Customer Reviews for

A Proper Companion (A Regency Romance)

Average Rating 4
( 140 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(51)

4 Star

(52)

3 Star

(29)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Characters that really come alive....

There is nothing better than a book that truly brings its characters alive, with full personalities, quirks, dreams and troubles. Candice Hern truly achieves that in A Proper Companion. Emily, the companion to a dowager, starts off with a properly demure personality as...
There is nothing better than a book that truly brings its characters alive, with full personalities, quirks, dreams and troubles. Candice Hern truly achieves that in A Proper Companion. Emily, the companion to a dowager, starts off with a properly demure personality as suits her station in life, but even at the beginning, you can sense a spark of fun in her. Certainly, she was witty and intelligent even from the start, yet you see her grow in confidence and really blossom over the course of the book. Robert, the dowager's nephew, is impossible not to like and you find yourself hoping that he can somehow untangle himself from his betrothal and find true happiness with Emily. But no honourable gentleman can break a betrothal. Emily wouldn't dream of interfering. Perhaps the crafty dowager has a trick up her sleeve? Well worth the read. You won't be able to put it down, and the characters will linger in your mind long after you read it.

posted by Elle_S on July 20, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Boring

This book was advertised as being in the style of Georgette Heyer. But the dialogue doesn't sparkle, the lady has no spunk, and the rake is conventional. The author writes that her characters are witty and charming and intelligent... I'm glad she made that clear othewis...
This book was advertised as being in the style of Georgette Heyer. But the dialogue doesn't sparkle, the lady has no spunk, and the rake is conventional. The author writes that her characters are witty and charming and intelligent... I'm glad she made that clear othewise I would never have guessed. The only author I've read that compares to the great Heyer is Joan Smith (Escapade, Perdita,Talk of the town, Aunt Sophies Diamonds- to name a few of the best) Spend money on her books instead. It's cheaper too since you don't have to buy additional books to reach the happy ending. And you won't be bored doing it.

posted by 18301683 on February 16, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 51 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted May 25, 2011

    Loved this book -- well worth the time spent reading it!

    I've been a fan of Ms. Hern's writing for quite some time, but had never read this, her first published work. I must say I was thoroughly enchanted.

    Though this book has the typical romantic happenings -- they meet, fall in love, overcome obstacles, he rescues her from ... (can't tell or I'll spoil the book) - but the writing is far from typical. Ms. Hern has a way with her characters. I half fell in love with Robert myself. He's the dashing hero every girl dreams to meet. And his grandmother is a woman we'd all love to have as our own grandmother. Emily, the heroine, is smart, capable and beautiful. These were characters I'd want to get to know in real life, and the hero's friends, Sedgewick and Pemerton, have me surfing off to buy their stories.

    All in all a very enjoyable read that I highly recommend.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2011

    what a treasure!

    Once upon a time I read a lot of Regencies, but they pretty much disappeared. A friend pointed me to this book, by an author I'd heard of but never read. What a treasure! Loved every page, every character, every line of dialog. Can't wait to read her other books. And the cover! Maybe if those Regencies of old (especially the Signets, with those dreadful covers) had had covers like this, they'd still be publishing them, because more people would have bought them. I think I would have bought this book based on the cover alone. But what's inside is even better. What a great find!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 6, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Regency with great story line!

    A Proper Companion by Candice Hern Book 1 of 3 Emily Townsend is determined to make it on her own. Her mother was disowned by her parents because she eloped after finding she was with child. When Emily's mom died her father turned to drinking and gambling and died leaving her nothing. So she has been a companion for older women the last few years. The dowager Bradleigh is who she has been with the past year. The seventy-eight year old woman lives in Bath and enjoys the escapades of her rakehell grandson. Until the day she reads the Gazette and sees that Robert is betrothed to the daughter of a woman she can't stand. How the dowager wishes he could have found someone like sweet Emily. Robert arrives at Bath to give the news to his Grandmother but he's too late. She has read the announcement and she is not happy. At thirty-five he decided he needed to marry for heirs, after weeding out all the traits he did not want, he chose Augusta Windhurst. She is somewhat quiet and beautiful. Her mother is a harridan but they could always move to the country. Once he gets to know Grandmother's companion though, Robert starts to realize how his life is already changing being betrothed. But Gentlemen did not break agreements, only the lady could. So he was stuck with his choice. The more time Emily and Robert spend together the more their friendship grows. When Grandmother wants to come to London to throw an engagement ball, she forces Emily to update her wardrobe. With new dresses and her hair styled, Emily's true beauty shines and she soon has many admirers. And some enemies. She meets her Uncle and he is quite cruel to her, and her cousin Hugh keeps trying to buddy up to her, what could they be up to? The next two books in this series are: A Change of Heart & An Affair of Honor.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 14, 2012

    Thoroughly delightful.

    After reading this book, I went out and purchased all of her books and wasn't disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2012

    Fantastic

    Wonderful read, thoroughly enjoyed every page.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    Great read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 23, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    I enjoyed the book. It was a light, fast read...a feel good book. Although one knew how it would end, it was still enjoyable getting there. I liked the book so much that I purchased all the other books available by the same author. There are several books that have some of the same characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 12, 2011

    Great book!

    I had heard of Candice Hern but never read her books. A website directed me to this book and now I am hooked. The characters envelope you and you just don't want to put this book down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2011

    Excellent, as always

    There is just enough mystery, humor and romance to keep you interested. If you haven't made the same mistakes, then you definitely know someone that has. All of the characters are loveable, even the villian (kinda). You cannot go wrong with Candice. She always comes through.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2011

    Wonderful Regency

    I'm a huge fan of trads and so pleased to see them make a resurgence as ebooks. This one is splendid, a fine example of the genre. Emily and Robert are drawn to each other from the start, but he is engaged and she is somewhat unsuitable (as a paid companion to his grandmother) so what to do? There were no big surprises here, but the story flows beautifully and I did enjoy how everything was tied up at the end, echoing what happened in the Prolog. Loved the dowager and her pug, who must be spoken to in French! Trad readers will love this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 25, 2011

    Lovely, sweet Regency romance - highly recommended

    I love traditional Regencies, and this one is a charmer. Besides the central romance, which is lovely, the secondary characters really shine in this book. The dowager countess who carries a pistol in her reticule, the temperamental French chef, the valet who dabbles in smuggling, even the dog Charlemagne -- all are wonderfully witty charatcers. I wish people still wrote these sweet, funny trads. We need more books like this one. Regency lovers, don't miss it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 3, 2011

    Great Story!

    Well-written, witty regency romance. Fun, fast read. I really enjoyed it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 51 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3