Customer Reviews for

Prophecy of the Sisters (Prophecy of the Sisters Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 192 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(104)

4 Star

(38)

3 Star

(32)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

The Prophecy of the Sisters

The Prophecy of the Sisters is a tragic story of betrayal, magic, loss, and love. It is a tale of good vs. evil, right vs. wrong, and the incredible journey of four young girls locked in an ageless battle to defend humankind. Michelle Zink brings something new to the ta...
The Prophecy of the Sisters is a tragic story of betrayal, magic, loss, and love. It is a tale of good vs. evil, right vs. wrong, and the incredible journey of four young girls locked in an ageless battle to defend humankind. Michelle Zink brings something new to the table, something that will leave readers screaming for book two. Lovers of gothic fantasy will not be disappointed in the slightest, and those looking for romance are sure to get their fair share. Prophecy of the Sisters had me riveted to one spot, immovable for six hours until I had finally finished. The mysteries and riddles are sure to keep clever minds churning, while the twists and romance are sure to stop the heart. Michelle has created a classic tale of ancient evil and endless good, and she has done so with a skillful grace.

posted by Fairynne on July 14, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

18 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

Just finished it...and I bought it in July.

First off, the concept and plot was interesting and I appreciated how nonfictional elements were incorporated to create a story that felt both worldy and unwordly. Now I'm not usually a slow reader when I have the time to read leisurely without a deadline, but the story...
First off, the concept and plot was interesting and I appreciated how nonfictional elements were incorporated to create a story that felt both worldy and unwordly. Now I'm not usually a slow reader when I have the time to read leisurely without a deadline, but the story did not pick up until much later (in the 200 pages or so), which made me feel like I would stop reading at any moment. The characters (with the exception of Sonia) were quite plain and boring. Alice I think is of an orthodox evil and I think "evil" in her sense could have been taken to a completely different level. The dialogue, despite the decade it takes place in, was stiff, felt unnatural to read, and added to the monotony of the slow story climax. Overall it wasn't what I expected when I read the early plot summary before the release. The storyline has a lot of potential and I hope that the sequeal, if there is one, can avenge the not-so-glamorous prequeal.

posted by ABW on August 14, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted October 22, 2009

    in a nutshell

    I loved this book of twin sisters, Alice and Leah. As the title indicates, the sisters play a part in a prophecy. One is the guardian and one is the gate, while it is one sister responsibility to keep the souls of Samil on the other side it is the duty of the other sister to release as many souls as possible. Are you confused yet? Leah was too when she found a mark forming on her wrist which she finds out means that she is a part of the prophecy.


    The Prophecy of the Sisters is very poetic in its style, Zink does an amazing job of using beautiful words to describe every little action of the story. I am sure listening to the audio version of the book something to do with my opinion. The book was read by actress Eliza Dushku and she did a great job but at first it was weird trying to get her face and the characters she plays on TV out of my head. I am a huge fan of hers. Can anyone not like Doll House or Tru Calling?

    The one part of the book that made me rethink the rating was the ending. I HATE books, movies and TV shows that have that to be continued type of release. The closing, for me, has to be complete in some way. It can be open ended or lead to more to come but there should be some sort of conclusion of the action. In my opinion this book didn't give that to me and it made me upset. Otherwise it was fantastic!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 15, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great mystery/cliff hanger

    I really enjoyed Prophecy of the Sisters. A lot of YA stories center around the romance-this isn't like those books really-while I do like yhe romantic books it's refreshing to find an independent voice-she does have someone she loves but knows she has to do something about the prophecy before she can do anything else with her life. This is such an interesting story & was pretty emoitional. The relationship between the sisters is an interesting one & will only get more so in the next book. I can't wait for the next one. Read it you wont be disappointed

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 22, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Epic battle of good versus evil

