Customer Reviews for

The Prophet of Yonwood (Books of Ember Series #3)

Average Rating 4
( 342 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(151)

4 Star

(82)

3 Star

(61)

2 Star

(24)

1 Star

(24)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

16 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

I love this amazaing book!!!!

I love this book it was my favorite! I injoyed reading this book! My mom read it with me and she loved it! It was amazaing! It was so thilling! Im on the 4 book of The City of Emeber! I love this author!!!!!! It felt like I was in it! I LOVE THIS BOOK!!! I SOOO LOVE THI...
I love this book it was my favorite! I injoyed reading this book! My mom read it with me and she loved it! It was amazaing! It was so thilling! Im on the 4 book of The City of Emeber! I love this author!!!!!! It felt like I was in it! I LOVE THIS BOOK!!! I SOOO LOVE THIS BOOK !!!!!!!! I RECOMMEND THIS BOOOOOOOK!! I LOVE THIS BOOOOOK!!!!!!!

posted by cheerleadergirl123 on May 12, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

The world may be ending, so where is the action?

In a time in the near future, the United States and Phalanx Nations are having trouble cooperating, and each have bombs aimed at each other. In this time period, an all out war could mean the end of the world. Many people, however, are living out their lives and just ...
In a time in the near future, the United States and Phalanx Nations are having trouble cooperating, and each have bombs aimed at each other. In this time period, an all out war could mean the end of the world. Many people, however, are living out their lives and just hoping that the end doesn¿t come. Nickie is a Philadelphian who goes with her aunt to fix up her great grandfather¿s old house for sale in the small town of Yonwood. Yonwood has a resident who had a vision where the would was going to burn, and then she went unconscious. People learned of the vision through her mumblings, and many thought that the vision was from God protraying the end of the world. The people of Yonwood decided to cleanse their town to ¿make a shield of goodness¿ by not sinning and punishing those that did sin. In the new town, Nickie must decide who she is going to befriend and who is doing the right thing from the cast interesting characters. There are Amanda who served Nickie¿s late great grandfather before he died Brenda Beeson, who is trying to stop sinning in Yonwood Grover, the herpetologist-in-training and Hoyt McCoy who ¿has a sense of wrongness about him¿. This prequel to the City of Ember is out, and I couldn¿t wait to get my hands on it. However, what I found was a boring book that didn¿t do a very good job of linking this book to the rest of the series. This award-winning concept of the world possibly ending is hampered because of the fact that the book didn¿t have an ounce of excitement in the first half of the book. Even though this book can be read by either gender, I am sure that girls would like this more than boys because, at times, it was a little heartwarming. However, I would really try to stay away from this book even if you liked the other books in the series.

posted by Anonymous on October 11, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 346 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 18
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2009

    I love this amazaing book!!!!

    I love this book it was my favorite! I injoyed reading this book! My mom read it with me and she loved it! It was amazaing! It was so thilling! Im on the 4 book of The City of Emeber! I love this author!!!!!! It felt like I was in it! I LOVE THIS BOOK!!! I SOOO LOVE THIS BOOK !!!!!!!! I RECOMMEND THIS BOOOOOOOK!! I LOVE THIS BOOOOOK!!!!!!!

    16 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 20, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    I loved The Prophet of Yonwood! Jeanne Duprau is and amazing writer! It's interesting how this stuff might actually happen in the future. I loved this book! I hope you love it too!!!!

    This book was very exciting and kept you on the edge of your seat! It tells about a girl who wants to move into her great uncle's house with her mom and dad. But her mom and aunt have different plans. They are planning to sell the big old mansion. While Nickie is at the mansion she finds herself a friend. But befor Nickie got to Yonwood a phrophet had a vision that greatly disturbed the people of Yonwood. Nickie tries to be good but when it went too far she had to find out the truth.
    If you like thrilling and sad adventures, you will love this book!

    11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2007

    The world may be ending, so where is the action?

