Customer Reviews for

Prophecy of the Sisters (Prophecy of the Sisters Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 191 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(103)

4 Star

(38)

3 Star

(32)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

The Prophecy of the Sisters

The Prophecy of the Sisters is a tragic story of betrayal, magic, loss, and love. It is a tale of good vs. evil, right vs. wrong, and the incredible journey of four young girls locked in an ageless battle to defend humankind. Michelle Zink brings something new to the ta...
The Prophecy of the Sisters is a tragic story of betrayal, magic, loss, and love. It is a tale of good vs. evil, right vs. wrong, and the incredible journey of four young girls locked in an ageless battle to defend humankind. Michelle Zink brings something new to the table, something that will leave readers screaming for book two. Lovers of gothic fantasy will not be disappointed in the slightest, and those looking for romance are sure to get their fair share. Prophecy of the Sisters had me riveted to one spot, immovable for six hours until I had finally finished. The mysteries and riddles are sure to keep clever minds churning, while the twists and romance are sure to stop the heart. Michelle has created a classic tale of ancient evil and endless good, and she has done so with a skillful grace.

posted by Fairynne on July 14, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

18 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

Just finished it...and I bought it in July.

First off, the concept and plot was interesting and I appreciated how nonfictional elements were incorporated to create a story that felt both worldy and unwordly. Now I'm not usually a slow reader when I have the time to read leisurely without a deadline, but the story...
First off, the concept and plot was interesting and I appreciated how nonfictional elements were incorporated to create a story that felt both worldy and unwordly. Now I'm not usually a slow reader when I have the time to read leisurely without a deadline, but the story did not pick up until much later (in the 200 pages or so), which made me feel like I would stop reading at any moment. The characters (with the exception of Sonia) were quite plain and boring. Alice I think is of an orthodox evil and I think "evil" in her sense could have been taken to a completely different level. The dialogue, despite the decade it takes place in, was stiff, felt unnatural to read, and added to the monotony of the slow story climax. Overall it wasn't what I expected when I read the early plot summary before the release. The storyline has a lot of potential and I hope that the sequeal, if there is one, can avenge the not-so-glamorous prequeal.

posted by ABW on August 14, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 191 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 10
  • Posted September 27, 2009

    Good read.

    This book is beautifully written, and is a great start for a trilogy. I still felt unsatisfied with the ending, and looseness of the concept.

    Still i would recommend this book to other YA paranormal fiction readers.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    LOVED THIS BOOK

    It was so interesting and the story line was a-m-a-z-i-n-g. It had me angry, crying, and laughing! I seriously cannot wait til' the next one comes out!!! Im so stoked!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2009

    Amazing Book!

    I saw this book at B&N a few times, nut I never bought it. But the other day I finally did and I'm glad I did. I loved this book, I bought it yesterday and I finished it on the same day. I could not put it down. I was dying to know what would happen. I'm glad that it leaves off for a sequel. The story was original and a little scary as well as sad. I don't think the story was slow at all. I think it was just right, it took it's time to set the story up quite nicely. All the characters were great, hell every thing was well done. I can't wait for the next one.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Originally posted on my blog: As someone who has three sisters,

    Originally posted on my blog:

    As someone who has three sisters, one that I am only a year apart from, I love all books that have to do with sisters. This one popped up on my radar via Twitter and I was so very intrigued by the idea of an evil twin and a good twin. I bought this book on a whim and finally had a nice long drive to the beach to read this.

    I do have to start this review by saying, I’m still trying to figure out how I feel about this book. I have a whole list of things I liked and things I didn’t like. For the sake of my sanity and the sake of your understanding my feelings, let me give you my list.

    What I Liked:

    Alice. Though we are told this story from Lia’s POV, I really liked seeing the changes that Alice goes through in this book. She is secretive, paranoid, reclusive, and kind of scary.

    The Prophecy. I always love the good versus evil twin plot. I don’t know why. Also, I though Michelle Zink did a great job at being thorough and mysterious with this prophecy. There are still parts that we wont’ find out until the second book, but what was presented was very engaging and kept me reading.

    Sonia and Luisa. I don’t want to give too much away, but these girls have a great part to play in this book and I can’t wait to see how their parts unfold in the second novel as well.

    Eerie Undertone. Throughout this entire novel, there is this build up of eerie tension that kept me on the edge of the proverbial cliff the entire time. Especially with Lia and Alice’s interactions.

    What I Didn’t Like:

    Lia. She’s the main character of this book, but I felt no connection with her. The only time I felt anything was her sadness at the tension between her and Alice. But honestly, I think the sadness came from me imagining how it would be if my sister and I were in their shoes. I just really wish there was more growth to her. By the end, I think she starts to become….better? I am ready to see how she grows in the second one.