    Written in 1st person narrative from the point of view of the oldest twin Lia (Amelia). The story starts slowly but it is worth plowing through the first couple of chapters to get an understanding of the characters personalities and interactions.
    After the first couple of chapters the plot picks up pace as the tensions and suspense builds. The apprehension was thrilling, it had me compulsively turning the pages to see what would happen next. It brought to mind Milton's Paradise Lost with the epic battle of Good and Evil.
    Set in a bygone era where the means of transport was a horse and carriage and illumination was via candle light, really added to the feel of the book and the imagery. There is a wonderfully sensory description of 'The Book of Chaos' which really brought the story to technicolor life within my imagination. The book itself is visually ornate with calligraphy at the chapter headings and at the bottom of each page, where the calligraphy turns into a snake, one the left one is hissing and on the right it is calm (we all know how much I dislike snakes so I had to put my bookmark over the images so as not to be distracted from the story).
    The story also brought to mind the movie Constantine with Keanu Reeves where the Devils Son is trying to make his way back to earth again via the conduit of twins. In addition, the use of twins brings to mind scales where there has to be a balance, yin and yang, good and evil.
    A great first book (a debut at that) in the series for anyone that loves an epic battle of good versus evil.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Jaglvr for TeensReadToo.com

    It is hard to write a proper review for PROPHECY OF THE SISTERS, because a lot of the detail is best left unsaid, so as not to spoil the plot twists and turns. A dark, twisted, Gothic tale, PROPHECY OF THE SISTERS is the first in a scheduled trilogy by Ms. Zink.

    Lia and Alice are twins. With the passing of their father, the two have recently become orphans. However, their Aunt Virginia has taken over their guardianship. The two girls were as close as could be, but in the last few years, the distance between them has grown.

    Lia doesn't trust Alice any more, and finds her sneaky and guarded when the two are left alone. Not long after their father's death, a bizarre mark appeared on Lia's wrist. Most girls wouldn't know the mark, but from her father's mythology books, she knows that it is the Jorgumand.

    As the girls get past their grief, Lia discovers secrets about her mark, and two other girls in the community. They have a common background and band together to find the truth behind the secrets. When they discover that there is a prophecy surrounding Lia and Alice, they know what they must do to safeguard the gate spoken of in the prophecy.

    That's it. I can't reveal more of the story or it will spoil the discovery of the secrets that Lia and her friends, Sonia and Luisa, uncover. As secrets are laid bare, more questions arise. Aunt Virginia reveals parts of the past, but only Lia and her friends can prevent the future.

    PROPHECY OF THE SISTERS is written in a classic style. Readers may struggle at first with this style of writing, but stick with it! The intrigue and the twists that Ms. Zink creates are unique and satisfying in the end. However, don't expect to have everything tied up neatly by the final page. PROPHECY OF THE SISTERS is only the beginning and there is much more to be revealed in the next chapters. Part two of the trilogy, GUARDIAN OF THE GATE, is due out in August 2010.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Very Entertaining reading

    This is a very entertaining reading, where the author tells us the story of twin sisters Lia and Alice. The story begins when their father dies in a unusual way leaving them and their brother Henry to the care of their aunt. As strange things start to happened, they find themselves involved in a prophecy that could bring back Satan and his army to the world. One sister is the Gate for that to happen and the other sister is the Guardian, whose role is to prevent that from happening. There is a way to end the prophecy once and for all, but one of the sisters need to find four keys for that to happen. This is a page turner book, that will keep you reading on the edge of the chair until the last page. Excellent debut from this very talented author. I am willing to read the other two books of this trilogy.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 28, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Similarities between this and A Great and Terrible Beauty but it's still a great read

    I have to say, I literally read this book from cover to cover in one sitting. It was that interesting. I loved the eerie creepy sensations you got while reading as Lia discovers more behind Alice's malicious actions, and the paranormal aspects of the book really enhanced the dark creepy theme that dominates throughout the storyline.

