BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Prophecy (Dragon King Chronicles Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 28 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(18)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Loved it - fast paced, page-turner

Prophecy - fabulous new book from a debut author - This is the best compliment I can give any author, let alone a first time author – way past my bedtime, I kept saying, ‘just one more chapter.’ This book was released January 2 – when I read the promo, I had to go out a...
Prophecy - fabulous new book from a debut author - This is the best compliment I can give any author, let alone a first time author – way past my bedtime, I kept saying, ‘just one more chapter.’ This book was released January 2 – when I read the promo, I had to go out and buy it. I was not disappointed. It is Asian-, specifically Korean-influenced which adds a wonderful backdrop for an even better story. I never felt like I could predict the storyline and it had some pleasant surprises with an extremely satisfying ending – also a smidge of romantic interest. I highly recommend it. @acoywriter

posted by ACoyReader on January 6, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    I liked Kira, she is definitely a confidant and capable main

    I liked Kira, she is definitely a confidant and capable main character. I like it when a lady knows what she wants, knows how to take care of herself, and kicks ass. 
    What I didn't like about Prophecy was that I was thrown in with a bunch of unfamiliar terminolo...
    I liked Kira, she is definitely a confidant and capable main character. I like it when a lady knows what she wants, knows how to take care of herself, and kicks ass. 
    What I didn't like about Prophecy was that I was thrown in with a bunch of unfamiliar terminology and places, and politics are not my thing, and it seemed that it took more of a center stage than I expected. I think that is my fault though, because while I like some fantasy, it has to be pulled off a certain way, and it is not flaw to the book when I can't get fully immersed. 
     There are plenty of action scenes and I also liked the build up with her protecting the prince as well as her sarcastic interactions with Shin. That is what made the beginning, and all of the politics okay for me. I think another thing that kept me from fully diving is is how Kira guarded her heart and that there wasn't any romance. Don't get me wrong, I don't think that a book has to have romance, or that a girl/woman should think that they need a man to be complete, BUT that is just my reading preferences. 
   Bottom Line: I read for Kira and those scenes. In the end, I think that this was just not exactly what I was expecting, but it was a quality enough book. 

posted by BlkosinerBookBlog on January 10, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted January 6, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Loved it - fast paced, page-turner

    Prophecy - fabulous new book from a debut author - This is the best compliment I can give any author, let alone a first time author – way past my bedtime, I kept saying, ‘just one more chapter.’ This book was released January 2 – when I read the promo, I had to go out and buy it. I was not disappointed. It is Asian-, specifically Korean-influenced which adds a wonderful backdrop for an even better story. I never felt like I could predict the storyline and it had some pleasant surprises with an extremely satisfying ending – also a smidge of romantic interest. I highly recommend it. @acoywriter

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Fantastic Book! Highly recommend it for readers who love ancient

    Fantastic Book! Highly recommend it for readers who love ancient Asian based books!
    Prophecy by Ellen Oh was not even on my radar to read. It happened to catch my eye on the shelf at Barnes and Noble and when I read the flap it intrigued me, but it was not until I read about the author Ellen Oh, that the book made its way into my arms to purchase. Ellen Oh loves martial arts films, K-pop and K-drama! She instantly became a favorite. But the true test was in the story and characters she created in Prophecy. I personal have a very soft spot for stories that take place in the orient. Add in the mythology and demons and I'm almost instantly hooked. Ellen Oh does not disappoint with her story wrapped in all three. The story has a steady flow to it and all the major characters are introduced early on. Ellen Oh also does a great job of giving enough back story on each character to understand their drive and purpose, but they still retain mystery for books to come. The main character and heroine is Kira Kang who is a yellow eyed warrior, but also female, which in Asia is HUGE on so many levels. I instantly connected with her and her band of family and friends. She is a strong female lead, but has faults enough. This is a YA so of course all the major characters are teens. But I still found myself relating to the trials and tribulations they all faced. I cannot wait to read more from Ellen Oh and find out more about Kira's journey.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    4.5 Stars 'Prophecy' is the first book in a new YA fantasy tril

