Customer Reviews for

Prophecy of the Sisters (Prophecy of the Sisters Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 189 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(103)

4 Star

(37)

3 Star

(31)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

The Prophecy of the Sisters

The Prophecy of the Sisters is a tragic story of betrayal, magic, loss, and love. It is a tale of good vs. evil, right vs. wrong, and the incredible journey of four young girls locked in an ageless battle to defend humankind. Michelle Zink brings something new to the ta...
The Prophecy of the Sisters is a tragic story of betrayal, magic, loss, and love. It is a tale of good vs. evil, right vs. wrong, and the incredible journey of four young girls locked in an ageless battle to defend humankind. Michelle Zink brings something new to the table, something that will leave readers screaming for book two. Lovers of gothic fantasy will not be disappointed in the slightest, and those looking for romance are sure to get their fair share. Prophecy of the Sisters had me riveted to one spot, immovable for six hours until I had finally finished. The mysteries and riddles are sure to keep clever minds churning, while the twists and romance are sure to stop the heart. Michelle has created a classic tale of ancient evil and endless good, and she has done so with a skillful grace.

posted by Fairynne on July 14, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

18 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

Just finished it...and I bought it in July.

First off, the concept and plot was interesting and I appreciated how nonfictional elements were incorporated to create a story that felt both worldy and unwordly. Now I'm not usually a slow reader when I have the time to read leisurely without a deadline, but the story...
First off, the concept and plot was interesting and I appreciated how nonfictional elements were incorporated to create a story that felt both worldy and unwordly. Now I'm not usually a slow reader when I have the time to read leisurely without a deadline, but the story did not pick up until much later (in the 200 pages or so), which made me feel like I would stop reading at any moment. The characters (with the exception of Sonia) were quite plain and boring. Alice I think is of an orthodox evil and I think "evil" in her sense could have been taken to a completely different level. The dialogue, despite the decade it takes place in, was stiff, felt unnatural to read, and added to the monotony of the slow story climax. Overall it wasn't what I expected when I read the early plot summary before the release. The storyline has a lot of potential and I hope that the sequeal, if there is one, can avenge the not-so-glamorous prequeal.

posted by ABW on August 14, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted September 27, 2009

    Good read.

    This book is beautifully written, and is a great start for a trilogy. I still felt unsatisfied with the ending, and looseness of the concept.

    Still i would recommend this book to other YA paranormal fiction readers.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Originally posted on my blog: As someone who has three sisters,

    Originally posted on my blog:

    As someone who has three sisters, one that I am only a year apart from, I love all books that have to do with sisters. This one popped up on my radar via Twitter and I was so very intrigued by the idea of an evil twin and a good twin. I bought this book on a whim and finally had a nice long drive to the beach to read this.

    I do have to start this review by saying, I’m still trying to figure out how I feel about this book. I have a whole list of things I liked and things I didn’t like. For the sake of my sanity and the sake of your understanding my feelings, let me give you my list.

    What I Liked:

    Alice. Though we are told this story from Lia’s POV, I really liked seeing the changes that Alice goes through in this book. She is secretive, paranoid, reclusive, and kind of scary.

    The Prophecy. I always love the good versus evil twin plot. I don’t know why. Also, I though Michelle Zink did a great job at being thorough and mysterious with this prophecy. There are still parts that we wont’ find out until the second book, but what was presented was very engaging and kept me reading.

    Sonia and Luisa. I don’t want to give too much away, but these girls have a great part to play in this book and I can’t wait to see how their parts unfold in the second novel as well.

    Eerie Undertone. Throughout this entire novel, there is this build up of eerie tension that kept me on the edge of the proverbial cliff the entire time. Especially with Lia and Alice’s interactions.

    What I Didn’t Like:

    Lia. She’s the main character of this book, but I felt no connection with her. The only time I felt anything was her sadness at the tension between her and Alice. But honestly, I think the sadness came from me imagining how it would be if my sister and I were in their shoes. I just really wish there was more growth to her. By the end, I think she starts to become….better? I am ready to see how she grows in the second one.

    James. The love interest. Honestly, like Lia, I didn’t connect to him. I feel like their love was fake. I didn’t feel anything when I read the scenes between the two. And I feel awful for saying it, but I feel like the romance did nothing for the story. At all.

    Slow Pace. While I couldn’t seem to put the book down, it wasn’t because it was so fast paced. On the contrary, I actually skimmed several pages because I was trying to get to the good stuff. I don’t know what it was about the descriptions and internal dialogue, but I just didn’t care for it.

    Overall:

    I did like this book and I will read the rest of the books in this series. Mainly, I have to figure out what happens between Lia and Alice. As far as recommending this book, I would recommend you read this book when your TBR pile is low. I wouldn’t move this book quickly to the top, but I really do think it should be read.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2011

    It Was Okay towards The End

    It started off boring to the point where I left my bookmark in it and left it on my bookshelf for about 5 months or less. I looked at it last night to finish it, and it was amazing. The plot changed and went from being a bore, to being intense and emotional. Now I actually can't wait to buy the 2nd and 3rd book to finish off the series. It may have started off slow, but made up for it in the end.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 15, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Mixed Feelings

    I really don't know how to go about this review. A part of me enjoyed it and the other half didn't. It was an ok book for me and I think three stars represent that. I certainly will read the sequel.