    Despite the usual cliche of sister vs sister (with twins to add) I thought the main idea behind the storyline was really good and it does differ somewhat from the usual battle of the sisters plots. What's also nice to see is the addition of a historical fiction setting - which I personally like as it's one of my favorite genres to read.

    Lia and Alice are great characters and perfect opposites. Alice is just filled with evil that you can't help but just hate her for her action and behavior. When things come to a climax towards the end of the novel (involving the twins' brother Henry) I almost wanted to jump in and intercept Alice. I hated her for what she did. She's just awful overall!

    Although Lia might seem like the weaker one of the two, I can only hope she'll get stronger later in the trilogy as it progresses. She's got so much on her plate right now I'm hoping she doesn't crack and become all emotional (like most main characters do in a series) later in the second or third book.

    Despite a wonderful story, great characters, and an even paced plot, I can't help but think there's some similarities between this book and the Gemma Doyle series (by Libba Bray), but it's not completely the same. If you've read both, then you just can't help comparing the two. I can't say yet which one I like better as I just started with this series.

    However! if you liked the Gemma Doyle series, do pick this one up. It is worth the read and is a great book. The dark creepy theme and plot, a nicely developed cast of characters, and Alice becoming villain of the year gives the book a lot of substance to go through and will keep you interested until the end (which will make you want to get out and get the second book).

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    OMG! SO GOOD

    I loved this book. It is a great story and the characters are captivating. My daughter read this in school and wanted me to read it so I did. I didnt regret it, and immediately had to buy the second one which is also a great read. Cant wait for the third.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2011

    gooood

    this is a great booook!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 22, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great book!

    Why in the world had I not read this book sooner? This book just blew me away and had me hooked.
    Two sisters turned against each other because of fate. A ancient prophecy foretelling one good and one evil. Can the curse be broken?

    I'll just go straight into and say I loved this plot. I loved the ancient prophecy and researching. When plots take me on a adventure of clue finding it is the greatest feeling in the world. The finding of keys, gates, and old books had me absolutely giddy.

    What I didn't like was the slowness of the book. There was the seeking for stuff and then we find it and..... it goes down again. I wanted to see more of the hatred build between the sisters. I wanted to see more betrayals and more stealing. I just wanted more. But nonetheless the book was great. I like the time-setting and the secrets. Secrets are always good.

    The love was definitely touching yet heart breaking. I hope I can see more of that in the next book. I do also want to see more of the other sister. We saw more of her but I would really like to get into her mind and know her motives.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    review taken from One Book At A Time http://onebooktime.blogspot.com

    The description of this one really had me intrigued. I was happy I finally decided to read it. It has a very dark and Gothic feel. The relationship between is Alice and Lia is so odd. It's hard to imagine twins being as distant as they are. It really makes the story feel foreboding. It makes me wonder how the household functioned before the parents died. I liked how the prophecy developed. It's not all laid out, but explained a little at a time. I especially enjoyed the twist in the story. It completely crosses the lines of what one would consider good and evil. I was surprised at the drastic actions Alice was willing to take. Since the story is told from Lia's point of view, we never see how evil Alice has become until it is to late. The only real fault I felt the story does not have a real conclusion. I know it's part of a series, but I like to feel that a chapter is ending and another beginning. In this story, I don't think I got that. It feels like the book just ends at a convenient break in the story. I will continue with the next book in the series. I would love to get more from Alice's point of view. But, since she is the evil one, I can see why it might not happen.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 12, 2009

    Prophecy of the Sisters Review

    Amelia (Lia) and Alice Milthorpe have become orphans with the death of their father. And so opens the book Prophecy of the Sisters. Soon after the death, Lia notices a mark on her wrist that surprises her and she goes in search to find out what is going on. What she finds is a prophecy that has been in her family and may have been the reason why both her mother and father are now dead. Lia goes searching for answers and discovers that she has an enemy right in her own family. Her identical twin sister, Alice. With wonderful twists and turns and a budding romance, Lia must race against time to find out all the information she needs to stop Alice from wreaking havoc on the world.