    James. The love interest. Honestly, like Lia, I didn’t connect to him. I feel like their love was fake. I didn’t feel anything when I read the scenes between the two. And I feel awful for saying it, but I feel like the romance did nothing for the story. At all.

    Slow Pace. While I couldn’t seem to put the book down, it wasn’t because it was so fast paced. On the contrary, I actually skimmed several pages because I was trying to get to the good stuff. I don’t know what it was about the descriptions and internal dialogue, but I just didn’t care for it.

    Overall:

    I did like this book and I will read the rest of the books in this series. Mainly, I have to figure out what happens between Lia and Alice. As far as recommending this book, I would recommend you read this book when your TBR pile is low. I wouldn’t move this book quickly to the top, but I really do think it should be read.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2011

    It Was Okay towards The End

    It started off boring to the point where I left my bookmark in it and left it on my bookshelf for about 5 months or less. I looked at it last night to finish it, and it was amazing. The plot changed and went from being a bore, to being intense and emotional. Now I actually can't wait to buy the 2nd and 3rd book to finish off the series. It may have started off slow, but made up for it in the end.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 18, 2011

    Amazing!!

    I loved this book from the first time I read it. It's a change from all the vampire books now a days. The story starts out at Thomas Milthorpe's funeral (Lia and Alice's dad) there we meet the different characters who at one point or another will have some role in the book. Their brother Henry, Lia's best friend James, their driver and friend Edmund and Aunt Virginia.

    Later that night Lia looks at the strange symbol that has appeared on her wrist the night after her fathers death, a symbol that proves her part and Alice's in an ancient prophecy in which they have a choice to either save the world or destroy it.

    But Lia doesn't know about the prophecy until James her best friend and love interest finds a book in her fathers library with only one page in it, this book is ruffly translated to the "Book of Chaos" the prophecy says this:

    Through fire and harmony mankind endured
    Until the sending of the Guards
    Who took as wives and lovers the woman of man,
    Engendering His wrath.
    Two sisters, formed in the same swaying ocean,
    One the Guardian, One the Gate.
    One keeper of peace,
    The other bartering sorcery for devotion.
    Cast from the heavens, the Souls were Lost
    As the Sisters continue the battle
    Until the Gates summon forth their return,
    Or the Angel brings the Keys to the Abyss.
    The Army, marching forth through the Gates.
    Samael, the Beast, through the Angel.
    The Angel, guarded only by the gossamer veil of protection.
    Four Marks, Four Keys, Circle of Fire
    Birthed in the first breath of Samhain
    In the shadow of the Mystic Stone Serpent of Aubur.
    Let the Angel's Gate swing without the Keys
    Followed by the Seven Plagues and No Return.
    Death
    Famine
    Blood
    Fire
    Darkness
    Drought
    Ruin
    Open your arms, Mistress of Chaos, that the havoc of the Beast will flow like a river
    For all is lost when the Seven Plagues begin.

    Lia's and Alice's relationship evolves, breaks and mends through the book as do they, and little by little their personalities shine with their own light.

    I love the setting of this book (the late 1800) and Michelle makes it all feel so real that I actually feel like I'm living the story rather than reading it, that I'm discovering the secrets with Lia, Alice, Luisa and Sonia (although some secrets I suspect before they find out), I feel like hugging Henry or telling James the truth (poor thing he's kept in the dark)

    All the characters were well written and made you feel for them.

    I loved Lia with her insecurities, and how she grows into finding her role and trying as best as she can to stop the end.

    Sonia is the calm one, and the one that knows most about the prophecy and Lia's role in it as she's a spiritualist.

    And then Luisa is a bubbly character, although I think her personality hides her insecurities.

    And finally Alice, she is complicated, at some parts of the book I would label her as EVIL in capital letters, especially in at the end, what she did is unforgivable in my book, but then in other parts we see a part of her that is good, is capable of feeling friendship and compassion.

    I can't wait to read Guardian of the Gate and I'm of to read it right now.

    I recommend it to anyone who likes historical fiction and paranormal.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Very Entertaining reading

    This is a very entertaining reading, where the author tells us the story of twin sisters Lia and Alice. The story begins when their father dies in a unusual way leaving them and their brother Henry to the care of their aunt. As strange things start to happened, they find themselves involved in a prophecy that could bring back Satan and his army to the world. One sister is the Gate for that to happen and the other sister is the Guardian, whose role is to prevent that from happening. There is a way to end the prophecy once and for all, but one of the sisters need to find four keys for that to happen. This is a page turner book, that will keep you reading on the edge of the chair until the last page. Excellent debut from this very talented author. I am willing to read the other two books of this trilogy.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 21, 2011

    Blah!!

