book and come along for your own hope-filled journey into the reality of eternal life. Struggling with family, relationships, terminal illness or just life in general? This book will lead you to concrete, indisputable, life-changing and reassuring facts: God is real! He is alive and well, and in control. Your family and friends who have passed on are very much alive. They love you and are waiting for you to come home.

    Cautionary Note
    While reading Proof of the Afterlife - The Conversation Continues, God-encounters are possible, weeping and grieving may occur, and peace may flood your soul. Uncontrollable laughter and joy may follow!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1