    I read "Prophecy..." back in November of last year, so I've been holding this review close to the chest because I really didn't know how to review it. But let me tell you I savored this book. Michelle Zink weaves a story so finely woven and leaves one begging for the sequel (and I have TWO years to wait!). One would never think that identical twins could be so different, yet so alike in certain ways, but Alice is pure evil. I found myself crediting Michelle for writing such an elaborate tale and wondering where'd she get the nugget from. Because it seems so labyrinthine. Her writing is tight and her story progresses to a watery climax that will have people up in arms and screaming for more. Her labor of love comes out in this book.

    I am looking forward to more Lia, Sonia and Luisa. Plus, now that Lia embarks on a journey that brings her answers what does it hold for her relationship with her beau, James? All which I hope will be addressed in the second novel.

    Michelle's debut novel has everything that teenage girls and adults will love: Twins, hatred, murder, love and above all, great friendship. Some may compare it to Libba Bray's "Gemma Doyle" series, and while there are some similarities, this book holds its own.

    4 Bookmarks

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2011

    Good

    It's... a little out there... but good. I liked it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2011

    good

    Its realy good book but slow in da begining

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 22, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    An Enjoyable Historical Read

    I've been reading this one off and on for at least two years now, but recently I decided to give it my all, and I ended up not only pleasantly surprised but in full out love with a new series. Because after the first few slow chapters, Prophecy of the Sisters proves to be one book you just can not put down, not even for a second.

    Prophecy of the Sisters tells the story of Lia and Alice Milthrope, two sisters who couldn't be any more different. Lia is timid and thoughtful, while Alice is the leader, rash and determined, but after the sudden death of their beloved father, both girls fall to a prophecy like none they've heard of before. Suddenly, the two sisters- former best friends and confidants- are on opposite sides of the prophecy, fighting for what each believes is best. For Lia, this means putting the prophecy to death but at the same time not letting it become the death of her. On the other hand, Alice wants something totally different; she wants to let the bad people win, and as it starting to seem, she won't let anyone get in her way- her sister, her aunt, even her poor little brother... Will Lia be able to stop her in time? Who will come out on top? Alice or Lia? Will Lia have to give up the boy she loves in order to fight the prophecy? Only time will tell in this richly developed and written novel of two sisters and the cruel prophecy that lies in their paths.

    First off, I have to give it to Michelle Zink, she certainly knows how to write quite the book. First of all, I loved the historical setting. Michelle did a fantastic job of getting the feel of late 1800s early 1900s New York down pat; even to a point that I felt like I was right there with Lia and Alice and their friends, family, and foes. Furthermore, the premise of this is amazing! The prophecy that starts to get unraveled throughout is intriguing and fascinating. I loved the idea of a gate and a guardian and what that meant for the sisters as well as the friendships Lia began to make with two certain girls because of her role in the prophecy. It certainly leads to this book being unforgettable.

    I became quite fond of Lia over the course of Prophecy of the Sisters. Lia is a girl with a strong backbone even though she is a bit shy and well mannered, and even better, I loved how she's a girl who had strong friendships throughout the book, because it truly played a big role in her characterization. Alice, on the other hand, it the evil, malignant person or villain so to say, and while I wasn't rooting for in any way what so ever, I still found her to be entertaining and an important addition to the book.

    Lastly, Michelle Zink's writing was lush and ornate and quite honestly I loved every minute of it. Better yet, I seriously adored that she put a bigger focus on friendship and family and strong female main characters in this instead of romance because it was refreshing and different from the typical YA read.

    In all, Prophecy of Sisters is a book I highly suggest fans of YA and historical fiction pick up. Entertaining and epic, it's a book that proves to be un-put-a-down-able time and time again. Though, word of warning, after you're done with it you'll be eager to read the sequel, like I now am.

    Grade: B+

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2