    The book sucked so badly i couldnt even finish it! And to those who actually say pretty much the entire book on the review page, get a life and stop ruining it for other people!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 5, 2011

    SO SICK OF PEOPLE RETELLING THE ENTIRE STORY !

    THIS IS INTENDED FOR REVIEWS FOLKS-JUST A SHORT OPINION. STOP GIVING CHAPTER BY CHAPTER REPLAYS! WE ALL HAVE BRAINS AND CAN READ IT FOR OURSELVES AND COME UP WITH OUR OWN SYNOPSIS.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 28, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Similarities between this and A Great and Terrible Beauty but it's still a great read

    I have to say, I literally read this book from cover to cover in one sitting. It was that interesting. I loved the eerie creepy sensations you got while reading as Lia discovers more behind Alice's malicious actions, and the paranormal aspects of the book really enhanced the dark creepy theme that dominates throughout the storyline.

    Despite the usual cliche of sister vs sister (with twins to add) I thought the main idea behind the storyline was really good and it does differ somewhat from the usual battle of the sisters plots. What's also nice to see is the addition of a historical fiction setting - which I personally like as it's one of my favorite genres to read.

    Lia and Alice are great characters and perfect opposites. Alice is just filled with evil that you can't help but just hate her for her action and behavior. When things come to a climax towards the end of the novel (involving the twins' brother Henry) I almost wanted to jump in and intercept Alice. I hated her for what she did. She's just awful overall!

    Although Lia might seem like the weaker one of the two, I can only hope she'll get stronger later in the trilogy as it progresses. She's got so much on her plate right now I'm hoping she doesn't crack and become all emotional (like most main characters do in a series) later in the second or third book.

    Despite a wonderful story, great characters, and an even paced plot, I can't help but think there's some similarities between this book and the Gemma Doyle series (by Libba Bray), but it's not completely the same. If you've read both, then you just can't help comparing the two. I can't say yet which one I like better as I just started with this series.

    However! if you liked the Gemma Doyle series, do pick this one up. It is worth the read and is a great book. The dark creepy theme and plot, a nicely developed cast of characters, and Alice becoming villain of the year gives the book a lot of substance to go through and will keep you interested until the end (which will make you want to get out and get the second book).

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 7, 2011

    So good

    This book is a great read, it always keeps your mind moving with cunfuzzling things. A book that is hard to let go of. When I finished this I had to wait 3 weeks for the next book to come out. I had been so antcy waiting.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    OMG! SO GOOD

    I loved this book. It is a great story and the characters are captivating. My daughter read this in school and wanted me to read it so I did. I didnt regret it, and immediately had to buy the second one which is also a great read. Cant wait for the third.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2011

    gooood

    this is a great booook!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 22, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great book!

    Why in the world had I not read this book sooner? This book just blew me away and had me hooked.
    Two sisters turned against each other because of fate. A ancient prophecy foretelling one good and one evil. Can the curse be broken?

    I'll just go straight into and say I loved this plot. I loved the ancient prophecy and researching. When plots take me on a adventure of clue finding it is the greatest feeling in the world. The finding of keys, gates, and old books had me absolutely giddy.

    What I didn't like was the slowness of the book. There was the seeking for stuff and then we find it and..... it goes down again. I wanted to see more of the hatred build between the sisters. I wanted to see more betrayals and more stealing. I just wanted more. But nonetheless the book was great. I like the time-setting and the secrets. Secrets are always good.

    The love was definitely touching yet heart breaking. I hope I can see more of that in the next book. I do also want to see more of the other sister. We saw more of her but I would really like to get into her mind and know her motives.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 24, 2010

    Interesting, but not captivating.