    In a time in the near future, the United States and Phalanx Nations are having trouble cooperating, and each have bombs aimed at each other. In this time period, an all out war could mean the end of the world. Many people, however, are living out their lives and just hoping that the end doesn¿t come. Nickie is a Philadelphian who goes with her aunt to fix up her great grandfather¿s old house for sale in the small town of Yonwood. Yonwood has a resident who had a vision where the would was going to burn, and then she went unconscious. People learned of the vision through her mumblings, and many thought that the vision was from God protraying the end of the world. The people of Yonwood decided to cleanse their town to ¿make a shield of goodness¿ by not sinning and punishing those that did sin. In the new town, Nickie must decide who she is going to befriend and who is doing the right thing from the cast interesting characters. There are Amanda who served Nickie¿s late great grandfather before he died Brenda Beeson, who is trying to stop sinning in Yonwood Grover, the herpetologist-in-training and Hoyt McCoy who ¿has a sense of wrongness about him¿. This prequel to the City of Ember is out, and I couldn¿t wait to get my hands on it. However, what I found was a boring book that didn¿t do a very good job of linking this book to the rest of the series. This award-winning concept of the world possibly ending is hampered because of the fact that the book didn¿t have an ounce of excitement in the first half of the book. Even though this book can be read by either gender, I am sure that girls would like this more than boys because, at times, it was a little heartwarming. However, I would really try to stay away from this book even if you liked the other books in the series.

    7 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2009

    Prophet of Yonwood is good for young readers

    I thought that the Prophet of Yonwood was a great book because it tied together the first two books and explained a lot. It was also exciting and the characters were interesting.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2010

    Skip it Entirely..

    Although it was a good story, it doesn't support the entire series at all. It's more of a coming of age story. The City of Ember and The People of Sparks were great reads but I am very disappointed that I spent my time reading this book, everytime I wanted to put it down I gave it the benefit of the doubt, hoping it would lend something to the other books. Well it didn't. Just skip over this one and go on to Diamond of Darkhold.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2013

    I love it

    Im only three chapters in but so far this is great. Im 13 but im sure adults as well as kids a few years yonger than me would enjoy it. I love the descriptive writing and the developed characters. I also love Greenhaven. It sounds really cool. I think the plot of the story sounds amazing and i would recommend this book. And im only three chapters in too!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2012

    Stop

    If you want to talk text each other dont take up review space please

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2012

    One of the best books ever!!!!!

    In the Third Book of Ember, you find action and confusion. This is the one of my top ten books that I have read. This is also a book that I couldn’t put down. I like this book because you can see the connection from this book to the first book. I would recommend this book to middle schoolers. I will probably read this book again and again. On a scale from one to ten, I would give it a nine.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2013

    A multicolored Elephant

    I didn't like how slow moving the book was. I also didn't like Mrs. Beeson. My favorite part was the afterwards part where you found out what happened to everybody. The wrost part.of the book was when they took the dogs away. Overall this book was a good book and I liked it. I liked that the Prophet was mysterious. I also liked that Nickie got Otis back. If I could change one thing about the book I would have Nickie and Grover fall in love!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2013

    Epic

    This was a good book, and for those who are confused, the series order is 3, 1, 2, 4.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2013

    Nickie

    Does nickie accomplish all of her three goals?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2013

    i love this book

    Great book and series my teacher read the first book aloud to my class then i read sparks and now yonwood though yonwood isent that good i will stick eith it

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2013

    Hi

    This book is totally amazing

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2013

    C

    AMAZING BOOK! AMAZING BOOK!! READ IT SOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO GOOD!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2013

    Looooooooved it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    I loved it so much I shared it with all of my nook friends.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2012

    Awesome!!!

    This is my favorite book! Love it

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2012

    WOW!!

    I really liked this book but was a little confused that she went back. Also liked that everyone trusted in God .it was so stupid that brenda thought eveyone who 'sinned' was BAD once she said that i wanted to punch her . then she made everyone give up their dog, even her own, and i wanted to tie her to a rocket and blast it off into space THAT isnt trustin in God

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2012

    Hhh

    Is there a movie?

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2012

    Just started but why....

    I just started the book but why isn't it based on Lina and Doon? That confuses me most. I can read perfectly ok with it but no Lina or Doon? UNBELEIVABLE! I thought that in the end they get married or Doon admits his love for Lina

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2012

    Anonomous

    I couldn' even finish the book it was so boring. it didn't connect with the other books at all. It was very slow paced and confusing. From what I had read I barely understood any of it. I would give it less stars if I could. I do not recceomend it even if you were a fan of the first two. Skip to diamond of darkhold. I did not like that either, though

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 346 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 18