    I love reading books with the settings that are placed 100 to 1000 years ago. This novel is placed in the late 1800's in America, which to me is very uncommon. Usually I see books with that time period set in Europe. So I did welcome the nice change of setting, but throughout the book I had to remind myself that this wasn't a Hallowmere or Gemma Doyle type book because if gave off the same sort of vibe.

    I commend Michelle Zink for writing so beautifully and portraying first person so passionately. I really felt that she had a firm grasp on first person and how to write it. What I did not like was the book felt to outlined. It was so plotted, that the novel became obvious and had no surprise effect on me.

    The novel was rather slow and nothing really happened, or no action anyways. The end was a bit interesting because the antagonist is so ruthless that it kills someone close to them. And I was quite sadden by that character's demise, because that person didn't deserve it at all. But the aftermath was weird, because the antagonist is never brought to justice or arrested.

    One other thing that I wish this novel had was more Alice. Alice is such a key part of the prophecy, but you see so little of her throughout the novel.

    In character terms, I enjoyed reading from Lia's perspective. She was by far my favorite character, next to Alice. I felt because Lia and Alice were such an important part of the story, that they had more depth and personality then the other characters did which was fine but I'd like to learn more about Sonia and Luisa next time.

    Overall Prophecy of the Sisters was a nice read and was well written. I will definitely keep my eyes open for the sequel, Guardian of the Gate.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 10, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    prophecy of the sisters

    great book with any orginal story. but a little slow. lia and alice are twins. one is good and one is bad. one is the gate and the other is the guardian. the guardian watches over the gate to make sure she does not release the devil. to release the devil the gate must find the four keys. great if you love the 19th century and mystery books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2013

    Good plot

    Good plot but the story kinda drags. Decent conclusion though

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 24, 2011

    Good

    Slow at first and a tad confusing and pretty predictable but not the worst book out there .... overall an ok book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 25, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    With better wording this could have been phenominal

    ***NOTE MY REVIEWS OFTEN CONTAIN SPOILERS***
    The story within the Prophecy of the Sisters shows a lot of promise. The idea is awesome to be sure. It's the I guess you'd say writing style itself where the problems in this story lie.

    The first few chapters are hard to get into at all, what mostly keeps you turning the pages in the first 40 pages or so is the fact that you spent money on the novel and it does have some teases of an interesting story. It does put questions in your mind and despite the awkwardness of the telling, you do in fact want to know more.

    The story takes place in New York in the year 1890 and begins at the funeral of Lia's and Alice's father. I follow with the way the girl thinks and speaks it's probably fairly close to how a real person would think and speak in that era. HOWEVER, Zink's readers aren't from that era, so I think the first mistake she makes in the telling of this story was to write it in the first person. With it being written in the first person the reader never gets a break from that slow, reserved pace or wording that of course seems alien and awkward to them. If she'd told this story in a third person she would still have the ability to share Lia's thoughts and feeling with us, however the description in between could have been more modern and pacing therefore could have been a little faster which is something the book really needed. Not to mention the reader might have gotten an idea of Alice more as a character than just her monster sister. For a story of this magnitude, mystery and danger, the pacing needed to be a whole lot faster. The third major mistake I think she makes with this story beyond POV and Pacing is verb tense. While she does occasionally use the past tense verbs most readers are used to seeing most of the time her verbs are in the present tense. I'm not saying it's wrong to use present tense verbs, I'm saying that because most of what we read is written in the past tense when you start reading a story in the present tense it seems awkward and it does make it a little difficult to read. The more awkward is it to read a story, the harder it becomes to relate to the characters and find the wonderful plot within. This is why you'd don't see teenagers picking up Shakespeare outside of an English class to read for fun. No one would ever deny that his story lines are excellent, if they weren't they wouldn't be able to keep remaking movie after blockbuster movie loosely based on the plots of his plays. The reason everyone but an English major avoid reading Shakespeare for pleasure is weeding your way through all the unfamiliar old English makes it harder to find the plot with and relate to the characters.

    That having been said, as with Shakespeare, Zink's story is excellent. Were it not for the wording decisions slowing down the pacing this would be a book you'd never want to put down. Within Lia you see her begin as the quiet, calm one who never does anything wrong but sneak off to meet the man she might one day marry and exchange a few stolen kisses. And the thing with that is since her father approved of the match and wasn't as cloistered and rigid as others in his time she still wasn't doing all that much wrong. And as she unravels the prophecy and finds her place within it you see her become stronger, bolder and more prepared to do what needs to be done to save the world from the Apocalypse. She seems a little one dimensional at first but the further you get into the s

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2