    At first I saw this book online and the story sounded very interesting to me, but when I got the book and realized it was written in first person, well you can say I lost a great amount of interest in the book. However I picked it back up and read it and the story was indeed interesting and a fresh read compared to the vampire crap that has been going around, but it lacked the qualities to make me want to read the second book. Magic, switches in powers, and the maybe end to all they know, was good but the book has room for improvement.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 19, 2010

    The best

    O.M.G! How is it that a great book like this is about a prophecy of sisters and it takes place in the 1800's. How old school is that?! I haven't read Guardian of the Gate but I heard that it is really good but not as enticing as the first book in the series. If you like sisters or best friends stealing each others boyfriends just for the likes of it and to piss the other one off, then you'll like Guardian of the Gate. My favorite character is Lia Milthorne because she has James, she has 2 best friends, a Aunt that she loves and vice versa, her mother and father and little brother are in the Underworld and they totally support Lia other than Alice. she's evil but their birth was a mistake. Well, the order. Lia was supposed to come out last but she came out first and the first born of the twins have the mark and are told to be the Angel of the Gate. But that job is for mean people like Alice but she's the Guardian. It's a cool twist. I read it in half of 2 days but it's worth reading. Especially when Lia is trying to end the prophecy by finding the Keys to the gate and Alice is supposed to guard the gate but she gets help from the Souls and Samael. It's awesome. And Lia's best friends are one of the 4 Keys so they have to stick together even when Alice is near.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 31, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Great Book

    This is the first book in the Prophecy of the Sister series. I really liked this book, I don't get why I am seeing such bad reviews given to it. I think one of the reasons is it isn't too full of the romance thing most people seem to want in the books they read, it has a little touch of romance but the story isn't about that romance. It was predictable at times, I could guess well into advance what was gonna happen before it actually happened in the book but the plot and writing are both awesome. Some parts are slow but then when you get to the good parts you really don't care anymore about how slow it once was. A lot of readers want in your face nonstop action and romance but I like it when the story is paced slowly sometimes to give me time to asorb everything and not miss a beat. This book made me definitely want to see what happens next in the story, I'm looking forward to the next book.

    I was looking through some of the books that the person who wrote the last review reads and she seems to like a lot of childish books so I can see why she didn't like this book. Just telling people don't go by every review you read, not even mine. Read the book for yourself and make your own judgements.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    review taken from One Book At A Time http://onebooktime.blogspot.com

    The description of this one really had me intrigued. I was happy I finally decided to read it. It has a very dark and Gothic feel. The relationship between is Alice and Lia is so odd. It's hard to imagine twins being as distant as they are. It really makes the story feel foreboding. It makes me wonder how the household functioned before the parents died. I liked how the prophecy developed. It's not all laid out, but explained a little at a time. I especially enjoyed the twist in the story. It completely crosses the lines of what one would consider good and evil. I was surprised at the drastic actions Alice was willing to take. Since the story is told from Lia's point of view, we never see how evil Alice has become until it is to late. The only real fault I felt the story does not have a real conclusion. I know it's part of a series, but I like to feel that a chapter is ending and another beginning. In this story, I don't think I got that. It feels like the book just ends at a convenient break in the story. I will continue with the next book in the series. I would love to get more from Alice's point of view. But, since she is the evil one, I can see why it might not happen.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 15, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Mixed Feelings

    I really don't know how to go about this review. A part of me enjoyed it and the other half didn't. It was an ok book for me and I think three stars represent that. I certainly will read the sequel.

    I love reading books with the settings that are placed 100 to 1000 years ago. This novel is placed in the late 1800's in America, which to me is very uncommon. Usually I see books with that time period set in Europe. So I did welcome the nice change of setting, but throughout the book I had to remind myself that this wasn't a Hallowmere or Gemma Doyle type book because if gave off the same sort of vibe.

    I commend Michelle Zink for writing so beautifully and portraying first person so passionately. I really felt that she had a firm grasp on first person and how to write it. What I did not like was the book felt to outlined. It was so plotted, that the novel became obvious and had no surprise effect on me.

    The novel was rather slow and nothing really happened, or no action anyways. The end was a bit interesting because the antagonist is so ruthless that it kills someone close to them. And I was quite sadden by that character's demise, because that person didn't deserve it at all. But the aftermath was weird, because the antagonist is never brought to justice or arrested.

    One other thing that I wish this novel had was more Alice. Alice is such a key part of the prophecy, but you see so little of her throughout the novel.

    In character terms, I enjoyed reading from Lia's perspective. She was by far my favorite character, next to Alice. I felt because Lia and Alice were such an important part of the story, that they had more depth and personality then the other characters did which was fine but I'd like to learn more about Sonia and Luisa next time.

    Overall Prophecy of the Sisters was a nice read and was well written. I will definitely keep my eyes open for the sequel, Guardian of the Gate.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 11, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I honestly can't find a fault.

    This is my FAVORITE novel i have Ever read, i have reread it again and it still is absorbing to me, it is unforgettable. Michelle Zink has written a story that does bring something new to the world of teen books. With the new she has also brought in the old English style of writing, giving the novel a classy feel to it without confusion. I can not wait until the second novel arrives. I can not recommend a book as wonderful- i do not know one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 191 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 10