Customer Reviews for

Property

Average Rating 4
( 20 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Recommended

Excellent book on history of slavery. Easy read.

posted by 4795789 on January 13, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

A bit disappointed

If Martin's intention was to create an unsympathetic narrator, she accomplished her goal. But when a reader dislikes the narrator, it can be difficult to truly engage with a novel. In fact, it was hard to like anyone in this novel--or to really care what happened to t...
If Martin's intention was to create an unsympathetic narrator, she accomplished her goal. But when a reader dislikes the narrator, it can be difficult to truly engage with a novel. In fact, it was hard to like anyone in this novel--or to really care what happened to them. Yes, it details the hothouse life of southern women in the civil war era, and it shows the bitterness and desperation of the slaves. But I didn't feel it was up to par for Martin.

posted by Anonymous on June 26, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2005

    A bit disappointed

    If Martin's intention was to create an unsympathetic narrator, she accomplished her goal. But when a reader dislikes the narrator, it can be difficult to truly engage with a novel. In fact, it was hard to like anyone in this novel--or to really care what happened to them. Yes, it details the hothouse life of southern women in the civil war era, and it shows the bitterness and desperation of the slaves. But I didn't feel it was up to par for Martin.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2013

    Excellent !!!! Read it twice. Easy to read. Very Descriptive.

    Excellent !!!! Read it twice. Easy to read. Very Descriptive.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    Highly recommended

    I read the book in one afternoon. It makes you think. You wonder how anyone can treat another in this manner.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2012

    A great quick read

    This book took me less than a day to finish (the copy I have is 193 pages long). It was really good, hard to put down at times. I actually wished it was twice as long when I was done because I wanted to learn even more about the characters. I would give it between a 3 and a 4 because, though it was entertaining, I wanted more out of it by the end.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2012

    Being "owned" can mean more than one thing

    How cruel and ignorant people can be

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2012

    Kp tx

    This book was engaging until the end and then it fell flat. The book literally just stops mid story. I found myself checking my ebook to make sure there wasn't an error. This is the first book that I have read by this author and it's obvious that she is talented, but the abrupt ending left much to be desired and subtracted from the overall appeal of the book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2012

    Recommended

    Excellent book on history of slavery. Easy read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 18, 2011

    no surprises

    An easy read with no surprises except it wasnt as good as expected.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2004

    Couldn't Put It Down

    This was one of the most memorable books I've read all year. It is suspenseful and realistic without all the excessive angst in most books containing dark subject matter. I can't wait to buy the rest of her books. This one is a 'must'.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2003

    Disturbing Slice of American History

    This book was disturbing and evxhilirating. It was unique in it's perspective of a female slave owner. I loved the comparisons of the oppressed woman in U.S. society as well as the plight of the enslaved black woman. The experiences are starkly different but also parrallel to each other. 'Property'is run of the mill, because of it's account of the black holocaust also known as slavery, but Ms. Martin's new slant, is that the story isn't told from the aspect of a slave, a brutal master or overseer, but a woman who was just as brutal in her thoughts and words.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2003

    A truly excellent book

    For someone looking for a real book, not just fluff, that flows quick and smooth, this is it. Lovely Bones, Lucky, English Patient, to name a few, are books written well, like this one. I could not put it down, and wanted more in the end.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1