    4.5 Stars

    'Prophecy' is the first book in a new YA fantasy trilogy that follows Kira - the only female warrior in the king's army and the prince's personal bodyguard. She is also a demon slayer and is a pariah in her city. If her profession wasn't enough for people to be afraid of her, she also has the strangest yellow eyes - ones like nobody has ever seen. Kira stumbles upon a conspiracy that threatens the crown, her country, and her family. She must keep the prince safe, while trying to help solve the mysterious prophecy of the Dragon King - whom everyone believes to be the prince. In order to save the prince and find the key to unlocking the prophecy, Kira must face demon soldiers, evil shamans, and their Demon Lord.

    This was a thrilling, action-packed novel that I couldn't put down. I didn't know what to expect when I read the descripton, but I'm glad that I gave it a try - it definitely exceeded my expectations and then some. Kira is a really awesome heroine in the book. She's strong, fierce, loyal, doesn't care what people say or think about her, and definitely kicks serious butt. I immediately liked her from the start and only continued to admire her thoughout the novel. The plot was interesting and different from what I normally read. It was very well detailed and the descriptions of the people, the setting, and the history behind the story was very intricate and well done. It gave a clear picture of how things came to be and what was going on - even though it's a completely fictional place, I felt like I was there with the characters. I had no problem immersing myself in the story and could easily imagine the setting and the story as it played out. There's a ton of things going on in the book and it completely trashes genre labels. There's action, adventure, fantasy, suspense, a touch of mystery, and a bit of romance thrown in too. Overall, this was a fantastic first book of a really intriguing new trilogy. It definitely exceeded my expectations and speaks for itself. Although it may not be for everyone, fans of action and fantasy novels will be sure to devour it. I'll definitely be reading the next book to see where the story goes and what happens to the prince and Kira. Highly recommended!

    Disclosure: I received a copy of the book in exchange for an honest review.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2013

    *Slight spoiler at the end!* This book was really great. The mai

    *Slight spoiler at the end!* This book was really great. The main character was strong willed and stubborn, and had been through very much. The only problem i had with the book was that despite her cities intense hatred of her, she did one great thing and all of a sudden they loved her...and she accepted that with ease. It just seemed a little false that someone that was hated to the point where she was stoned practically to death, could just forgive these people so easily. But other than that it was a great book filled with adventure with a little side order of romance :)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2013

    The Prophecy

    "Bright light shows the way, Dead will cause the heroes to rise, Feather shows the path, Otter will shelter the sky, and the Mouse will taste the triumph..."

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2013

    Good but Basically "Graceling"

    The book is pretty good. Nice story development and characters seems to be properly set-up. However. The book is almost exactly the same as Graceling by Kristin Cashore with just a different character and setting which I felt was a better story overall than The Prophecy. They are both good reads.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2013

    This one of my favorite books

    This book is amazing if u like action adventure and a little bit
    of romance this book is perfect for u.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2013

    more from this reviewer

        I liked Kira, she is definitely a confidant and capable main

        I liked Kira, she is definitely a confidant and capable main character. I like it when a lady knows what she wants, knows how to take care of herself, and kicks ass. 
        What I didn't like about Prophecy was that I was thrown in with a bunch of unfamiliar terminology and places, and politics are not my thing, and it seemed that it took more of a center stage than I expected. I think that is my fault though, because while I like some fantasy, it has to be pulled off a certain way, and it is not flaw to the book when I can't get fully immersed. 
         There are plenty of action scenes and I also liked the build up with her protecting the prince as well as her sarcastic interactions with Shin. That is what made the beginning, and all of the politics okay for me. I think another thing that kept me from fully diving is is how Kira guarded her heart and that there wasn't any romance. Don't get me wrong, I don't think that a book has to have romance, or that a girl/woman should think that they need a man to be complete, BUT that is just my reading preferences. 
       Bottom Line: I read for Kira and those scenes. In the end, I think that this was just not exactly what I was expecting, but it was a quality enough book. 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2013

    Great book, fast read and great story telling. The world of Prop

    Great book, fast read and great story telling. The world of Prophecy is fascinating and the main
     character is really the "kick butt" type. I love Kira and can't wait for more from this author. Great job!!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2013

    A Great, Fun Read!!! Anyone who loves strong female lead charact

    A Great, Fun Read!!!
    Anyone who loves strong female lead characters will LOVE this book! It's such a fun, quick read, once you start reading, you can't put it down. It has such a cinematic feel to it, that you feel as though you are standing in the midst of those incredibly vivid fight scenes. I really love this book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2014

    &star Prophecy &star

    Kin of orca and green shal rise. To be the light o clans or the clans demise. Protical daughter of whom shal return and through the forest fire shal burn.........

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2014

    A grim river turned dark as night

    Dark forest clear within sight. A swift shimmer will overcome the fight.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2014

    The fourth prophecy...

    If Burning and Venom and Dragon and the fire in the Thistle all agree... a great ally Lillystar could be... you see... strong is she... owning every Ember of the clan... the fire in the Thistle would be fair... unlike the blood of BloodClan... she would share.... and if times were despret... she would ask... ever so kindly... for aid... and if the fire in the Thistle turns into the star of the Thistle... the star of the Lilly shall be rewarded greatly... so ally the fire in the Bush while she is young and not quite a thistle... and... good Lillystar will be rewarded... when ThornClan rises... they will kill the kill again... and the tear of the Lion will be rewarded for saving Dragon from a wolf... wgen ThornClan awakens from their slumber... ( the fifth prophecy is located at Venomkit and Dragonkit's secret hideout, you have to find it!)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2014

    Kiss my hand

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2014

    GET A FREE IPAD

    Kiss your hand, post this on 3 different books and look under your pillow.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2014

    Anoynomus

    I loved the character Kira and how she deals with being unwanted because of her fighting skills.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2014

    Hi

    Is this a kids book?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2014

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2014

    Kira's is a good character and is developed well, but the story

    Kira's is a good character and is developed well, but the story line is lacking.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    ¿Prophecy¿ by, Ellen Oh Kira is a warrior, a demon hunter, a

    “Prophecy” by, Ellen Oh




    Kira is a warrior, a demon hunter, and a young woman of the royal family. Kira lives in Hansong, in the Seven Kingdoms (a land and time much like feudal Japan) and because of her abilities she is despised by most of her countrymen. Another strike against her is that Kira is one of the King’s army. In a time when women didn’t fight and were instead expected to marry, Kira feels at odds with everything. When the demons attack and (Taejo) the young prince’s life is in danger, Kira must use all her skills to keep him alive and save the kingdom.




    I really enjoyed reading “Prophecy”. I fell in love with the many wonderful characters and with the Seven Kingdoms world. 
    *Kira is strong, smart, and has a compassionate heart. (I love strong female characters in books) I felt everything right along with her and I pulled for her throughout the book.  
    *Kwan and Kyoung are Kira’s brothers. They are both warriors and wonderful brothers. I would like to read more about them. 
    *Jaewon is a traveler that Kira meets while on the run. He is handsom, sweet, and devoted to Kira. (I fell in love with him) I thought it was so sweet how Kira got flustered when they were alone together. 
    *Seung is Jaewon’s friend and traveling companion. He is blunt in a good way and very funny. I enjoyed him.
    *Taejo is the young prince and Kira’s cousin. He wanted so much to be brave and to help fight. I liked watching him grow and learn as he worked to save his people.
    “Prophecy” flowed really well and has an ending that leaves room for many more stories. I also enjoyed the use of magic in the story and the themes of following your heart and protecting family. It was a book that was very easy for me to immerse myself in. I can’t wait to read the next book by Ellen Oh.           

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2